Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
39
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2017
Love this album and genre in particular. Decided to splash out on this as I was listening to a lot of Hair Metal /Rock on vinyl. I was disappointed with the stunning shiney artwork and the purple 180g vinyl.

Sounds great. Such a refreshing blend of rock, blues and metal influences. For fans of 80's Hair Metal / AC/DC / Aerosmith.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2009
The clearest memory I have of Cinderella is fighting though a bedraggled crowd, in freezing cold rain, at the 1987 Monsters Of Rock Festival, when the introduction to `Once Around The Ride' was being cranked into life. The contrast between the surroundings and the bands daft moniker is as stark as the contrast between the cover on this cd and the music contained within. The cover sports possibly the worst example of hair metal known to modern man (or was that Dokken on Under Lock and Key?)- a riot of massive puffed up hair, big lipstick, sashes and laughable pouting from the man called, er, Fred- and there it is again, that daft band name, in big pink letters, lest you forget... So you'd have to be pretty hardcore to work past the sleeve and get into the music.

And boy is it worth it. This is a great debut album. Spawned from an effective coming together of the pop sensibilities of Aerosmith/early Skid Row and the harder bluesy sound of AC/DC this thing rocks big style. The big riffs just keep coming from the churning Push Push to the stabbing Somebody Save Me, born aloft on a massive drum sound. And it's not all black and white. Like the Skid Row debut (also Bon Jovi finds) there is the half decent ballad in there (Nobody's Fool) and the atmospheric churning title track. This is a great summery, feel good cd but I do wonder how many people never made it past the cover - perhaps this lesson was learned, as the follow up album just had a white sleeve....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
When I first heard Nobodys Fool, on YouTube, I was blown away. I love eighties rock, glam rock, hair metal, whatever you want to call it. But I only spent three years in the eighties before the doors were closed. I'd never heard of Cinderella till that point. Then I went straight on here and downloaded three albums of theirs. I love Cinderelka music, Tom Keifer has an amazing voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
I used to think this was the pinnacle of rock perfection. Some 20 plus years later alas it does not quite evoke the same charm. It is still, however, a very good hard rock album. The front cover is hilarious and should be put in a museum but the music belies the image considerably. They are all gifted musicians and most of the songs are passable, bluesy rockers.

Best are the title track, 'Shake Me', 'Nobody's Fool' and 'Somebody Save Me'. The rest are all still very good, just nothing groundbreaking. Better was just around the corner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Cinderella had everything an 80's Hair Metal band could need. They had Big Hair, check. They had the songs, check. They had the look, check. They also had a secret weapon, Tom Keifer's distinctive voice.
Shake Me has appeared on many 'Best of the 80's' compilation cds, but here you get 10 tracks of bluesy, rock 'n' roll. Cinderella prove why they are one of the 80's best rock bands.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
Not as great as the follow-up "Long Cold Winter" but still worth getting. I saw them live in the USA in '89 and have always loved them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
brilliant album,i dare you not to sing along while playing your choice of air instrument.tom keifers vocals are screamingly poweful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
found my vinyl copy of this recently and can't play it, so just had to get the cd. Amazed it was still available. For all the boys look like victims of an accident with a spin-dryer, I love the sound they make. Off to embarrass the kids by putting this in the car for the next school run!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
If you are into heavy Rock you will like these
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
This is a great album. Maybe their best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)