Buy Used
£4.99
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Nightmare Before Christmas Hardcover – 6 Oct 2016

4.7 out of 5 stars 82 customer reviews

See all 12 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£6.64 £4.99
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions


Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



STEAM Toys
Discover Science, technology, arts, engineering and technology toys. Shop Now

Product details

  • Hardcover: 48 pages
  • Age Range: 5 - 7 years
  • Publisher: Puffin (6 Oct. 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0141376228
  • ISBN-13: 978-0141376226
  • Product Dimensions: 21.7 x 1.2 x 26.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (82 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 268,794 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

'The 20-year anniversary picture book of Tim Burton's anti-Christmas tale landed on my doormat and I just couldn't resist... Burton's charmingly macabre illustrations and witty gothicisms are well worth revisiting in book form, and this new edition includes a few sketches that have never been seen before.' --The Independent --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Tim Burton was born and raised in Burbank, California. He attended the California Institute of the Arts and soon after became an animator at Walt Disney Studios. He made his directorial debut with the animated short Vincent, which was narrated by Vincent Price. The film was a critical success an award winner on the festival circuit. Burton's next in-house project was a live-action short film called Frankenweenie, an inventive and youthful twist on the Frankenstein legend, which was subsequently remade as a 3-D, stop-motion feature years later.

After working on several films at Disney, he began directing his own projects, and his unique creative vision has since captured the imagination of millions of people the world over. His feature-film debut was the highly imaginative and raucously funny Pee Wee's Big Adventure. Since then, he has directed such highly-acclaimed films as Beetlejuice, Batman, Edward Scissorhands, Batman Returns, Ed Wood, Mars Attacks!, Sleepy Hollow, Planet of the Apes, Big Fish, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Corpse Bride, Alice in Wonderland and Frankenweenie,

The Nightmare Before Christmas is the first book he wrote and illustrated.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By A Customer on 20 April 2005
Format: Paperback
This is such an amazing book, if you loved this film and want to learn more about it buy this book. Being interested in stop motion animation myself I have found this book so useful, letting me read about one of my all time favourite films and learning all the things I wanted to know about it. It gives you an insight into how the film is made, the making of sets and each of the main characters, as well as the words to all the songs. Its totally awesome.
Comment 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Tim Burton's original poem is stunningly presented in this hardback edition alongside beautiful original illustrations. Those expecting a storybook that accompanies the film will be disappointed - as I mentioned, this is Burton's original poem and has nothing to do with the 1993 movie's storyline - so no Oogie Boogie, Sally, Dr. Finklestein... You get the idea. To me the book is worth it for the pictures alone and is a must for any Nightmare fan. Definitely worth more than the three stars another reviewer gave.
Comment 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I loved this film as a child and I still do now, so when I saw this book I decided to buy it as I am such a big fan! It has everything from Tim Burtons orginal art work of the characters to the building of the set/ models to all of the song lyrics.
It is amazing to learn how much effort went into the film and interesting to learn about the processes involved.
This book is a real treat to anyone who appreciates this film, animation and illustration.

A brilliant buy, totally worth it!
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
This is an interesting book as it tells the story of the nightmare before christmas in a poetic form. It has great illustrations but it is a very thin book and i would have liked it to be bigger. The book is short but sweet.
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Most people who follow Walt Disney Studios' films know about the movie "The Nightmare Before Christmas". A stop motion masterpiece directed by Henry Selick and produced by Tim Burton (unavailable as he was filming Batman Returns), this fable is the third part of a trilogy Tim Burton did I personally call "The Christmas Trilogy". One that started with Edward Scissorhands, continued with Batman Returns, and finished with this story. That of Jack Skellington who, tired of the same relentless life as Pumpkin King in the world of Halloween, wishes of something new and inadvertently stumbles unto the world of Christmas. Uncovering a culture he wishes to share his own take to all the children in the real world. A good intention that brings forth more trouble than what he intended.

Let's make it straight, this book is not a direct adaptation of the movie. Instead, this is the original poem Tim Burton had written and proposed to the Studios when he worked as a Disney Animator in the late seventies and early eighties. A poem with his original illustrations accompanying his stanzas. Artwork that is instantly recognizable with its German expressionism and its faerie colors, and character designs. Regarding that last aspect, it is interesting to see that although the characters of Oogie Boogie and Sally are absent, characters with their eventual designs do appear in the background at a certain page. As to whether or not Tim Burton had done those paintings in the seventies before he even got to produce this movie in the nineties, it would be wonderful if he had done that art in the seventies as that specific illustration would foreshadow Sally and Boogie's eventual presences in this story.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Yep, that's right folks! The Nightmare Before Christmas! Written and Illustrated by Tim freaking Burton! I've given it 5/5 because this book is totally gorgeous, I can't even. Seriously, children, teens, young adults, adults, vampires, zombies, Oogie Boogie, Zero..everyone's gonna love this book! It's perfect for both Halloween and Christmas, and it's instantly lodged itself on my favourite books list! I have a feeling I'll be pulling it off of my shelf at Christmas to have a read, I've already read it multiple times since I received it in the post! Nightmare Before Christmas is one of my favourite films to watch at this time of year, and at Christmas and I had NO idea that it was a book!

I'm reliably informed that this book came before the film, and it's full of exclusive, never before seen original sketches from Tim Burton! I also believe that this book hasn't been published over here before, it has in the US but not here, and this 20th anniversary edition is just.....so pretty. So damn pretty. I have a need to have multiple illustrations from the book framed, prints from this book totally need to be a thing!

Obviously the book came before the film, and it's a short book, so the film has lots of scenes and things that aren't from the book, but the main point of the plot of the film is here in the book, told in a beautifully lyrical way! And as I keep saying....stunning illustrations! This is definitely a must for fans of Burton and Nightmare Before Christmas, no matter the age!
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Definitely recommended for those who are interested in stop-motion film production, or who want to learn more about the making of The Nightmare Before Christmas. 'The Film, The Art, The Vision' delves into many aspects of the film-making, from the character and set design to the music, and tells of the experiences of the crew, from the director to the designers to the scriptwriter. We learn more about what occurred during the ten years between when Tim Burton first wanted to create TNBC, and when it was completed. This book includes colourful illustrations and pictures of the sets in mid-production and between chapters are the full, original lyrics to the songs. Fun and informative, this guide gives some entertaining background information to the magic of the film, which now makes me appreciate the crew's efforts all the more whilst watching!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews