2 used from £199.99

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Oh Boy! / Images

4.8 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews

Available from these sellers.
2 used from £199.99

Amazon's Brotherhood Of Man Store

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Audio CD (16 Mar. 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: 7t's
  • ASIN: B001S29PAU
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 354,980 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Oh Boy (The Mood I'm In)
  2. I Give You My Love
  3. Cross My Heart
  4. Tell Me, Tell Me, Tell Me
  5. New York City
  6. Midnight Express
  7. My Sweet Rosalie
  8. Shimmy, Shimmy, Shamay
  9. Daisy
  10. Lady Liar
  11. Goodnight Sleepy Head
  12. Guess Who's Taking You Out Tonight
  13. Bag of Money
  14. Sugar Honey Love
  15. Closer Closer

Disc: 2

  1. Angelo
  2. Images
  3. Safety First
  4. Two Can Live As Cheap Babe
  5. You Can Say That Again
  6. Lullaby
  7. Highwayman
  8. Star
  9. All Night
  10. Sparky
  11. Tonight's the Night
  12. The Night of My Life
  13. Circus

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 5 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
When I saw this double album package It gave me the prime oppertunity to replace a favourite old LP("Oh Boy") and, though familiar with a lot of the tracks,finally buy a copy of an LP("Images") that I never got round to buying. "Oh Boy" was really Brotherhood of Man's breakthrough album and though success was somewhat limited by comparisons to Abba here in the U.K,I always felt they never really recieved the success they deserved in their home country, compared to their european achievements.
The height of their popularity occured after their huge eurovision win in 1976 with "Save Your Kisses For Me" and went on for a couple more years with the number one hits "Angelo"(1977)and "Figaro"(1978).
The fact remains that some of their best recordings got completley over-looked.The 1976 album "Oh Boy" features the title track which became a number eight hit and the eurovision follow-up,"My Sweet Rosalie"which made it to number 30.In hindsight both these singles fared much better than ABBA's u.k follow-up's to "Waterloo". The "Oh Boy" album also includes the euro singles "I Give You My Love" and "New York City" which are fine examples of vocal arrangements. Other stand-out tracks include the calypso flavoured "Cross My Heart",the jazzy "Shimmy Shimmy Shamay",and the brilliant "Midnight Express" which was the title of this album in certain territories and probably as rocky as the group ever got.
The second album included is "Images" from 1977 and again some of their strongest material is featured here along with the previously mentioned Number one single "Angelo".Personal favourites include "You Can Say That Again" and "Star" but the next single release, "Highwayman" (which failed to chart in the u.k!)is probably my favourite Brotherhood Of Man song.
Read more ›
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
For anyone not familiar with Brotherhood of Man, they were supposed to be UK's answer to Abba with a strikingly similar set up of two girls and two guys, where the guys Martin Lee and Lee Sheridan together with the man behind the group Tony Hiller wrote most of their songs. The original line up which had the hit "United We Stand" was completely revamped and the latter more familiar line up hit the top with their 1976 Eurovision winner "Save Your Kisses for Me".

Although there are many compilations available in the market the release of their individual albums were long overdue and hence, it is great to have these double album CDs (the LP versions I have are long worn out!). Oh Boy(1976) includes the hits "Sweet Rosalie" and the title track, and also has some super middle of the road pop songs in "Cross My Heart", "Guess Who's Taking You out Tonight", "New York City" et al. Images(1977) is more progressive and has a disco edge to it. This album features in addition to hits "Angelo" and "Highwayman" others such as "You Can Say That Again", "Lullaby" and "Tonight's the Night" which are all great pop songs. However, for me, easily the best song on this set is the wonderfully melancholic "Night of My Life", which if had been released as a single would surely have been a success. Curiously, this song as well as "Highwayman" and "Safety First" deal with the subject of infidelity. Two of the bonus tracks "Closer Closer" and "Circus" are also excellent. One glitch (which does not interfere with your listening pleasure) is that the two CDs have their labels interchanged which can be confusing and I thought lacked professionalism.

All in all an essential buy for any true Brotherhood of Man fan. Their best album B for Brotherhood is yet to come out on CD, and my wish is to see it out soon since most songs from that album aren't on any compilation.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Brotherhood of Man had some great hit singles in the 70s and also a smattering of great album tracks. Their albums on the whole however did contain a lot of filler which should have been weeded out. The first of these albums "Oh Boy!" suffers the worst. It's a shame that since both albums were released in the UK in 1977 that they couldn't have edited them together with just the 12 best tracks and released the one album.

Highlights from "Oh Boy!" include the title track and top 10 hit, which is one of their most credible songs and a real pop classic (transformed from its country roots very well), "Midnight Express" - a pulsating album closer (or should have been!) and performed with much passion and urgency, "Cross My Heart" - a well-produced and catchy song. Apart from these "Oh Boy!" suffers quite badly with many songs which seem to be ill-thought out and rushed (all the songs seem to be short 2 minute jobs and would have been better if fleshed out a bit more and made more substantial). "Daisy", "Tell Me Tell Me Tell Me" and "Lady Liar" are just plain weak melody-wise (the latter an obvious attempt to copy "Devil Woman" by Cliff Richard). "Goodnight Sleepyhead" and "New York City" are boring and a bit embarrassing, while single "My Sweet Rosalie" should have been abandoned at the recording stage.

Luckily "Images" improves things a lot. The No.1 hit single "Angelo" may owe a lot to Abba's "Fernando", but in my opinion is a better and much more exciting song. Highlights are more frequent here with "Images" (albeit criplingly short - had BOM never heard of a middle eight?), "Lullaby" and "Night of My life" all excellent tracks - and potential singles. "Highwayman", which was a single is also good as are "All Night" and "Tonight's the Night".
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

Look for similar items by category