Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
183
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2007
The film is a must see, very real emotions are portrayed through the songs. I was truly moved by the songs especially "When your minds made up" I have not had a song move me to utter sobbing, since watching Sinead O'Conner cry on her video years ago. The soundtrack, is what I want in my life, to play in the car and sing to,at the top of my voice, before facing the world. Watch the film and buy the cd, they are fantastic.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2008
As a songwriter I am forever converted to five beats in the bar as well as on occation a simple approach to songwriting. The songs on this album are stunning, and just like the film, wake something that has been asleep for a while. I feel sorry for the people for whom this is not their cup of tea.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2007
Musical is a dead genre, it has been so for many years. The dull, almost parodic, music of High School Musical has only served to put the genre into an even greater decline: the most popular musicals of recent years have been either remakes (Hairspray, The Producers), filming of old classics (Chicago), or the even worse genre of musicals featuring songs by popular artists (We Will Rock You). Over recent years, I can only think of two musicals that are original and thought provoking, these being Rent and Blood Brothers (and to be honest, those aren't too new). But, out of nowhere, this film came along. It won various awards, such as the Audience Award from Sun Dance, and got certain critics slathering about its release.
So, why is it so good? Well, it is entirely on the strength of the music - the two leads are both musicians with some talent, and Hansard's band 'The Frames' were big in their day. I thank the Lord that the original lead, Cillian Murphy, backed out, as Glen Hansard's voice and song wriing are so brilliant.
The music is probably reminiscent of some of the singer-songwriter stuff out at the moment, in particular some of the Damien Rice stuff. It hits a folksy/poppy feel that really gets under your skin. This is emphasised by very strong vocals, some nice guitar work and lyrics that really tap into the sense of love, loss and confusion that builds the film. Unlike most other musicals, however, the songs were written by the two leads (plus one written by another band member from the film), this means that there is real emotional connectivity between the performers and the songs themselves - much more so than in other musicals - which also further draws the viewer/listener into the very subtle saga that's unfolding around them.
Some of the tracks on the album aren't complete tracks per se, such as 'Broken Hearted Hoover Fixer Sucker Guy', which is a bit of a light hearted joke. Other songs such as: 'When your mind's made up' and 'Falling Slowly' are complete songs, and should ideally be released as singles in their own right given their strength.

So, why buy it? As I said, the strength is in the songs, particularly the ones written by Hansard and Irglova together. Better yet, go out and see the film - once you've seen the film, you'll probably want to buy the album anyway, as all of the songs are very moving. It's a real tear jerker.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2008
I can count the number of film soundtracks I've bought on two hands, this is one of the best. Outside of the category of film soundtracks it's still one of the best albums I've heard in a while.

A superb effort from two talented musicians, I really hope the do something together again soon.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2008
I saw the film first and bought myself this cd afterwards. I love every song on it. If it's the music from the film that you want it's all on here. I'd highly recommend this cd.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
If you have seen the film then you will probably want this album .. and if you have not seen the film then you are missing a treat.
The film itself is basically the story of a guy (Glen Hansard who you may remember from The Commitments)with a dream of being a songwriter who meets a girl(The enigmatic pianist Marketa Iglova) who is searching for a dream too,By day Glen repairs vacuum cleaners (reflected upon in the Loudon Wainwrightesque Broken Hearted Hoover Fixer Sucker Guy) for his father or busks on the streets of that fair city,Dublin playing his broke down old guitar.The genius of the project is that it is the lyrics of the songs themselves that tell the back stories of the lead protagonists and move the plot along without the need for a lot of needless dialogue.
The film then follows their growing relationship and the making of a demo disc (comprising these songs) they enlist the help of a local Thin Lizzy Tribute Band they find busking under the statue of the late Phil Lynott.
They book a studio and impress a world weary sound engineer who becomes enchanted by their heartfelt songs.
But what about the songs
Falling Slowly the opener wets the appetite with its nautical theme it reminds the listener of Dublin's proximity to the sea and life as a voyage.
"take this sinking boat and point it home.."
the song will appeal to those who like Fionn Regan,Damien Rice or David Gray etc, Marketa adds another dimension to it but on the second song she takes the lead vocals on If you Want Me.
When your mind's Made up has a sound the hints at Badly Drawn Boy or the heartfelt ballards of Lucky Jim.
Lies slows the pace right down and has some interesting changes and the Strings give it an almost operatic fell in places and some excellent piano from Marketa.
Gold is credited the Group Interference and has James Yorkston feel to it
The Hill is a superb exercise in Melancholy the strings compliment Marketa voice and piano perfectly.
Fallen from The Sky is lead by the Casio keyboard rhythm unit lending a home demo feel to the disc that will get them the studio time in the film.
Leave is a classic with a hard edge driven by Glen's angry strumming driving the refrain along his vocals at times recall may be the early songs of Seventies songwriters and maybe a nod to Damien Dempsey here too.
The pace is kept up by trying to pull myself away which is one of the group songs.
Glen's acoustic All the way Down is one of those songs you will want to put into a mix tape for a rainy day.
Once is the title track a simple duet which sums up the mood of the film and builds up one the band comes in.
The closing track Say it to Me Now is a powerful song that builds in a rant again driven by the aggressive (almost string breaking) strumming Of Glen Hansard maybe he gets his string from the same place Nick Harper does.
I would recommend you watch the film then buy the album and you will definately play it alot more than ...Once...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
As I was watching the film Once, I looked up the sound track and bought the cd straight away!

I have never done that, and I watch many films!

I cry everytime I listen to it...and yes I am a woman and yes I am a pisces!

Very touching, and very raw.

Thank you!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
I oredered this having watched the films and despite my not being into folk at all love this. I play it tirelessly in the car and have been seen at traffic lights singing my hear out.
It is raw and real and great for days when I am in the more thoughtful calm moods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2009
Those who enjoyed the music in John Carney's modern musical 'Once' will no doubt be pleased to see all the songs accounted for with extras. Admittedly, listening to this CD from start to finish cannot quite match the brilliance of the way in which the songs are presented in the film. Perhaps due to the ordering of the tracks, something has been lost in transferring the material from movie reel to CD, and they fail to gather the same momentum or impact.

However, that said, there are some real gems in the album. Rightfully the triumphant and touching 'Falling Slowly' wins the accolades, while a powerful acoustic version of 'Say It To Me Now' will also be a favourite for many. But amongst these flagships, there are excellent tracks that did not feature so prominently in the film. The title track 'Once' is beautifully arranged and performed with echoes of Turin Brakes at their finest. Barely touched in the motion picture, 'Leave' is a real highlight, moving with ease from a gentle acoustic ballad into a more hard hitting indy strummer at the end of the track.

Overall, this is a good collection of songs inspired from routes in folk music and the indy and rock-pop bands of the 90s. Most listeners will appreciate.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
This is a wonderful movie which is SO much more than just a love story with great songs. I've watched it 3 times (so far) and intend to watch it again in the future. I also bought the CD of the sound track.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)