Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 2 January 2015
Well written, informative and very entertaining too. Covers the material well and gives you an extensive list of sources and references. It really lives up to the title of "the parenting book for people who hate parenting books"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2013
A must read for all parents. Certainly makes a lot of sense and will certainly diminish many parenting anxieties. Albeit, there are several topics that require much more investigation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2016
I found this really interesting, especially the negative effects of praise. Its got a good evidence base and I shall no doubt refer to it over the years as I try not to ruin the new people I made.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2013
Simplified explanations of behaviour expression a narrow view where every example is explained in a way that supports authors opinion. lacks scientific back ground and tends towards dogmatism.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2017
Useful and interesting counter evidence of various childrearing assumptions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2017
An interesting read, mostly common sense. Some of the science of the brain aspects are enlightening. Glad to have read it. It is very American though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2017
A collection of interesting topics relating to child behaviours, simplified for easy reading but with some scientific backing to support the theories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2014
I enjoyed reading this book and it raises some very valid points. The book is easy to read and the research explained clearly. I particularly enjoyed the chapter 'the lost hour'. However, there are flaws in some of the research studies used to back up the authors points (particularly in the chapter 'why white parents don't talk about race') and not one of these flaws is mentioned. Therefore it doesn't give a particularly balanced view and It didn't convince me of its tag line 'why everything we think about raising our children is wrong'.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2014
The best book for an overview on research on parenting and education - teaching - a must for everyone involved with children
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 September 2009
I was really looking forward to this one, having read all of Po Bronson's previous stuff (was mostly highly impressed), and being highly interested in the topic. My expectations might have been coloured by that in the sense that I was expecting a more comprehensive treatise on all interesting developments in child psychology over the last 20 years.

Overall a 4/5, for the simple fact that the result that came out from the research that went in, was a bit too sparse in my opinion. While I have no trouble agreeing to all the findings and very much like the process of showing how iterative efforts are necessary at uncovering working principles, as opposed to intuitively appealing concepts, which tend not to be borne out of practice, I have expected a more thorough analysis of the issues.

Another negative for me was a somewhat lacking introduction, where the authors would explain in more detail, why the specific aspects discussed were chosen, whether those are all the areas, where a change of perspective took place, and if not, why the authors considered those most important.

On the plus side, the conclusions drawn do not ever seem flimsy and complete references are included. The authors also successfully avoid the current trend towards endlessly repeating the same basic concept with different examples, so the 239 pages of content have been thoroughly combed through with Occam's razor. The style, however, seems to strongly mirror what they would have used in the newspaper articles, which predated this book (and were based on the same research), which makes the book very readable but I personally found less than optimal in the book format, where I felt the authors would provide much more depth to the reasoning and the conclusions.

To summarise, if one reads the book as a parent in search of tips how to make their child nurturing more effective, the book delivers to the full. If one is interested in a more abstract fashion in what developments took place in child / developmental psychology in the last 20 years but does not have the time to follow the relevant literature on a regular basis, the book is still OK but not a 5 star.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse