Buy used:
+ £1.26 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by japazon
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Takes about 10 to 14 days to arrive UK and all European addresses. Ships from Japan by e-Packet. - Transmit tracking possible.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

New Orleans Funk Vol.2: Saturday Night Fish Fry

Audio CD

3.7 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Soundtrack, 23 Jul 2001
Available from these sellers.

Product details

  • Audio CD (23 July 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Soundtrack
  • Label: Soul Jazz
  • ASIN: B00005LOCN
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  Vinyl
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 123,235 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Pass The Hatchet - Roger And The Gypsies
  2. Mean Man - Betty Harris
  3. Iko Iko - Dixie Cups
  4. Funky Soul - David Batiste
  5. Where Is Love - Eldridge Holmes
  6. Give It Up - Lee Dorsey
  7. Hung Up - Salt
  8. Little Liza Jane - Huey Piano Smith
  9. The Thang (Part 2) - Eddie Bo
  10. Soul, Soul, Soul - The Wild Magnolias
  11. Soul Train - Bobby And The Heavyweights
  12. Break In The Road - Betty Harris
  13. Hump Back - Eldridge Holmes
  14. Message From The Meters - The Meters
  15. Gris Gris Gumbo Ya Ya - Dr. John
  16. Don't Mess With My Man - Irma Thomas
  17. Cold Bear - The Gaturs
  18. Roll Call - Oliver Morgan
  19. The Next Ball Game - Inell Young
  20. Yes We Can Can - Lee Dorsey
  21. Ruler Of My Heart - Irma Thomas
  22. I Can't Help It - Smokey Johnson

Product description

BBC Review

This compilation bears the hallmark of quality that we have come to expect from Soul Jazz Records. Like their highly successful 100% Dynamite series of Jamaican ska, reggae & soul , this compilation has a geographical theme - the music contained inside is a wonderful collection of rootsy soul, blues, R&B and early funk that was gestated and recorded in the musical melting pot that was New Orleans during the 1960's and 70's. The tasty nuggets of sound contained therein is a well balanced selection that can satisfy the most picky of collectors without alienating those still finding their feet amongst the myriad of recent re-releases featuring sounds from this all-encompassing genre.

The stories and information contained just within the sleeve notes alone, paints a fascinating picture of the groundbreaking work that people like Allen Toussaint, Marshall Sehorn and Eddie Bo did to bring forth an amazing selection of music on various independent black record labels that laid the foundation for contemporary soul and funk of the future. But of course - it's the music - from the swirling Hammond funk of The Meters 'Message from the Meters' to the voodoo blues of Dr Johns' 'Gris Gris Gumbo Ya Ya' - the full spectrum of New Orleans bluesy foundation sounds refreshingly raw and quite electrifying in this age of faceless dance music and over produced r&b/pop. To the casual observer many of the artists listed may seem very obscure indeed but delving inside to the music reveals a mix of fantastic tracks that would set you back an awful amount of money if you decided to hunt down the releases in their original form. This is party music in its most primitive and funky form. Dig in and get down! --Greg Boraman

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 5 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

16 November 2004
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
2 August 2001
Format: Audio CD
5 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
9 November 2001
Format: Audio CD
8 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
11 February 2002
Format: Audio CD
7 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
2 April 2007
Format: Vinyl
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?