Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£22.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2011
My school did not provide us with this textbook for our AS Economics - they opted for the alternative book, "Economics" by Alain Anderton. If you have been provided with that textbook and are struggling with the subject, I wouldn't be surprised. It explains a paragraph worth of ideas in a page full of long words and complex sentences, and goes beyond the specification in many areas. I was struggling, so I got this one.

This book sticks with the specification and gives you what you need to know. Everything is clearly laid out and very easy to read and understand, unlike the Anderton.

It also doesn't go into detail on SRAS curves (or the classical model at all) which you don't need to know for AS! Instead, it seems time was spent on making sure it was detailed and concise, with a fantastic "Exam Cafe" section for each quarter of the book, showing model exam answers so you know what is expected of you.

Why my school, or any school, would opt for Anderton over this is a mystery to me. This book is wonderful. Five stars!
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
In my view, the book is a classic specimen of a book written by two separate authors.
The first half of the book, which covers the first AS OCR Economics module, is superbly written, with the author having great foresight to predict just where students will need a little more explanation.
The second half of the book, written by a different author, paints a different picture. Written to cover the second OCR AS Economics module, this section is not as clearly explained and often leaves the reader crying out for more clarity amongst the frequent clumsy explanations and odd grammer.
As stated, a classic example of a book written by separate authors covering separate modules. It shows.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
Imagine the situation. You're teaching a class of pupils for AS Economics and then alon g comes the Easter break. Some of the pupils go off and attend an Easter Revision course. There they sit next to pupils who have summary sheets about (for example):

a. Current Coalition economic policies
b. Unemployment trends in the UK
c. Quantitative easing and the money supply
d. Balance of Payments deficit and the UK 20010 - 2014
e. Positive/negative externalities in consumption and positive/negative externalities in consumption
f. MSC, MEC and MPC - shown with diagrams

These poor - undertaught - pupils simply wouldn't have a clue if they had relied on this textbook (and pupils often do rely on the textbook as examinations approach).

So, the book is way out of date -obsolete even and should never be considered as a useful purchase in its present form.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
This books supposedly covers the OCR AS Syllabus. However, there are several reasons why, if you a grade "A" student, you should not buy this. First of all, there are several numerical and comprehension questions in the book. NOt only are the answers not in the back (which means the book is not very good for self study), but questions are at least 5 years out of date. Exam boards supposedly want high quality answers that show that student has a core knowledge and regularly read newspapers. In which case why continue to endorse a book that is so out of date?
A second major criticism is that the book is very simply written. This suggests it is aimed at foreign students whose first language is not English or those who are very much beginners in Economics. If we look, for example, at Market Failure. This is shown simply by supply and demand lines rather than Marginal Social Cost, Marginal Private Cost. The section on Macroeconomics pre-dates the Coalition Government. Therefore, of course, there is nothing about quantitative easing, or austerity budgets and the Right to Buy. The data is given, but because of the date of the book, it is largely irrelevant. Far better to buy a more up to date and more complex textbook, or just use the numerous resources provided by Mister Google
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
Good Book to study for AS level Students.All topics are covered according to OCR Syllabus.Good for test Preparation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
This book is very concise and to the point. In combination with a hard working attitude as well as teacher guidance, this book can be instrumental in allowing a/s economics students to reach those A/B grades. The only downside to a very well written text book would be the lack of information about the 4 18 marker topics in unit 1.e.g taxation,pollution permits, regulation and subsidies. In this area the book is quite vague, however good teachers should be able to make up for the lack of information through external resources such as tutor 2u etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
This book really helped me to pass my exam. I used it alongside my A-level revision course at econacademy.co.uk and I passed with an A* overall!

I am now at Cambridge, studying Economics BSc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
Book came quick, good packaging, very well laid out and good tips & the best part is the exam cafe. Perfect for the OCR spec
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
OCR is the syllabus being followed by the school. Very good book - detailed yet easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
ITS HELPING MY SON AT SCHOOL AND THANKS VERY MUCH SO I AM VERY HAPPY YOU SOLD IT TO ME
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)