Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
66
4.2 out of 5 stars
Nick Of Time [DVD] [1996]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 June 2017
This isn't the usual type of film I tend to watch, but after watching the trailer, I thought I'd give it a go..

I'm glad I did. The storyline starts straight away and keeps moving all the way through; there wasn't one second that didn't fit in with the storyline, no pointless "filler" scenes.

Would I recommend? Yes.
Would I watch it again? Most likely, but it's not one I'd watch more than a few times as it relies on the suspense.

Overall, an excellent film I'm glad I watched
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
5 stars thank you very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2017
Very pleased with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
good movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2003
This film stands on it's own whether you're just a general thriller fan or if you're a huge Johnny Depp fan.
The "real-time" aspect is really pushed by the makers of this film but you don't even notice it or think about it when you're watching the film - whether that's intentional or not is another matter !
The premise of the story is in another review so I won't add to that, but I will say it's the type of film where you really want to jump into your TV screen and help out Depp's character as almost right to the end of the film you just cannot think of any possible solution to his plight.
Any intelligent film fan KNOWS he'll resolve the situation (they always do!!!), but the film gets extremely tense as you convince yourself he won't get out of what he has to do.
Special praise for Christopher Walken, he really does make a fantastic baddy on this film and you feel like he is agrravating you as the viewer, not just Depp in the film.
Depp is also excellent, I'm a fan of his stranger works and wasn't sure how he'd fare in a more straight-laced role but it's a testament to his acting abilities that he is totally believable.
This is an almost unheard of film and one I have never seen broadcast on TV, I'm not even sure how it fared on the cinema.
Do yourself a favour and buy this - then be content in the knowledge that you've got yourself a gem that has been completely missed by the public en masse. It's not as if you can even argue with the price either.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2006
A film that will make you a Depp fan forever, add Christopher Walken who has Christopher Lee like talent for horror & a masterpiece is born. Sadly because of their brilliance the rest of the cast become almost irrelevant.

A split second introduction & off we go on a movie rollercoaster ride. Action packed, tense, & gripping to the end. True it's a theme that's been used before & yes there are a couple of "no way" moments but with so much action who cares.

Apart from being a crack marksman JD plays a very ordinary guy with no hidden superman qualities. Walken is a no nonsense leader of an assassination team. Both play their roles so realistacally you almost forget they are actors.

The lack of high tech gadgets & lunatic car chases makes this film that little bit special & with 95% of the action totally possible it's a MUST SEE thriller. The critics don't agree, the poor things are lost for words when a film isn't the biggest budget of all time, doesn't have a highly controversial script or can't claim to be the most special effect packed blockbuster ever.

We the public have a different view, we just want a cracking good motion picture we can say we are glad to have watched.

JimP
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 December 2003
This is the first film I have seen that is shot in 'real time'.
This makes you all the more aware of the situation you find the main character in.
Johnny Depp plays an average guy whose daughter is kidnapped by two corrupt police officers.They then blackmail him into shooting a complete stranger or they will kill his little girl.Christopher Walken is his usual sadistic self here.I'm sure he was born to be bad!
The regular glances at the time keep you on the edge of your seat as you ponder how Depp is going to get out of this awful situation, if indeed he will.
I found this a real gem of a thriller and hope you do too.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2006
I loved this film and from the first five minutes I was hooked wanting to know how Johnny Depp was going to get himself out of the situation.
This film is shot in real time which gives it a sense of urgency which is exactly what you are supposed to feel. As the time ticks down you become acutely aware of how little time if left and I certainly couldn't think of what to do next.
I thought Johnny Depp was excellent as the terrified father and as always Christopher Walken was excellent as the badie.
There was nothing I could fault in this film and personally I think it's one of the best films I have seen in a long time, it's great when something really grips you. So many films tick along nicely but this one grabs you by the lapels and doesn't let go until the final, rollercoaster end. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2005
For all those 'critics' who think this film is rubbish they should seriously reconsider their occupation. This must be one of the best films i have ever seen, and to be honest it made a Johnny Depp fan out of me.
The story line has been explained in previous reviews so i wont go into that but the script, acting abilities and excellent use of 'real time' make it suspenseful and extremely realistic, almost as if you could actually walk into the movie and experience everything.
Johnny Depp and Christopher Walken both show their abilities as actors and portray their characters in the best possible way
this is possibly one of the most exciting storylines i have ever seen, i just cant say enough good things about this movie.
Johnny Depp fan or not this film is definatly a must see
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
Johnny Depp (Pirates of the Caribbean) stars as everyman Gene Watson, who is travelling home after the funeral of his wife, along with his very young daughter Lynn (Courtney Chase). As they pass through Union Station in Los Angeles, they are accosted by sinister duo Mr.Smith (Christopher Walken-The Deer Hunter) & Miss Jones (Roma Maffia-Nip/Tuck) claiming to be police officials. But as things unfold, they have ulterior motives, and Gene is faced with the ultimatum that he has 90 minutes to get to a Hotel, and then assassinate governor Eleanor Grant (Marsha Mason-Goodbye Girl), or his daughter will be killed.

Overall it's a nice little movie, that in the way it is produced & filmed, even the soundtrack, it is reminiscent of the classic Alfred Hitchcock suspense and psychological thriller's that made him a household name. The film plays out in real time, which is a nice touch as it helps add too & build up the tension & suspense of the situation that we follow Depp's character through, as the clock dwindles down & all parties involved become more desperate and on edge. One thing that Nick of Time does lack, is action. Which is likely why it flopped at the cinema, due to it not quite having that type of attention grabbing element to it, and when you consider it was quite a bumper year for action movies with the likes of Heat, Braveheart, Bad Boys, Judge Dredd & Crimson Tide to name a few. It's easy to see how this got lost in the cracks of cinema, but nonetheless Johnny Depp & Christopher Walken put in very worthy performances, they pick up & make the film more worth while watching with they're respected roles, particularly Walken, with one of his impressive character acting performances. Depp is obviously playing things low key, but comes into his own late on in the film. Charles S.Dutton (Alien 3) also puts in a decent performance, as a Hotel lobby shoe shine war veteran Huey.

In conclusion, Nick Of Time is a movie that slipped through the cracks of mainstream cinema, but it's certainly worthy of your time if you like Hitchcockian style suspense or just simply Johnny Depp. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)