Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
35
4.7 out of 5 stars
OCR AS and A2 Geology Student Book
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£30.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 March 2016
A very interesting book but feel I need a GCSE level book to aquaint me with the sublect . A bit too advanced for a first book on the subject. Not found a GCSE Geology book anywhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2017
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2017
Answer your exam questions with this, and you'll effeminately get an A*.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2017
Excellent condition. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2008
An invaluable tool for students and their teachers, and a very interesting read for anyone. This book leads you into a fascination with Earth Sciences. The photographs are stunning and the explanations clear.
22 Comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2009
Searched high and low for a revision book for Geology, this was the best book available. Turned out to be the same as the books used by the college too so it must be ok!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2012
This book is brilliant, as, when paired with 'Geoscience', it contains everything you need for the WJEC A-level course, and I have found this book to be very useful indeed.
My only slight reservations are that there isn't a glossary, and some of the definitions are a bit dubious.
Also, to anyone doing WJEC, remember that a lot of the stuff in the 'A2' section is in the AS course, and vice versa.
55 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2014
I'm a physics teacher with a degree in geophysics and my school is opening a new 6th form college which will be offering A-Level Geology, which I will be teaching. This book has helped me begin making schemes of work and planning lessons and trips for next year!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 January 2015
This is a superb text book and one of the best I have ever used as a teacher of Physical Geography and Earth Science. It follows closely the AS / A2 OCR Geology syllabus (UK Senior High School / Pre-University course) but it could be used as a general geology text book primer. Often when I read a text book, I think 'I could have done better myself' (and have done) but not on this occasion. The book consists of a series of two page spreads, starting on basic principles and progressing in conceptual complexity. Each two page spread covers a topic (e.g. origin of the solar system, divergent margins, mafic lavas). The quality of authorship, diagrams, artwork and case studies is exemplary. Well done - an excellent contribution to Earth Science education.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2012
In over 20 years of teaching I have taught a number of subjects including A level Geology and with out doubt this is the book that is closest matched to both the specification and the examination. If as a teacher you devise your own lessons based on the spec you will find that you are pretty much re-inventing the book, so save yourself the trouble. As a student, if you can learn what is in here and test yourself against the practise questions you will be heading for an A grade! I add to what the book provides especially with practical activities (see Earth learning ideas website) and more visuals (youtube etc.) Good luck and thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)