Nielsen: Little Suite, Gr... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by positivenoise
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Available for immediate dispatch. Ships from UK.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Nielsen: Little Suite, Grieg: Holberg Suite, Stenhammar: Serenade

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £6.76 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
10 new from £3.19 5 used from £2.30
£6.76 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Frequently Bought Together

  • Nielsen: Little Suite, Grieg: Holberg Suite, Stenhammar: Serenade
  • +
  • Stenhammar: Symphonies & Piano Concerto
Total price: £18.09
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Orchestra: Royal Stockholm PO, Helsinki Strings, Norwegian Radio Orchestra
  • Conductor: Sir Andrew Davis, Geza Szilvay, Ari Rasilainen
  • Composer: Wilhelm Stenhammar, Edvard Grieg, Carl Nielsen
  • Audio CD (25 Feb. 2002)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Warner Apex
  • ASIN: B00006372A
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 164,764 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. "Serenade, Op. 31 - I Overtura"
  2. "Serenade, Op. 31 - II Canzonetta"
  3. "Serenade, Op. 31 - III Scherzo"
  4. "Serenade, Op. 31 - IV Notturno"
  5. "Serenade, Op. 31 - V Finale"
  6. "Holberg Suite, Op. 40 - I Preludium: Allegro vivace"
  7. "Holberg Suite, Op. 40 - II Sarabande: Andante"
  8. "Holberg Suite, Op. 40 - III Gavotte: Allegretto - Musette: Poco piu mosso - gavotte"
  9. "Holberg Suite, Op. 40 - IV Air: Andante religioso"
  10. "Holberg Suite, Op. 40 - V Rigaudon: Allegro con brio"
  11. "Little Suite, Op. 1 - I Prelude"
  12. "Little Suite, Op. 1 - II Intermezzo"
  13. "Little Suite, Op. 1 - III Finale"

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

This release in Warner's budget Apex series cleverly offers a compilation of three hugely enjoyable Scandinavian orchestral works, with the famous Grieg Holberg Suite as a hook that might encourage listeners to try out two slightly less well-known pieces. Go for it!

The big draw for me is a superb performance of Stenhammar's Serenade for Orchestra, originally coupled on CD with the First Serenade of Brahms, on the Finlandia label. This is probably the most sheerly enjoyable music this fine Swedish composer wrote, and I'd strongly encourage anyone with a taste for Romantic orchestral music to give it a whirl. It's led - unexpectedly, to me at least - by the British conductor Andrew Davis, but with a Swedish orchestra, the Royal Stockholm Phil, who play as though they have this music in their blood. Davis directs it superbly. The performance is cut from similar cloth to the classic 1970s account by Stig Westerberg with the Swedish RSO, but in more modern (1998) sound. Just occasionally I find Davis' caressing of particular phrases a bit mannered, but on the whole this is a triumph. In particular, Davis sets just the right tempo for the gorgeous Canzonetta, played as a wistful waltz (Neeme Järvi takes it much slower, to far less effect, in his earlier BIS recording; his DG remake is much better here). But it all goes well: the overture fizzes and enchants, the quartet of French horns whoop with Richard-Straussian delight whenever they get the chance... What a pleasure this is.

The Grieg is played by the Helskinki Strings directed by Géza Szilvay, a new name to me, but it's an excellent performance, nicely-scaled (they sound like a biggish chamber orchestra), well-paced and played with great affection in a pleasantly resonant acoustic.
Read more ›
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x99ed6fb4) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9a1d5c0c) out of 5 stars Excellent Disc of Scandinavian String Works 16 May 2013
By JohnK - Published on Amazon.com
This disc pulls together familiar works by Grieg and Nielsen, along with a lesser-known piece of considerable charm by Stenhammer. Both the recording and performance quality are excellent, but buyers should shop carefully as this disc is intended to be offered at budget price.
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x99e45d98) out of 5 stars Grieg's Holberg Suite is familiar to me from the soundtrack of the Richard Gere movie, Yanks. 27 Jan. 2013
By Roger Todd - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
This music will stay with the listener forever. Grieg really wrote an excellent series of pieces in this suite. One of his best, but perhaps less well-known works.
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x99e5c618) out of 5 stars Some of Grieg's best, beautifully done 16 July 2014
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Some of Grieg's best, beautifully done
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category