Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9


on 24 May 2017
fantastic, thought provoking piece of musical theatre. Sensitive handling of difficult issues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2012
If you have seen the musical, it is simply a must have. If you have not, go see it.
The songs are amazing, for either background or to listen carefully and the lyrics are really good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2016
One of my most favourite soundtracks, if you want something deep still with some humour definitely go for this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2016
Love love love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2009
The music on this CD has been compared to Rent, Spring Awakening and other modern-day rock musicals but infact it is completely different. The music is much more diverse ranging from ballads, country, do-wop, rock and traditional musical songs which grow on you with repeatedly listening. The cast of 6 are all excellent singers and you can hear the acting in the performances. I saw You Don't Know and I am the One being performed on the Tony Awards and instantly fell inlove with this musical. They are just 2 examples of the many fine songs on this CD. I went into a record shop last month and this was their most asked for musical CD and someone was even purchasing it as I walked in. If only the producers would bring it to London!
I am collector of all-things musical theatre and have 300 odd shows - this is in my top 5 (the others being Taboo, Miss Saigon, Bare and Parade). Not one bad song on it.
If you like originality, well-written scores and a fine story, this is the CD for you - go buy now!
Next to Normal [Original Cast Recording]
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2009
I knew nothing about this when I bought it, and on first listening it excited me. Is it another Rent, with interesting ideas explored with soundly composed and energetic music? The subject matter certainly grabs you, with a plot around family life and mental illness. The opening set is also dynamic and with some intelligent lyrics, and enticing musical moments. And there are enough other moments through the songs to grab your attention and hold you into an idea.

However, as you listen to it a couple times more it does not grow. In fact it wilts rather. Musically it is not diverse or intelligent, or tuneful enough. It is mostly just loud. There are no stand-out songs to raise it above the ordinary. The plot continues to seem interesting, and I would happily go and see the show to learn more. But the CD is now going to disappear into my collection to be nothing more than an interesting talking point.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2017
Music is exceptional and is performed by the original cast. I would highly recommend this to any musical fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2014
quick posting,happy with cd when it arrived
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2012
Even though I haven't seen the show, I really enjoy listening to the music again and again, and the story and characters come through the music vividly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Dear Evan Hansen (Original Broadway Cast Recording)
£9.99
Calendar Girls The Musical - Original London Cast
£10.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)