Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now


on 17 November 2017
Everything was so beautifully said by the other reviewers, just one memory ... ''The white man is restless, tense... cut off from his ancestors''... Gosh, I see it everywhere, and feel it in myself as well... so just starting to connect with my ancestors and the spirit world. For black and white brothers and sisters alike, this is such treasure, such precious gift in many ways, at different levels of knowing and being. Extraordinary book, adorable author! XXX
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2017
loving this book very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 November 2015
Malidoma Some was born into a village in Burkina Faso when it was still under French rule. He describes his first four years, focussing particularly on his close relationship with his grandfather, an elder and shaman. As he recalls his grandfather's funeral - spirit voices, and the dead man walking - I thought perhaps these were the confused recollections of a small child.
At four, the author was 'stolen' by the local priest, and compelled to live in a Catholic boarding school. Forced to communicate in French, he soon forgot his native tongue. And Catholic dogma replaced tribal rites. But while he was persuaded by the religion, to the extent of wanting to become a priest, he was also repelled at the sexual and physical abuse he witnessed, and at the colonial attitudes towards the African people.
At twenty he ran back to his village; much of the book now tells of (parts of) the month-long initiation ceremony he underwent. And here the reader must decide for himself what to make of the author's otherworldly experiences, as he enters other dimensions, communes with spirits and much more. Was he drugged? hypnotized? Was it Satanism or is there really a way into other universes? The descriptions are very vivid and persuasive, and I never realized initiation rituals included all this.
Ultimately the author is urged by his elders to take his knowledge of two worlds and tell the white man who his people really are. "Go and let yourself be swallowed. Your ancestors will do the rest."
An interesting work; make of it what you will.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2015
Fascinating reading. As well as providing insight into the Dagara tribe, it also puts the west into context, showing our spiritual challenges and how to get back on an even keel. I went to see Malidoma for a divination which was a very interesting experience.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2001
This beautiful book deserves to be far better known. Malidoma's writing is precise, personal and very powerful - the account of the month-long initiations he underwent upon returning to his tribe woke me up to a whole new vision of African shamanism. Read this book to hear a first-hand account of a man bridging the gap between the contaminated 'Western' mind and the nature-companion mind of a Dagara shaman. And should we ever forget, his account of the brutality of the missionary schools reminds us of the debt the so-called developed world still owes to the countries and people it brutalised for so long.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2003
Malidoma's extraordinary, brilliant, mindblowing book should be read by everyone. It is the only book I have ever read that has given me what I can describe as a deeply spiritual experience through the actual process of reading.
The book is essentially an autobiography. It tells of Malidoma's birth among the Dagara of Burkina Faso, his kidnap by Jesuit missionaries, their attempt to indoctrinate him with the Christian God, his escape and then initiaion back into the Dagara.
However, its main value for the West is in comprehensively destroying the rationalist materialsim which is in the process of destroyign nature. For Malidoma tells of so many extraordinary - and magical - events that anyone who is not a dyed-in-the-wool cynic will have their worldview permanently altered.
If you want to see how corpses can walk back to their own funeral ceremonies, how people can go into different dimensions and see their previous incarnations, and how they can understand themselves as they were before their birth and as they will be after death - if, in short, you want to enter an entirely different - and genuine - spiritual worldview, having got fed up of the bankrupt one we are force fed in the Wst - this is the book for you.
Please buy this book it will change your life, for the better.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2015
A great account that really gives the reader some insights into what life in Africa was like under French colonial rule on the one hand but then also the journey of a young African shaman.
Thats Malidomas story really - part indigenous and ancient - part western and modern.
This book is beautifully written with much to reflect and contemplate on.
A highly recommended read for anyone with an interest in magic and shamanism
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2010
This book relates an epic journey in which the indomitable truth of the spirit conquers the falsehood and violence of false, man-made gods. A tragic tale in which senseless and pointless human violence perpetrated in the name of love and faith contrasts with the spiritual experience of a man who take the opportunity to reach into the depths of his true self. Requesting a sequel must be the highest praise of any book, and I can only hope that Malidoma will one day write just a sequel to this volume.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2014
The whole story has touched me deeply, as my whole life I am searching for a connection with spirit and the full story of reality, not just the parts science and school and even religions are teaching us to be the only reality. Some huge parts are missing from the big picture, we haven't been told. We as the "Western world" have lost the connection. But we are not lost, for if you hear the faintest calling of spirit, follow it and catch up with the real world. We have more capabilities than we believe we do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2016
This book is incredible. What beautiful people, and what an amazing view into the life of a traditional West African tribe, and the devastation that colonisation brings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)