Buy Used
£2.29
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

One Last Thing Before I Go Paperback – 3 Jan 2013

4.5 out of 5 stars 44 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, 3 Jan 2013
£2.95 £0.01
Audio Download, Unabridged
"Please retry"
Audio CD
"Please retry"
£16.26
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Orion (3 Jan. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1409127737
  • ISBN-13: 978-1409127734
  • Product Dimensions: 15.6 x 2.6 x 23.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (44 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 712,372 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

Genuinely very funny, as well as engaging and rather moving (DAIL MAIL)

Witty story of Silver, a lonely middle-aged ex-rockstar with a pregnant teenage daughter. (HEAT)

Another tear-jerker that's told with great wit, this time written from a bloke's point of view. Jonathan has been a pick on the Richard and Judy Book Club before, and this is a nicely observed poignant take on learning to be a man and a father before time runs out. (STAR magazine)

Tropper is a master of the mid-life male coming-of-age story, and his latest is full of the charm and wit his readers cherish (BOOKLIST)

It's amazing what can happen in the hands of the casually brilliant author. . . . Read and weep with laughter (ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY)

'A poignant story about facing death and celebrating life, even when things seem well beyond repair' (THE DAILY BEAST)

'Eminently quotable, hilariously funny, and emotionally draining, this arresting tour de force will entertain well after the book is done' (LIBRARY JOURNAL)

'A tender and unexpectedly hilarious take on the messiness of family life' (PEOPLE)

Very well-observed . . . fabulously entertaining (THE TIMES on THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU)

Consistently witty, often insightful and full of strong and engaging characters (DAILY TELEGRAPH on HOW TO TALK TO A WIDOWER)

Sad, funny, brilliant (EVENING HERALD on HOW TO TALK TO A WIDOWER)

'Darkly entertaining . . . fast and fresh' (NEW YORK TIMES on HOW TO TALK TO A WIDOWER)

a genuinely funny, and moving, novel written with real wit and an assured lightness of touch. (DAILY MAIL SUMMER BEACH READS)

Book Description

For fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls, a brilliantly funny and touching new novel from the bestselling author of HOW TO TALK TO A WIDOWER, selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club.

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
I have enjoyed every single book Jonathan Tropper has written, this one being no exception.
Drew Silver is a very unhappy man,he once had it all, a beautiful wife, loving daughter Casey and a career playing drums in a rock band. Now he is divorced and living alone, barely scratching a living, and on top of that his daughter has very little if any respect for the way her father has conducted his life. When he finds out that he is seriously ill and needs surgery to survive Drew decides much to the frustration of his loving family and few close friends not to be operated on, but instead to use the time he has left to attempt to become a better person and to put right the wrongs he feels he has committed.
A heartfelt story with some endearing characters, and as is usual with all the books this author writes he has the capacity to make you laugh one moment and then reduce you to tears the next.
A wonderful novel which I cannot recommend highly enough.
Comment 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Hande Z TOP 500 REVIEWER on 8 Jun. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
This is an adult book because it contains language not suitable for the young, but Tropper is a serious writer with deep and thoughtful themes. Here, he explores a wide range of emotions that permeate the broken relationship of a family - Drew Silver, his ex-wife, Denise, and their 18-year-old daughter Casey. Silver was the drummer in a successful rock band called "The Bent Daisies". They had only one hit, "Rest in Pieces" before their lead singer left them for a successful solo career. "One Last Thing Before I Go" is melancholic, hilarious, and absurd, but underlying the story of the broken life of Drew Silver (a life that was about to end) is a story of a heroic attempt at redemption.

The now old, divorced, and jobless Drew Silver lived in a condominium for retirees, "a place where broken men went to lick their wounds as the battles over marital assets and custody arrangements were slowly lost". He cannot overcome the fact that everyone close to him lived better a life once they had left him behind. His wife, Denise, found a new man, a doctor (Richard). His daughter had a better father, and his rock band leader went on to become a success in music. All that Drew Silver was left with were his friends at the condominium, Jack and Oliver, men who, like Drew Silver, were not shining examples of a well-ordered life. Drew Silver learnt late that "the only way to stay sane is to stop hoping for something better." Yet, when he found out that Casey was pregnant, and that Denise was about to marry Richard, a sense of urgency and purpose came over Drew Silver.

Casey was young and brilliant. She was the only valedictorian from her High School to get a place in an Ivy League college. She loved Drew but only occasionally called him "Dad", and that disturbed him.
Read more ›
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By ACB(swansea) TOP 100 REVIEWER on 26 July 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
Drew Silver was a drummer in a one-hit wonder band. He is now in a residential hotel surrounded by fellow lonely drifters living a melancholy existence. Drew is divorced and in his mid-forties. He is down and fate has dealt him another losing hand of cards. He has a possible fatal heart condition that may be operable. Drew folds on his cards and is determined to put past errors in life that he has made to rights. This becomes complicated as his ex-wife, who he still loves, is about to re-marry. His aloof teenage daughter is pregnant and has a nonchalant approach to it and is dismissive of her father. Drew takes solace in the pub with old mates (a sad lot). The dialogue is hilarious.

The narrative is a fine blend of genuine humour and sadness. There are laugh-out-loud moments interspersed with moving scenes. The novel is well-written in an easy read format with a confectionary of tasty wit and sweet emotions with the odd acid drop. The ending is somewhat inconclusive that some may find irritating but did not detract from my enjoyment of the content that preceded it. Excellent and enjoyable.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By C. Colley TOP 500 REVIEWER on 1 Oct. 2012
Format: Hardcover
I've read a couple of Jonathan Tropper's previous novels and I like his witty style of writing.
The story opens about eight years after Drew Silver's life fell apart. With a broken marriage and a one-hit-wonder music career behind him, Silver's life is depressing. He has a few sad mates and like him they live in a residential hotel that's known to home middle aged men living on their own.
When Silver's daughter reveals that she's pregnant, and he discovers he has a heart condition that could kill him, Silver decides to rebuild his life and regain the respect of his family before it's too late.
I just couldn't keep my nose out of this book and read it all in one day. It's written in Tropper's trademark style, in that the story is funny and sad and quite often both at the same time.
Silver is a likeable loser and the rest of the characters are really well-drawn. I loved the banter between Silver and his mates, Jack and Oliver, and I was moved to tears near the end of the story.
The only thing I'm not sure about is the ambiguous ending, but other than that it's an entertaining, fast-paced novel.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I read this book while on vacation, and it was the perfect choice for me. A book written in such a simple style that you find yourself breezing through it, despite the somewhat dark topics it discusses.

Silver, an ex-band member with a one hit wonder, is old, divorced, and a terrible father to his teenage daughter Casey. His wife is about to get married, and his daughter just informed him that she's pregnant. Silver, a great drummer, now resorts to entertaining at weddings and bar mitzvahs. His daughter's declaration brings out a paternal instinct that's been lying dormant for many years, and also a whole load of guilt and regret at his neglect. However, soon after, he has a stroke and is informed that he will die if he does not perform a certain surgery that could save him. Silver, in his great wisdom, refuses to have the surgery and chooses to die instead, giving himself this opportunity to make up for his mistakes. Well, ATTEMPT to make up for his mistakes. All he seems capable of is making more mistakes. His relationship with his daughter is bumpy at best. One minute they're getting along, the next minute he's disappointing her once again. His relationship with his ex-wife also has its ups and downs. Even his parents come into the picture to try and talk some sense into him, and I loved the relationship between him and his father. Then there's the relationship between him and his two old friends who live with him in the same compound.

It was such a fun read seeing Silver's journey, but it was also quite painful. The best part is the fact that he could not keep his thoughts to himself any longer due to his condition. He is constantly getting himself in trouble by not being able to stop himself from saying things he shouldn't be saying out loud.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback