Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2015
I love this series and to have the first book as a free read is a real treat - you WILL want to read more !
Icy winters, hot tubs, sibling rivalry, family and small town dynamics are wrapped around some great descriptive relationship writing. These triplets aren't perfect, they don't share everything with each other and there are some neat twists along the way. For me, it's a great mix - Plus the men are hard to resist!
I have read all Juliana Stone's books since and never been disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2016
Wow! I tried this book as it was free, and I hadn't read Juliana Stone before. I absolutely loved it. The characters are gritty and real, but all have their softer side. The story is different and tackles sexism, which allows the strength of our heroine, Billie, to shine. I have just bought the next one in the series - can't wait to get started.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2016
What a refreshing story line. Loved Billie-Jo, and her role. She was a good strong character and took no prisoners. Was just a little disappointed it ended so quickly, as if it needed to be rushed to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Can't wait to read the next one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
Well written easy read. This book is fab the characters are great and I love Billy she is an amazing plucky girl. This is a story where the heroine is strong brave and doesn't fit in a box that society creates. She doesn't moan and do the why me...... she just gets on with everything. To square your shoulders and take crap from everyone because u want to do a sport u love. To do so with such humour and grace......... girl power at its best. Logan is also hot! Good read, looking forward to reading the next one x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
OFFSIDE is the first installment in Juliana Stone's new series focusing on three sisters-Billie Jo, Bobbi Jo and Betty Jo Barker-the Barker triplets. And let's just say their sibling rivalry would make any parent cringe and hide. This is Billie Jo and Logan's story.

This is a story of sexism to the nth degree. When Billie Jo returns home from the big leagues recovering from a concussion, she inadvertently draws the ire and disapproval of most of the town when she registers for the Friday Night inter-city hockey league. Not only is she the only female but she is better than every other player in the league. She will become the target of ridicule; sexist misogynistic males; and physical and emotional abuse both on and off the ice.

The writing style is simple. The reader is pulled into a storyline of one family's dysfunctional attitude toward each other. While the `adults' struggle to keep peace, the triplets are at each other's throats constantly. We learn there is some history between the sisters as it pertains to the men or lack of men in their lives but also that this history fuels much of the town's aggression towards Billie Jo.

The characters, for a lack of a better word, are not likeable. The townsfolk belittle, humiliate, assault and insult Billie Jo at every opportunity but when the local hero makes it his mission to offer Billie Jo his support, he learns exactly who his friends are.

The plot revolves around one woman's need to fit in where others believe she doesn't belong. There is some tension between the Billie and Logan, especially as it pertains to their connected pasts-a past that is mired in secrets and betrayal. Billie Jo is a woman who has been in love with Logan since her early high school days, but she knows that Logan had his heart set on another sister. The sexual heat and tension between our hero and heroine is hot but their relationship is kept in secret for most of the storyline due to possible backlash and pain. And in true romance storyline fashion, there will be a misunderstanding that forces the couple apart when in actuality, the truth hurts, no matter who is at fault.

If you like a quick read, with a hockey backdrop in small town USA, The Barker Triplets is the series for you. All three sisters will eventually find their one true love, but until they do, the sibling rivalry will push my proverbial buttons-these sisters were a piece of work and then some. If I didn't know better, I would think that Juliana Stone knows what it is like to live in a household of bickering and jealous sisters.

see all of my reviews: thereadingcafe(dot)com
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
Was trepidatious to read after reading some reviews. I neednt have worried. Loved this book. Liked Logan and Billie. Set around ice hockey. Liked that billie was a strong player who showed up the local men players and had to deal with sexism. It was serious at times but over all felt it was a happy fun lighthearted romance and would look to read more in this series and from this author. Totally enjoyed this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
I think this is a great book and I would recommend to anyone. I really loved the characters who were both likeable and believable. I felt connected to both so much so I even had a lump in my throat at one point. I will be getting the next two books. Excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Bought this book and was so impressed with the writing and could not put the book down at all. Read this book in like 3 hours and quickly purchased the other 2 books. Wow will definitely buy books from this author love the writing style.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
This was a great free download that I wouldn't have been disappointed with had I paid for it. It's well-written, has a good storyline combining sport, action and romance (always a winner), likeable characters, excellent steamy content and a one-eyed cat with a penchant for voyeurism!

Billie, a professional hockey player is feisty, stubborn, determined and one third of triplets. Her relationship with her sisters Bobbi and Betty can only be described as tumultuous; each sister is so different, they are each coping with a difficult and saddening family circumstance in their own way and their arguments are explosive! Returning home after the premature end to her successful career, Billie ruffles feathers by joining the men's hockey team and in doing so reacquaints herself with Logan, who she has secretly loved from afar for years. Logan was easy to love, he's sexy, witty, detemined and has the sense to fight for what he wants. He and Billie compliment each other and whilst we all know many a literary romance is uncomplicated, theirs isn't totally unrealistic.

If you like a romance that will make you smile, laugh and tug on the heartstrings a little, I can happily recommend. It narrowly missed out on 5 stars as I felt it ended a little abruptly but I'm hopeful their journey will continue in the next book which focusses on Bobbi.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse