FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
A Nightingale Christmas W... has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This book is eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK. Your order will be picked, packed and dispatched by Amazon. Buy with confidence!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

A Nightingale Christmas Wish: (Nightingales 5) Paperback – 6 Nov 2014

4.8 out of 5 stars 244 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
£2.83 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£5.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • A Nightingale Christmas Wish: (Nightingales 5)
  • +
  • Nightingales at War: (Nightingales 6)
  • +
  • Nightingales on Call: (Nightingales 4)
Total price: £17.97
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Product details

  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Arrow (6 Nov. 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0099585162
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099585169
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 2.6 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (244 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 6,437 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Book Description

From the author of The Nightingale Girls, The Nightingale Sisters and The Nightingale Nurses – perfect for fans of Call the Midwife

From the Back Cover

It’s Christmas at the Nightingale Hospital

Sister Blake is revisited by a face from the past. Will buried secrets stop her from being happy?

Lonely Helen Dawson has new responsibilities and trials, but is she looking for love in all the wrong places?

And Matron puts the Nightingale first, even before her own health. With war looming large, will Matron and the Nightingale survive?

With new hardships, new loves and new heartbreak, will anyone get their Christmas wish?

See all Product Description

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By Lincs Reader TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 12 Nov. 2014
Format: Paperback
Although it has Christmas in the title, this is not really a traditional seasonal read, the story takes place around Christmas time, but it's not all magic and gifts and singing carols around the tree by any means. Set in 1938, with the threat of another World War looming, the reader finds themselves amongst old and familiar friends at the Nightingale Hospital.
One of Donna Douglas' real strengths is her ability to continue this series whilst making sure that any
new readers can pick up the back story of each character easily. She gives just enough information to give an insight into each character without repeating the story for readers who are familiar with the setting and the characters.

The story concentrates mainly on Sister Helen Dawson and junior nurse Effie - two completely different characters, yet both well drawn and realistic. Helen has endured great sadness in her life, and her work is fast becoming her replacement for a happy personal life. She puts everything she has into being a dedicated nurse, but there is a sense of loneliness about Helen, and those closest to her find it difficult to get to know the woman behind the nurses uniform. Not so Effie, she wears her heart on her sleeve, she's determined, impetuous and loyal.

There is an incredible amount of research behind this series, the sense of place is excellent, and it is amazing to see how far our medical services have travelled in what is relatively such a short space of time.

I really do enjoy the Nightingale series, and look forward to reading the next instalment
Comment 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Earlier this year I was introduced to the Nightingale Nurses series so when I was asked whether I'd like to read the latest book, A Nightingale Christmas Wish, it seemed the perfect book to kick start my festive reading by being reacquainted with old friends.

It's now late 1938 and for the staff at The Nightingale Hospital life continues as normal as we see familiar faces having to face personal and professional issues amidst the backdrop of the threat of impending war in Europe and how this could affect their lives in London and at The Nightingale Hospital.

I always look forward to reading the latest book in a series as really enjoy getting to know characters and following their lives from book to book to see how they develop over time and in A Nightingale Christmas Wish that is no different. We see how Helen Dawson is coping following the tragic death of her husband, we learn more about the past of Sister Frannie Blake, we discover a secret that Matron Kathleen Fox is hiding as well as see how probationary nurse Effie O'Hara is getting on, will she ever be able to get out of her sisters shadows?

As well as these four main characters we also get to meet a few other familiar faces, albeit briefly, to see what has happened in their lives since we last met them.

First off I'll have to admit that this was not quite the festive read I was expecting as although Christmas is mentioned in the title it is only briefly featured. The story begins in November 1938 and leads us up to the declaration of war in 1939 but putting that minor issue aside it was another enjoyable read from Donna Douglas.
Read more ›
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
A Nightingale Christmas Wish is the latest delightful installment of Donna Douglas’ enthralling series about a group of nurses working in an East-End hospital in the 1930s.

Ward sister Fran Wallace has dedicated her life to her career. After losing the man she loved in the First World War, Fran had decided to make nursing her life and the resolute and determined sister has never had cause to regret her decision. Fran had loved Matthew with all of her heart and losing him had been an ordeal that had nearly destroyed her, but she knows that she has a lot to be thankful for. Not only does she have a career that gives her a lot of satisfaction, but through her work as a volunteer with an organization fighting for world peace, she hopes never to have to live through another war ever again. Fran has made a new life for herself at the Nightingale hospital, but when a face from her past makes a sudden and unexpected appearance, she is surprised when long-buried feelings come rushing back to the fore. Will Fran grab this second chance at happiness with both hands? Or is she too frightened to put her heart on the line for a second time?

Helen Dawson has had a tough couple of years. When she had met and fallen madly in love with Charlie, Helen had thought that she was going to spend the rest of her days by his side as his wife. But when a tragic accident had taken him away from her, she had found herself heartbroken and alone. Throwing herself into her job as a nurse at the Nightingale Hospital soon proved to be her salvation and when she is offered the chance of promotion – thanks to her mother’s interference – Helen is initially reluctant as she wonders whether she has the necessary experience to take up such an important role.
Read more ›
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse