Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 13 July 2016
Another great read from Kosta. I did think that reverse breathing was required however. Great application of knowledge showing deep understanding of teachings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2009
Kosta Danaos second book is as interesting as the first but for me not as inspiring.
There does seem to be some repitition here (stuff from first book), but still a good read and he also outlines some simple meditations that are helpful.
As in the first book he describes in a bit more detail the different cultures who have their own method and description and symbolism of Qi/Chi, this is a good thing, it does show we must harness that which our ancestors knew about but now seems forgotten.
I saw some complaints on certain forums/guestbooks about the exercises he shows in this book, the complaints were "they are common meditations" or " nothing really substantial" This i found was pathetic, it seems that a lot of people are looking for a shortcut or fast track to internal skills, well, there are not any that i know of, not that i am some master or something but i do know that these things take time, we cannot run as soon as we are born, we have to learn to walk first.
Either way, hats off to Kosta, although i preferred the first book both books should be read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2002
2,400 years ago, the Chinese sage Mo Tzu taught that there were three kinds of spirits in the world - the spirits of heaven, the ghosts of men and the spirits of mountains and rivers. In this sequel to 'The Magus of Java', Kosta describes his encounter with the spirits of a mountain. The reader is also provided with a history of nei kung (inner power) practices that existed in various cultures around the world, as well as entertaining stories from the authors' teacher and other Mo-Pai students. This book is not an instruction manual on the levels of Mo-Pai training, as tradition does not permit this. However, the author has provided a set of safe meditational exercises that will benefit anyone wishing to start nei kung training.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2008
This book is a practical aspect of Nei Kung, or so said the author, Kosta Danaos. It is more of a glimpse than the full practices, and some of these practices were already been discussed to some extent in other Taoist and Chi Kung books. In this practical work, Danaos brought forth a further understanding of Nei Kung and the yang/yin dynamic, and a step by step guide for the mediation as a part of beginning on the path of Nei Kung.

The full details of the techniques on how to obtain the results of combining yin (passive energy) and yang (active energy) is not included in this work because, as according to Chang, he does not want to create "monsters." He was very selective when training other people and it is highly dangerous training (since it is mentioned that many had died in the process).

When first reading this book three years ago, I have to admit that I was quite obsessed with the idea of obtaining greater powers, and reading from this book, it sounds like an easy thing to do: spending hours and hours meditating on your naval and focusing all the physical energies into it, but it was not easy as it sounds. Perhaps Chang was distracting others from discovering the real method of such practice? Once I soon realize of such obsession and how one can be led to a danger of wishful thinking, I have stopped doing these practices and focus on studying other traditions and histories. If one starts to explore psychic realms, one will never be able to succeed if one's psychological aspects are unstable or unhealthy as it would be a highly dangerous to practice such technique of complicated energy work and would likely results in death.

Nevertheless, it was actually this book that brought me to the attention of Nei Kung, Chi Kung, and other Taoist traditions to which I had never heard of before, and read a great deal of books on the subject. Also, from this book, I have learned a helpful technique of meditation for the purpose of centering myself, quieting my mind, and trusting my inner voice or abilities.

In conclusion, I have enjoyed reading this second book by Danaos as it is informative and interesting. This is merely a personal recount of the author's thoughts and further discussions of the meditative techniques with references to mythologies and legends.

However, it is best to read it with a grain of salt as I have learned the hard way.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
the book is a great read. only wish there was some way to link up with the author. anyone who knows how to reach the mr koasta please leave a comment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
While I truely enjoyed reading the author's first book on this topic (The Magus of Java) I am also truely disappointed by this revamp of the introduction to Mo-Pai Nei Kung. The title does not hold its promise, exept for a very shallow introduction to meditation. There are many better books and media that do this trick already. The rest of the book are personal musings, wild pseudo-scientific speculations, personal moralism, and redundancies from The Magus of Java. Quite boring to read it a sevond time, and not helpful at all to follow the unrestrained spill of could-bes ans should-bes. I agree with the author's friend who hinted at the possibility that this author's "cup is too full" to comprehend his master's teaching. True renounciation on the spritual path begins with renouncing one's ego, and that means to shut up and listen, instead of straining people's energy and patience with irrelevant personal baggage. Aside from that, there is nothing 'secret' in the few teachings contained in this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2016
vague basic rubbish dressed as more, only sleepers will buy into this crap
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
not as good as some books I have read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
good story of a book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2016
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)