Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

He's a fan of the Pistols, so this gift was perfect. All their CDs, some an informative book about the group, postcards and stickers. He absolutely loved it. It was perfect present. As a whole package it really is great, a sturdy presentation box and it feels significant.. Much better than socks or a jumper!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Wow. Get yer todgers out rock n roll. Girls, improvise
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Great presentation for a deluxe set, every deluxe reissue should be like this one in terms of presentation. About the content, it's a shame that the "Anarchy In The Uk Video" wasn't included, as well as others song from different sessions. Even that, the dvd material is great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
:-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Never mind the Bollocks . The Definitive punk album . An absolute classic!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
Delivered very quick great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2012
GOD SAVE THE SEX PISTOLS SUPER DELUXE BOX SET REVIEW

Superbly packaged in a heavy duty box, this package is a Sex Pistols fans dream, for the completist or someone new to the group.

The 100 page diary, with it's many unseen pictures is a great read, the NMTB replica poster, NMTB stickers, God Save The Queen hand written lyrics replica and God Save The Queen A&M replica are also nice to have, but surely the music and DVD's are what we're really buying this for.

Disc One: Never Mind The Bollocks. The album has never sounded more in your face than this, with improvements in clarity, depth and tone, a great re-mastering.

Disc Two: B-Sides, Demos and Out-Takes. The B-Sides are given the same treatment as the album, whilst both the Chris Thomas and Dave Goodman Demos all sound better than we've heard before, the only disappointment is the muddy, almost inaudible vocal on the until now 'lost' Belsen Demo. Rotten's vocal is so low and it sounds like he was in the studio next door. Much of the interest around the box set played on the inclusion of this track, but it's a bit of a let down if I'm being honest.

Disc Three; Live soundboard recordings from Scandinavia, Trondheim has been available before on the Kiss This release from 1992, now available in complete form as opposed to on vinyl bootlegs.

So onto the DVD. Julien Temple has finally lets us see his seemingly unedited footage from the infamous 'Jubilee Riverboat Party', rather than the brief glimpses we've seen before the footage captures a band being followed like they were 'terrorists' sailing down the river to blow up Parliament, Police boats follow the whole journey, which begins with the band onboard witnessing the disdain from onlookers.

There is some great footage of the gig onboard and as the boat comes in to Dock Richard and the Police board to bring proceedings to a close, Richard Branson informs them that the only reason is that it is The Sex Pistols and if it were any other band they wouldn't be interested. True, but any headlines are good publicity, except those you're currently getting from what Virgin are doing to maximize profits whilst lowering quality in areas of the Health Service Virgin have invested in hey RB.

The Stockhom gig from 28th July features six songs from the Sid Line-Up excitingly captured with great sound, far better than on any bootleg, there's songs from the Winter Garden gig in Penzance, during the Spots tour, the videos including one created for 'Holidays In The Sun' and audio interviews from 1977.

The only short comings in my opinion are the non-inclusion of The Bill Grundy interview, surely this would have set the scene nicely at the start, and will Julien Temple ever release footage from the Christmas Day Ivanhoe's Huddersfield gig. We've seen bits of it, with the band having a Christmas Party with the kids. It was their last UK show and it would have fitting to show the band having some fun after this tumultuous year and a Grand Finale, as the gig wasn't half bad either. Maybe one day Julien.

That said all in all this is a great package and makes a terrific Christmas present.
55 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
I remember getting this back in 1977, the sheer excitement of just looking at it, the amazing feeling that I had when I first heard it - I'd never heard music like this before, it was just incredible, I couldn't wait to tell my friends about it, both the initiated and the uninitiated. This album changed my life along with the course of music - I loved the Ramones but this was far more powerful, I've loved other albums by other bands, better produced, better written etc but even the better albums don't even come close to this, this was a musical revolution, even the cover could offend at 3000 yards and probably still does to the sensitive.

Anyway, I purchased this for the 13 year old son of a friend who wanted to start a vinyl collection - In a way I feel sorry for him because all the great albums have already been released, I can't see many bands topping what's been released in the last 60 years. So it's already out there for him to just wander along and discover - there'll be no seismic moment when he plays this, Nevermind, the Stone Roses or Morning Glory for the very first time and thinks that that's the band for him because they're now in the past and there'll be nothing like this again, ever.

He still likes it though and plays it loud. I'm going to pass some of my other albums on to him then I'm going to stop so he can go out and do his own crate digging, it's much more fun when you find it yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)