Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2003
Neil Gunn had an enchanting writing style which I find impossible to describe accurately: seemingly wide-eyed and innocent, but actually discerning and well informed. His books tend to be beautifully crafted, and Off in a Boat is no exception. It's a travel book, but also a history book. It's about the sea, and Scotland, and Scots mythology. It's a delightful picture of a marriage. And since it describes life on the Inner Hebridean Islands almost 70 years ago, before these islands (e.g. Skye, Mull, Iona) were on standard tourist routes, the book has become a historical document. It's one I know I shall have to read again and again.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
I was transported to the west coast of Scotland that I knew as a young man, the humour , the scenery all came flooding back especially the " bulls hole" and loch etive , I could see the pink granite of the south of mull and the rhododendrons of achnacloche
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Descriptive lyrical writing, rich with the bygone tangle o'the isles. If you love sailing and the people and places of the Hebrides then a first class read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Great description of sailing Scotland's west coast and meeting its peoples. Makes me want to follow in his wake! Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
Step back in time, in a boat, round the West coast of Scotland. A "Modern" classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Neil Gunn never fails to deepen the readers way of seeing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Fantastic book, really well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Gunn is a great writer but the narrative here is not that picturesque, The main interest is in the changes in West Coast sailing in 70 years. Prefer his novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)