Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
736
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2016
HISTORY:

Now That's What I Call Music! (1983–present) (often shortened to Now!) is a series of various artists compilation albums released in the United Kingdom and Ireland by EMI. Spinoff series were later introduced in South Africa (1984) and many other countries worldwide, including the United States in 1998, and Israel in 1999. Since its launch in the UK in 1983, the series has amassed over 100 million album sales worldwide, and each volume always debut at Number 1 on the UK album chart.

CONTENT:

Now That’s What I Call Music 86 was released in UK on November 18, 2013, and debut at Number 1 on the UK album compilation chart. Although a song listing is included on Amazon.ca, I have compiled a more detailed listing (with chart position in US & UK, with personal comments), which is as follows:

Disc 1:
01 Roar – Katy Perry (US 1/2013; UK 1/2013)
02 Counting Stars – OneRepublic (US 3/2013; UK 1/2013)
03 Talk Dirty – Jason Derulo, featuring 1 Chainz (US 102/2013; UK 1/2013)
04 We Can’t Stop – Miley Cyrus (US 2/2013; UK 1/2013)
05 Wake Me Up – Avicii (US 4/2013; UK 1/2013)
06 Look Right Through – Storm Queen (MK Vocal Edit)(UK 1/2013)
07 Animals – Martin Garrix (US 51/2013; UK 1/2013)
08 Burn – Ellie Goulding (US 13/2013; UK 1/2013)
09 Hold On, We’re Going Home – Drake, featuring Majid Jordan (US 4/2013; UK 4/2013)
10 You’re Nobody ‘Til Somebody Loves You – James Arthur (UK 2/2013)*follow-up to his No. 1 hit Impossible
11 Do I Wanna Know? – Arctic Monkeys (US 99/2013; UK 11/2013)
12 Royals – Lorde (US 1(9)/2013; UK 1/2013)
13 Foxes - Youth (US 12/2013)
14 Applause – Lady Gaga (US 4/2013; UK 4/2013)
15 Gorilla – Bruno Mars (US 22/2013; UK 62/2013)
16 Best Song Ever- One Direction (US 2/2013; UK 2/2013)
17 It’s My Party – Jessie J (UK 3/2013)
18 Can We Dance – Vamps (UK 2/2013)
19 Juliet – Lawson (UK 3/2013)
20 Show Me Love (America) – The Wanted (UK 8/2013)
21 Bonfire Heart – James Blunt (UK 4/2013)
22 Somewhere Only We Know – Lily Allen (UK 1/2013)

Disc 2:
01 Eat Sleep Rave Repeat (Calvin Harris Remix) – Fatboy Slim & Riva Starr, featuring Beardyman (UK 3/2013)
02 Thinking About You – Calvin Harris, featuring Ayah Marar (UK 8/2013)
03 You Make Me – Avicii (SWEDEN 1/2013; US 85/2013; UK 5/2013)
04 Earthquake – DJ Fresh vs Diplo, featuring Dominique Young Unique (UK 4/2013)
05 Sonnentanz (Sun Don’t Shine) – Klangkarussell, featuring Will Heard (UK 3/2013)
06 Summertime Sadness (Cedric Gervais Remix) – Lana Del Rey vs Cedric Gervais (UK 4/2013)
07 Bang Bang – will.i.am (UK 3/2013)* a brand new mix featuring vocals from Leah McFall, previously unavailable on any format
08 What I Might Do – Ben Pearce (UK 7/2013)
09 Count On Me – Chase and Status, featuring Moko (UK 28/2013; UK DANCE 1/2013)
10 Children Of The Sun – Tinie Tempah, featuring John Martin (UK 6/2013)
11 Other Side Of Love – Sean Paul (UK 7/2013)
12 R U Crazy – Conor Maynard (UK 4/2013)
13 Lifted – Naughty Boy, featuring Emeli Sande (UK 8/2013)
14 Lost Generation – Rizzle Kicks (UK 6/2013)
15 Boom Boom (Heartbeat) – Ray Foxx, featuring Rachel K. Collier (UK 12/2013)
16 Cheating – John Newman (UK 8/2013)
17 Big When I Was Little – Eliza Doolittle (UK 12/2013)
18 Disco Love – The Saturdays (UK 5/2013)
19 Afterglow – Wilkinson (UK 8/2013; UK DANCE 1/2013)
20 Booyah – Showtek, featuring We Are Loud & Sonny Wilson (UK 5/2013; UK DANCE 1/2013)
21 Something Really Bad – Dizzee Rascal, featuring will.i.am (UK 10/2013)
22 The Fox (What Does The Fox Say) – Ylvis (US 6/2013; UK 17/2013; NORWAY 1/2013)*the line dance is as fun as the song!
The remastered audio from this set is simply PERFECT! I wish other producers will take note and take the same care in presenting their music.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I personally keep an eye on the weekly US charts (Billboard Hot 100, AC and C&W) and UK charts. I am quite familiar with most of the songs in this set. Many songs are popular only in UK and are difficult or expensive to find over here in Canada. Now series presents a good way to collect these UK gems. The sound of the entire set is perfect, vibrant and clean. If you like modern pop music, the UK Now series is the best of all: 2 CDs with 44 songs, while Now 48 (US) has only 20 song. This set is highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
Like Now 84 and Now 85, Now 86 is also an amazing Now album. This album is better than Now 84 and Now 85, but not as good as last year's winter Now album, Now 83. It is the best Now album of 2013.

44 TOP CHART HITS

COMPACT DISC 1 Chart Peak Weeks On Chart

1.Katy Perry- Roar (1) 11 Weeks(Sep-Present)
2.OneRepublic- Counting Stars (1) 15 Weeks(Aug-Present)
3.Jason Derulo ft 2 Chainz- Talk Dirty (1) 9 Weeks(Sep-Present)
4.Miley Cyrus- We Can't Stop (1) 15 Weeks(Aug-Present)
5.Avicii- Wake Me Up (1) 18 Weeks(July-Present)
6.Storm Queen- Look Right Through (MK Radio Edit) (1) 2 Weeks(Nov-Present)
7.Martin Garrix- Animals (1) 1 Week(Nov-Present)
8.Ellie Goulding- Burn (1) 14 Weeks(Aug-Present)
9.Drake ft Majid Jordan- Hold On, We're Going Home (4) 15 Weeks(Aug-Present)
10.James Arthur- You're Nobody Til' Somebody Loves You (2) 4 Weeks(Oct-Present)
11.Arctic Monkeys- Do I Wanna Know? (11) 21 Weeks(June-Nov)
12.Lorde- Royals (1) 4 Weeks(Oct-Present)
13.Foxes- Youth (12) 3 Weeks(Nov-Present)
14.Lady Gaga- Applause (5) 14 Weeks(Aug-Present)
15.Bruno Mars- Gorilla (62) 2 Weeks(Nov-Present)
16.One Direction- Best Song Ever (2) 16 Weeks(July-Present)
17.Jessie J- It's My Party (3) 8 Weeks(Sep-Nov)
18.The Vamps- Can We Dance (2) 7 Weeks(Oct-Present)
19.Lawson- Juliet (3) 5 Weeks(Oct-Present)
20.The Wanted- Show Me Love(America) (8) 3 Weeks(Nov-Present)
21.James Blunt- Bonfire Heart (4) 6 Weeks(Oct-Present)
22.Lily Allen- Somewhere Only We Know (2) 1 Week(Nov-Present)

COMPACT DISC 2 Chart Peak Weeks On Chart

1.Fatboy Slim & Riva Starr ft Beardyman-
Eat Sleep Rave Repeat(Calvin Harris Remix) (3) 3 Weeks(Nov-Present)
2.Calvin Harris ft Ayah Marar- Thinking About You (8) 14 Weeks(July-Oct)
3.Avicii- You Make Me (5) 9 Weeks(Sep-Present)
4.DJ Fresh vs Diplo & Dominique Young Unique-
Earthquake (4) 10 Weeks(Aug-Nov)
5.Klangkarussell ft Will Heard- Sonnentanz
(Sun Don't Shine) (3) 13 Weeks(Aug-Present)
6.Lana Del Rey vs Cedric Gervais-
Summertime Sadness(Cedric Gervais Remix) (4) 17 Weeks(July-Present)
7.Will.I.Am- Bang Bang (3) 15 Weeks(June-Oct)
8.Ben Pearce- What I Might Do (7) 10 Weeks(Sep-Present)
9.Chase & Status ft Moko- Count On Me (5) 6 Weeks(Oct-Nov)
10.Tinie Tempah ft John Martin- Children Of The Sun (6) 3 Weeks(Nov-Present)
11.Sean Paul- Other Side Of Love (7) 8 Weeks(Aug-Oct)
12.Conor Maynard- R U Crazy (4) 6 Weeks(Oct-Present)
13.Naughty Boy ft Emeli Sande- Lifted (8) 5 Weeks(Aug-Sep)
14.Rizzle Kicks- Love Generation (6) 8 Weeks(Sep-Oct)
15.Ray Foxx ft Rachel K Collier- Boom Boom
(Heartbeat) (12) 5 Weeks(Aug-Sep)
16.John Newman- Cheating (9) 5 Weeks(Oct-Nov)
17.Eliza Doolittle- Big When I Was Little (12) 4 Weeks(Aug-Sep)
18.The Saturdays- Disco Love (5) 6 Weeks(Oct-Present)
19.Wilkinson- Afterglow (8) 5 Weeks(Oct-Present)
20.Showtek ft We Are Loud & Sonny Wilson- Booyah (5) 4 Weeks(Oct-Present)
21.Dizzee Rascal ft Will.I.Am- Something Really Bad (10) 4 Weeks(Oct-Nov)
22.Ylvis- The Fox(What Does The Fox Say?) (17) 8 Weeks(Sep-Present)

Best Songs

Katy Perry- Roar
OneRepublic- Counting Stars
Jason Derulo ft 2 Chainz- Talk Dirty
Miley Cyrus- We Can't Stop
Avicii- Wake Me Up
Storm Queen- Look Right Through(MK Radio Edit)
Martin Garrix- Animals
Ellie Goulding- Burn
James Arthur- You're Nobody Will Somebody Loves You
Lorde- Royals
Foxes- Youth
Lady Gaga- Applause
One Direction- Best Song Ever
Jessie J- It's My Party
The Vamps- Can We Dance
Lawson- Juliet
The Wanted- Show Me Love (America)
James Blunt- Bonfire Heart
Lily Allen- Somewhere Only We Know

COMPACT DISC 2

Fatboy Slim & Riva Starr & Beardyman-
Eat Sleep Rave Repeat(Calvin Harris Remix)
Calvin Harris ft Ayah Marar- Thinking About You
Avicii- You Make Me
DJ Fresh vs Diplo & Dominique Young Unique-
Earthquake
Lana Del Rey vs Cedric Gervais-
Summertime Sadness(Cedric Gervais Remix)
Will.I.Am- Bang Bang
Chase & Status ft Moko- Count On Me
Tinie Tempah ft John Martin- Children Of The Sun
Sean Paul- Other Side Of Love
Conor Maynard- R U Crazy
Naughty Boy ft Emeli Sande- Lifted
Ray Foxx ft Rachel K Collier- Boom Boom
(Heartbeat)
John Newman- Cheating
Eliza Doolittle- Big When I Was Little
The Saturdays- Disco Love
Wilkinson- Afterglow
Showtek ft We Are Loud & Sonny Wilson- Booyah
Dizzee Rascal ft Will.I.Am- Something Really Bad
Ylvis- The Fox(What Does The Fox Say?)

Artists repeated from Now 85

Jason Derulo ft 2 Chainz- Talk Dirty
Bruno Mars- Gorilla
Jessie J- It's My Party
The Wanted- Show Me Love(America)
Calvin Harris ft Ayah Marar- Thinking About You
Will.I.Am- Bang Bang
Chase & Status ft Moko- Count On Me
Naughty Boy ft Emeli Sande- Lifted
John Newman- Cheating
The Saturdays- Disco Love
Dizzee Rascal ft Will.I.Am- Something Really Bad

Artists that appear on Now 87

Katy Perry ft Juicy J- Dark Horse
OneRepublic & Alesso- If I Lose Myself
Miley Cyrus- Wrecking Ball
Avicii- Hey Brother
Martin Garrix & Jay Hardway- Wizard
Eliie Goulding- How Long Will I Love You
Foxes- Let Go For Tonight
Lady Gaga ft R Kelly- Do What U Want
One Direction- Story Of My Life
The Vamps- Wild Heart
Calvin Harris & Alesso & HURTS- Under Control
DJ Fresh vs Jay Fay ft Ms Dynamite- Dibby Dibby Sound
John Newman- Out Of My Head(Club Edit)

9 Number 1's

Katy Perry- Roar
OneRepublic- Counting Stars
Jason Derulo ft 2 Chainz- Take Dirty
Miley Cyrus- We Can't Stop
Avicii- Wake Me Up
Storm Queen- Look Right Through(MK Radio Edit)
Martin Garrix- Animals
Ellie Goulding- Burn
Lorde- Royals

Release Date: 18 November 2013
44 comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Now That's What I Call Music! 86 or Now! 86 is a double-disc compilation album which was released in the United Kingdom on 18 November 2013.[1][2] It is the 86th edition of the UK Now! series and is available on CD and downloadable format.

Now 86 features ten songs which reached number one on the UK Singles Chart: "Roar", "Counting Stars", "Talk Dirty", "We Can't Stop", "Wake Me Up", "Look Right Through", "Animals", "Burn", "Royals" and "Somewhere Only We Know".

The version of will.i.am's song "Bang Bang" is a brand new mix featuring vocals from Leah McFall, previously unavailable on any format

No.

Title

Artist

Length

1.

"Roar"

Katy Perry

3:45

2.

"Counting Stars"

OneRepublic

4:16

3.

"Talk Dirty"

Jason Derulo featuring 2 Chainz

2:58

4.

"We Can't Stop"

Miley Cyrus

3:51

5.

"Wake Me Up"

Avicii featuring Aloe Blacc

4:06

6.

"Look Right Through" (MK Vocal Edit)

Storm Queen

2:28

7.

"Animals"

Martin Garrix

2:45

8.

"Burn"

Ellie Goulding

3:51

9.

"Hold On, We're Going Home"

Drake featuring Majid Jordan

3:47

10.

"You're Nobody 'til Somebody Loves You"

James Arthur

3:20

11.

"Do I Wanna Know?"

Arctic Monkeys

4:33

12.

"Royals"

Lorde

3:10

13.

"Youth"

Foxes

3:45

14.

"Applause"

Lady Gaga

3:32

15.

"Gorilla"

Bruno Mars

4:03

16.

"Best Song Ever"

One Direction

3:21

17.

"It's My Party"

Jessie J

3:39

18.

"Can We Dance"

The Vamps

3:10

19.

"Juliet"

Lawson

3:07

20.

"Show Me Love (America)"

The Wanted

3:26

21.

"Bonfire Heart"

James Blunt

3:55

22.

"Somewhere Only We Know"

Lily Allen

3:31

Total length:

1:18:17

CD 2[edit]

No.

Title

Artist

Length

1.

"Eat Sleep Rave Repeat" (Calvin Harris Remix)

Fatboy Slim & Riva Starr featuring Beardyman

4:42

2.

"Thinking About You"

Calvin Harris featuring Ayah Marar

3:25

3.

"You Make Me"

Avicii

3:51

4.

"Earthquake"

DJ Fresh vs. Diplo featuring Dominique Young Unique

3:09

5.

"Sonnentanz (Sun Don't Shine)"

Klangkarussell featuring Will Heard

3:41

6.

"Summertime Sadness" (Cedric Gervais Remix)

Lana Del Rey

3:34

7.

"Bang Bang"

will.i.am featuring Leah McFall

4:40

8.

"What I Might Do"

Ben Pearce

2:28

9.

"Count On Me"

Chase & Status featuring Moko

3:33

10.

"Children of the Sun"

Tinie Tempah featuring John Martin

3:50

11.

"Other Side of Love"

Sean Paul

3:05

12.

"R U Crazy"

Conor Maynard

3:27

13.

"Lifted"

Naughty Boy featuring Emeli Sandé

3:16

14.

"Lost Generation"

Rizzle Kicks

3:36

15.

"Boom Boom (Heartbeat)"

Ray Foxx featuring Rachel K Collier

3:14

16.

"Cheating"

John Newman

3:29

17.

"Big When I Was Little"

Eliza Doolittle

3:51

18.

"Disco Love"

The Saturdays

3:12

19.

"Afterglow"

Wilkinson

3:44

20.

"Booyah"

Showtek featuring We Are Loud & Sonny Wilson

3:35

21.

"Something Really Bad"

Dizzee Rascal featuring will.i.am

3:41

22.

"The Fox (What Does the Fox Say?)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
I am writing to warn parents that there is some highly inappropriate language on track 3 of CD1, which is of a sexually explicit nature. I came across this while listening to the CD in the car with my 9 year old daughter. As I realise a lot of parents don't listen to the CDs their children have they may not be aware of this. Anyway just wanted to let you all know.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
This one's growing on me & my 8 & 10 year olds, but we preferred Now 85! We skip some of the more annoying songs, but have many favourites too! Happy with delivery, etc & delighted to have it on my phone too through the Amazon App!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
I buy these Now CDs in order to lead dance sessions with young adults. This one has a number of tunes that aren't the greatest for dancing, but where else can we get such a large selection of current pop songs at a reasonable price
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
Great CD. Lots of brilliant music which appeals. 4 stars only as there are one or two songs that don't suit my style - even so very good.
These compilations are great value for money if you enjoy the majority of the songs. I think the 'cloud' is a great idea too. I can get the music on my phone and computer and have the Cd's permanently in my car. Couldn't be better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
The Christmas party season approaches, and being haggard and passed it, and not knowing what's fashionable, hip, trendy, or not, so I buy these 'Now' compilations when they are published just to keep the young folks happy. Personally, I would much rather have some Bach or Handel or Carols being sung in the background while tucking into my Christmas dinner than the latest boy band's warblings. Anyway, I know my place...
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
This is another excellent addition to the Now collection! The mix of songs is great, and I feel much better (and a much better representation of the chart) that Now 85 was! I still have one niggle, the main one being that I feel 'Wrecking Ball' should be on this album for Miley Cyrus instead of 'We Cant Stop' - but that is just my own personal taste.

Apart from this this, I think the song selection is the best their has been in quite a while with a great mix of artists ranging from Ellie Goulding and Lily Allen to The Vamps and Martin Garrix. Furthermore, for those buying around the release date, this album managed to incorporate the big movers and shakers of the November 2013 chart (the time of release); something which some of the more recent 'Now' albums have failed to do.

In conclusion, I think this album is one of the best of the 'Now' collection in recent years, and is a great buy for anyone who has enjoyed the charts over the last few months. Plus, you are getting 44 tracks for £12 wheras if you bought them seperatly it would cost £40 - this album provides a whopping saving and provides you with a great mix of music.

It's a winner :D
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
I collect the Now series, although sometimes the songs are not quite to my liking but almost always contain the hits that are playing out there on the radio. Often Now will do a compilation that is pre-production and the pre-production Now 86 had better songs!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)