Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Novels Box Set (The Chrestomanci Series) Paperback – 1 Oct 2001

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
£139.66 £97.27

Four for £10 on Sticker & Activity Books
Add four selected titles to your basket and checkout to receive your discount. Shop now
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.
Getting the download link through email is temporarily not available. Please check back later.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Product details

  • Paperback
  • Publisher: HarperCollinsChildren'sBooks (1 Oct. 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0007128959
  • ISBN-13: 978-0007128952
  • Product Dimensions: 20.1 x 13.5 x 7.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 829,133 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

From the Back Cover

'This box set brings together the four Chrestomanci novels, where the enigmatic nine-lifed enchanter wields powerful magic…'

The Lives of Christopher Chant When Christopher discovers he has nine lives and is destined to be the next ‘Chrestomanci’ he is not pleased. But he soon finds that destiny is difficult to avoid, particularly when an evil smuggler, The Wraith, threatens the ways of the worlds…

Charmed Life Gwendolen and Eric Chant are taken to live with a powerful nine-lifed enchanter in Chrestomanci Castle. Gwendolen is thrilled, for she is a gifted witch. Eric, on the other hand, has no talent for magic at all. Watch the sparks fly, as life with Chrestomanci takes an unexpected turn…

Witch Week The note to Mr Crossley was clear: SOMEONE IN THIS CLASS IS A WITCH. The most awful thing was, the note might be true – for this was a school for witch-orphans. A visit from the Divisional Inquisitor would mean trouble… real trouble.

The Magicians of Caprona Casa Montana and Casa Petrocchi look after the magical business in Caprona. The families have been feuding for years, so when all the spells start going wrong, each naturally blames the other. When Young Tonino Montana and Angela Petrocchi disappear, terrible rumours of a White Devil start…

About the Author

Diana Wynne Jones spent her childhood in Essex and has been writing fantasy novels for children since 1973. With her unique combination of magic, humour and imagination, she has been enthralling children and adults with her work ever since. She won the Guardian Award in 1977 with Charmed Life, was runner-up for the Children’s Book Award in 1981, and was twice runner-up for the Carnegie Medal. She is married with three sons, and lives in Bristol with her husband.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
All four of these books are fantastic, must-reads, especially for those already fans of Diana Wynne Jones. I think my favourite is The Lives of Christopher Chant, but I am really fond of the others as well. All four books feature Chrestomanci (Christopher Chant) who is in charge of governing the use of magic in his world (one of many). Chrestomanci is a nine-lifed enchanter and the Lives of Christopher Chant shows Christopher on his way to becoming the Chrestomanci who features in the other three books. Charmed life also deals with Cat (Eric) who is destined to be Chrestomanci after Christopher. Witch Week and The Magicians of Caprona also feature Chrestomanci briefly, although other, new characters are introduced too. The charm of these books can be appreciated at any age, although the magic is obviously most powerful for a younger reader. I cannot praise this collection highly enough- I have always felt that Diana Wynne Jones's work has been given too low a profile. To me, her work has the same charm and interest as that of J K Rowling, but enhanced because D.W.J. uses more varied settings and characters, as well as a less predictable format. Buy this, lend it to you're friends, any children you know and wait while they all go out and buy the rest of the author's works. Pure enjoyment, not trying to be either serious or life-changing, and so becoming (to some extent) both. When I was 9, these books made me decide to be a writer. It's great that they're all collected together!
Comment 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse