Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
75
4.5 out of 5 stars
OCR A2 Chemistry A Student Book and CD-ROM
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£23.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 April 2017
My son got good grade to get University place
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Lovely book. Helped me get an A
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
New book and good price too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2009
this book is a fantastic revision guide as it simplifies all topics of chemistry! without the AS version of this book i would have failed my exams and so far the A2 has not dissapointed me, i learn more from this book than i do at school and the exam style questions are very helpful. i recommend to anyone who is finding chemistry hard, though it is very specific to OCR syllabus, i would only buy it if OCR is your exam board.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2009
This book is excellent, easy to understand, and provides a helpful cd with lots of exam style questions and answers. I would definatly recommend this book to anyone studying OCR Chemistry. The AS textbook is just as good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
Perfect book, everything is clearly structured and detailed. A few minor issues (ketones labelled as aldehydes!) but nothing you can't easily scribble out. This book is my chemistry bible, and I would easily fail the course without it in my bag 24/7! Plenty of images and the layout is aesthetically pleasing as well as helpful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2011
It's a great book, covering the specification well and with a great use of examples to allow better understanding. For the calculation question especially there is a great array of worked examples, helping those non-mathematicians among you. Also, the book usually explains how certain ideas were achieved by scientists, expanding knowledge beyond the course.
The exams that are taken are also synoptic, and the book provides well for this, constantly referring back to AS content or previous sections.
The questions on every other page aren't always the most useful or challenging, but they still help, and there's a good range of exam questions at the end of each module, allowing you to test yourself independently. This is especially useful considering it's a new specification, and past papers are limited.
The Stretch and Challenge content is very useful for those aiming for the highest grades as it leads you to think more critically - something that is essential for some of the questions in the exams.
I'd say some of the content about constants and equations in the 2nd section could be much more concise, but for those who are learning from this book without a tutor this is very useful.
I achieved 90% in the first module using this book, so if you're generally aiming for more than C you should definitely purchase this book, as the revision guide is very limited.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2011
This textbook (and the AS equivalent) is just superb, and I feel using this it would be perfectly possible to get an A/A* just using the textbook (of course you still have to do the practicals)
At the end of each double page spread are a set of questions with full answers at the back.
At the end of main section are about 20 or so exam questions hand picked by the examiner from the previous syllabi, so only ones relevant to the current course are there.
The CD provided contains the answers to these exam questions as well as extra material such as printable flash cards and stretch & challenge questions intended for A/A* candidates

Essential to anyone doing the OCR course
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2009
Have already used the AS book with my pupils and found it matched the new syllabus well and was set out clearly. The CD with the book was useful to pupils. (The CDRom matching the AS course containing practical sheets and powerpoints was also a useful teaching resource but expensive. It would have been more useful if it contained homework sheets as well.)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)