Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2017
Can I help it if I love Scotland? My grandfather on my dad's side was born in Blackburn (which I believe is a suburb of Edinburgh).
I never met him as he died in 1959 at age 59, and I was born in 1978.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
Bought as a gift. The recipient said he enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Very good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
Bought it as a present for my grandad. ALl he ever reads is books on Scotland and local history, but there were lots of things in this book that he didn't know so he really enjoyed it. Would deffinately recommend it.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Purchased as Christmas gift for a friend who is considered to know a great deal about Scotland. She has made a number of interesting discoveries from the book!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2009
An excellent little book, hard covers too. Well written, witty and informative. No trip around Scotland should be without a copy. The text is clearly and logically laid out, county by county in alphabetical order and the sketches are an added delight. I cannot recommend this book too highly.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Mum and Dad in Scotland loved these stocking fillers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
This book has proved to be the best gift to my Scottish friends. It is full of interesting facts, humour and details which one tends forget in the passage of time. For all those who are not fully aware of Scottish geography or history this book is a mustread.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2009
Got this for my father's "Fathers Day" present. At 85yrs I thought he knew everything about his country. Although he is a very clever man and still very switched on, there are many bits of information about the entire country, which father was not aware (or had maybe just forgotten).

Anyway... a light read crammed full of interesting trivia and facts with places to seek out and see as a consequence.

A good read :)
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2009
Excellent book, good for dipping in and out and at this time of year a great stocking filler.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)