Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
163
4.2 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
have been a big fan of NFS since childhood. This game just adds up to my amazing experience of racing car games
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2011
One of the biggest racing games at the time is NFS, and since it's one of the top racing games, I did actually believe that it did had some - if not alot - hold to realism, but at that account I pretty fast realized that I was ever so wrong. It is a beautiful game, but that is just about all what the game can handle. If you drive as the police, the civilian cars obviously haven't got a clue about moving to the side, when a police car with siren is near. If it was only that, it would still be a great game. But if you also look for a bit or alot of realism, don't even bother of thinking about buying this game. If you have not some police car chases, you probably know about the PIT maneuver. And why not use it in this game - since it obviously would make it easier stopping the racing cars. But no, you can't peform the PIT maneuver, guess there just wasn't enough time to put that bit of realism into the game. And the weapons you can use, realistisc or not, they are pretty much to no use. Fx when you hit a car with the EMP, it can still drive at pretty much the same speed, as before it was hit. So all you can do, to stop the cars, is just pedal to the metal and hit 'em as hard as you can - no smart maneuvers, no fancy weapons.
And one last thing: each race start with this little "intro", and you can press X to skip it, but even if you skip it (which you will after you have seen the race intro a couple of times) you are pretty much forced to see the whole thing anyway.

Conclution: if you want a fast game, that doesn't have that much hold to the real world, NFS HP is a great game, and you'll probably have loads of fun with it, for alot of hours. But if you are looking for a game with realism, sort of like Gran Turismo, but faster, save yourself the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2011
The Need for Speed franchise seems to be having an identity crisis of late, there seems to be a different type of NFS game arriving round the corner at any given moment. With the successful first steps into track racing with the decent Shift, here is the re-imagining of the successful early noughties franchise, Hot Pursuit.

The NFS series, had got itself stuck into a little bit of a hole of late. With the series in its magnitude of different forms struggling to find its self amongst a wealth of series of different racers. The series lacked any real direction, and relied on different ideas from different games, without offering anything of its own to spice up a busy marketplace. Shift, was a welcome turnaround for the franchise, and Hot Pursuit, successfully, continues these first steps into becoming a franchise of critically, but also commercial acclaim.

I enjoy most racers, i love the deep sim esq qualities of Gran Turismo, the fast and involving F1 title from Codemasters, and the pure arcade experience from Criterion's Burnout series. I enjoy all, because they offer something different, and NFS HP, to varying success can be added to that list.

And its with courtesy of Criterion, that we have this new arcade racer. The game is essentially split down the middle, you are either a Cop, or a Racer. There are about 4 or 5 ways to play each side, and its upon this that the single player campaign is built upon. The wealth of different ways to play Cops n robbers is a delight, and adds real depth to what is essentially a series of different events placed upon a map. The more races you complete, the more events (and cars- which are rewarded to you at a great rate to give a sense of progression) you unlock. You are going to be split down the middle on the single player mode, some will essentially see it as group of races to get through, but others will get sucked in it by two impressive features.

The first is Autolog mode, in which the times of your friends results on each event are posted upon a 'speedwall'. Simply beat their times to go top of the wall. If you have many friends, this is a great side feature that adds that replay-ability and competition that the game desperatly needs.

The second feature is obtaining Golds on each event. I have been really drawn in by this- not just as a trophy/achievement, but because getting Golds, is actually quite tough, and rewards driving at your limit, learning the game, tracks and shortcuts. It builds upon its gameplay, learning it, and trying to utilise everything you have learned, and putting it into practice and pushing yourself to get that all elusive gold medal. Its a great feature, and a great challenge that really for me adds so much depth to a what is a essentially a pretty flat single player mode.

The gameplay is pretty solid, but could do with some tweaking, because, at times, this game is seriously frustrating. Really Frustrating. The gameplay is of a pretty standard affair, Fill your boost by driving in and out traffic, drifting, and using any weapons you have by taking out other racers/cops. If you played any other racer, you know what you are getting here. But... the driving mechanics are a bit wayward. Every time you think you have, especially the drifting, nailed down on how to do it, you won't and you can't really put down why you havn't drifted around a bend and ended up in a barrier. The actual drifting is fine, and its as fun and rewarding directing your car around a bend has Outrun was, but it initiating the drifts that sometimes don't always work, it is odd to explain, but i'm sure others will know what i mean.

When you are putting a great run together, its often the case, and not good for the heart and mind, that you will come across something, anything that will ruin your time. Crashing. Into cars in the line of a drift, into cars coming over hills when you can't see them, coming onto a straight but there are cars either side of the road in the same place which leaves you nowhere to go, cars coming out of nowhere from blocked off routes.. GAH!. thinking about it makes me mad!

But essentially the gameplay is fun, fast paced, and somewhat addictive, especially obtaining those golds! It has pulled me back time and time again, and look forward to throwing a great wealth of cars around. The tracks are well designed, flowing curves, interesting take on shortcuts (some are longer and used as escape routes), and a variety of vistas. The handling is great and has a decent weight to it at top speed, but shockingly bad at low speed when trying to recover after a crash.

Online mode is superb. 3 modes are offered, Hot pursuit (cops vs robbers, 4vs4) Interceptor ( 1vs1) and general racing. Hot pursuit is fantastic, intense, and deceptively stragetic (Where and when to deploy road blocks), its a great game online, and will give anyone bored of shooting things a great week or so with it online, and back for more now and again.

NFS:HP, like Shift, is a great re-imaging for what was becoming a stale and stagnant series, the developers realise the fun and excitement is to be had in its gameplay, and not flashing lights, how it looks and a world decorated in neon. Its a great game to have on the side to work through as you play through something else.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2010
If you're aware of the Need for Speed games up to this point, forget them now - this is Need for Speed in name, Criterion in nature. Having played both NFS: Undercover (which was, in my view, appalling) and NFS: Shift (which wasn't as bad but certainly not fantastic), I would have forgiven myself for not bothering with this, even if I do remember playing and enjoying old NFS games on the PC that featured racers and cops chasing each other. However, knowing Criterion were taking the reigns on this NFS my interest was revived and the game they have created is everything you'd want from an arcade racer.

The first point to note is this is not Gran Turismo - this is an out and out arcade racer designed to thrill and excite you, with high speed chases, crashes and thumping music (which you can change for your own songs, too). You can take part in two career modes, one for a racer and one for a cop (a nice feature is the fact events for both careers are on the same map so you can race a cop event and straight away afterwards have a go at a racer event without having to load up another career). The setup is pretty standard - take part in an event, do well, unlock cars and other events. NFS Hot Pursuit is pretty relentless in giving you new cars to play with and some events even let you test drive a car that you'll get later in the game (I had a great time in the McLaren F1!). Both careers involve you earning 'bounty' - essentially a levelling-up system (with a max level of 20) which earns you the cars. For example, as a cop, if you bust races before anyone finishes and drive skilfully, you get extra bounty. As a racer, drive to the limits, get lots of near misses and evade the cops to win races, then you get extra bounty. Both careers enable you to use gadgets to help you win races or stop the opposition. Cops can call in helicopters and roadblocks, racers can turbo boost out of trouble and both cops and racers can use spike strips and EMP - an electro magnetic pulse you can fire to stop your foes. While racing, the pace is incredible, especially the more powerful your car, and crashes are superbly done - for example, if racing as a cop and you bust a racer, the game will show a slow motion close-up cut scene of the takedown, before returning the game straight into the racing with your car positioned nicely on the track (so after the cut scene there won't be any frustrating crashes caused by you not being in control). The events in the career are suitably varied - not all racer events will be a pure race and not feature the police and some cop events are almost 'training' events, where you have to get from A to B as quickly as possible to see how fast your response time would be.

So far, so good, all the boxes get ticked - it's exhilarating, fast-paced, the graphics are super smooth, you have a plethora of cars to choose from and, crucially, as an arcade racer it's easy to pick up - if you're after the ability to tweak your motor so it's perfect for you, wait for GT5. This is a true pick-up-and-play racer. However, NFS Hot Pursuit has a few aces up it's sleeve, the best of which is Autolog. Autolog is a system devised to stir up the competitive nature in people - essentially, it logs all of your performances as well as those of your friends, and will offer you recommendations on what races your friends have a better time than you on. It also lets you know how many times a friend of yours has tried a particular race to beat your time. At the end of races it shows you where you place on that events 'speedwall' - a list of yours and your friends times. Other games have done this before, but the way it's presented in NFS Hot Pursuit is seamless - as soon as you sign in Autolog will let you know if your place on a speedwall has been affected, and if you do beat someone's time you can post on their wall letting them know you've taken their top spot - it's almost like social networking specific for NFS and, even if you don't think you'd be particularly competitive, it's all too easy to get the bug and start trying over and over to reclaim a fastest time taken away from you.

Another major plus point for the game is the creation of 'Seacrest County', the fictional area of the US where the game takes place. There's a little bit of everything in Seacrest - the roads are varied, with plenty of off-road shortcuts, narrow tunnels and glorious wide-open freeway routes and the scenery is every bit as good - you'll race past snowy mountains, through narrow forests and along the coast. Races take place at all times of the day and with all sorts of weather - races in the rain look especially impressive (especially when the track itself is freshly rained on), but my personal favourite is the night racing, where the blue and red lights of the cop cars fill the night sky, it's worth it just to see the lighting effects as you race through a tunnel!

As for negatives, it's hard to find any. Occasionally the game does get confused with where you are placed (in one race, the game told me I'd just taken first place and was around 11 seconds ahead of the other drivers, whereas in reality I was 6th. When I dropped to 7th, it did then show I was in 7th place). Also, as much as I enjoy having my own soundtrack to listen to while racing, the music continues after you've finished and while you're in the game menus - it would be nice to have the option of race AND menu music, or to just have my songs playing while I race. Also the lack of split-screen multiplayer isn't a gamebreaker for me but I can image for some it will be frustrating to just have solo play and online. Speaking of online, this is also exemplary, my favourite being a one-on-one chase against another player (one a cop, the other a racer), the thrill of the chase is incredible and nerve-wracking!

So, NFS Hot Pursuit - the bottom line is simple: if you enjoy a pick-up-and-play, plenty of speed and thrills arcade racer with over-the-top crashes, blistering graphics and a load of re-playability, then NFS is for you - especially with the Autolog system, Criterion have nailed that wonderful gaming sense of 'just one more go'. There's no modding, no tweaking, just pure adrenaline-fuelled racing. While I'm looking forward to GT5 finally coming out, there's no doubt that NFS will be a game I return to again and again.

***Quick edit to the review, I've read some other reviews with various criticisms that I wanted to address. Firstly, there is free roam, it's not proper free roam as there's no challenges, I believe the idea is more to give you a chance (if you wish) to learn certain sections of Seacrest if there's a race you're struggling on. Also, I have mentioned this in my review, but people seem to be confused - this is most definitely an arcade game. There's no manual shift and plays with the PS3 controller best of all. If it's steering wheels and gear changes, this isn't the game for you. Finally, while this is technically a NFS game, please don't expect it to be exactly like old NFS games - I've seen a lot of people responding to reviews saying that this isn't NFS. What's in a name? There's plenty of other NFS games still available, this is arcade all the way - Shift 2: Unleashed will be out soon, so if Hot Pursuit isn't your thing then hold on for that. As for me, I'm still loving this, online and offline merge seamlessly and autolog (which will be in Shift 2) works a treat. New DLC is pretty regular too, if a little pricey. Even though I've got platinum on this game, myself and my NFS buddies are still trying to outdo each other, getting precious seconds off of our best times (if anyone beats my time of 1.12.63 on Vanishing Point, well played to you!)
66 Comments| 93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
You need an activation code to play this game online! Or to download online content (new cars etc). The code is provided free with the game but it can only be used ONCE! so the code provided with a Used copy will most likely NOT work. The activation codes are available to purchase but cost $10 (£6.60ish) so it may be cheaper to buy a new copy if the price gap is less than this.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Having been a massive fan of GTA5 and its 'open-world' driving experience, I was looking for a car racing game that still involved some police pursuit action, and this game didn't disappoint. Despite being 4 years old, the graphics still look sharp, the 'takedown' replay is stunning, and the cars look and handle well, needing some skill in cornering and drifting to keep you on your toes.

There are lots of cars to unlock and drive, all of which look and sound great. You can drive as a racer or a cop, and both make for fun, engaging gameplay. For someone like me, more focused on action than actual serious racing, this game was a great buy.

My only 2 minor criticisms would be:

1. You can't go 'off-track', except for occasional designated shortcuts. I guess I've been spoilt by GTA's 'go anywhere, do anything' abilities, and in fairness this is a racing game, not an excuse for mayhem. The track barriers keep you from spilling off-road, which also makes for less fun, but at the same time it keeps gameplay flowing.

2. Tracks are limited. You experience many of the same tracks each time, the difference being made up for in driving different cars, in different light and weather conditions.

Bought second-hand through one of Amazon's reliable sellers, this game has proved great value for money and a thrill ride for someone like me who's more interested in action and rampage than serious racing. Don't let the age of this game put you off. Graphic quality and driving experience make this a definite player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
Having payed full price for this game I feel I am intitled to have my say, even if every single bad rating of this game has many comments complaining to the comments! I guess from the guys fake accounts to defend the game? Seems somewhat odd to say the least!

First thing I was very excited, I haven't played NFS since the Most Wanted title, which I thoroughly enjoyed regardless of the fact I could only reach 2nd... just!
I've played NFS since NFS 4 Road Challenge (completed) which got me into racing games (That and GT 2 of course). But Since I lost F1 Championship Edition to the new patch that made the cars like bricks (little taps and you go flying, they tap you you still go flying, they carry on like nothing happened!) It had somewhat reduced the love I had for racing games not to mention the poor handling most arcade games have a seemingly proud history for.

The first load was good, not long and the look was clean and easy to navigate, though I automatically noticed the lack of options you have, big for online but not alot for offline.
The free roam is like others have stated, just that free roam... no action, no police, no criminals to detain, nothing but open roads and the odd civilian car passing by. Very boring.

The first chase I did (loving shows like police, camera, action and Dog, the bounty hunter etc naturally I choose the defence of justice!) I was stunned that, even though I knew this was an "arcade style" game, that you cannot simply pit a car! (The simple but effective pit where you tap and move with the back of the suspect car with your front in order to send their car in a spin ultimately making the car come to a stop or atleast a slowed rate to box the car). The A.I. are bricks (unless they don't want to be, of course :P) So you can slam full speed into the opposing car or whack them full on at the sides and you will go flying but they will act as if nothing happened! Unless of course the "car health bar" is sufficiently lowered to do so, this again alters not for bigger cars but assumably on whether its a "big boss" car........... Yes, it is indeedy a full on blow your head off hooting fun of an ARCADE game! Maybe too much so, you'd maybe expect to play this for a pound in the local bowling complex but with the all powerful PS3 I think maybe a little more action injection is needed with the addition of driver imagination, in other words maybe this game could have used openmindedness rather than; "this is the level, you can only win it this way...". Also it surely shouldn't be too much to ask that you can REALLY pit maneuver etc! If the A.I. can do it so should you be allowed to.

I expected more from a top title like this. Go back to the old Most Wanted style NFS makers, you were better there. Much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 January 2011
Now this, THIS is how you make a racing game. Fast, fun, accessible and with the kind of ingeniously simple, easy to understand online integration that every game of this type should have. This is the perfect antidote for the overblown, overhyped, over-padded Forzas and Gran Turismos of this world and a genuine benchmark in simple yet effective game design. Criterion once again demonstrate why they are the masters of the racing genre with this, the best entry in the almost otherwise rubbish Need for Speed series by far.

Taking a "cops versus illegal road racers" scenario as it's central theme, Hot Pursuit doesn't have any pretensions to being grounded in reality, with Mario Kart style weaponry and gadgets at your disposal for taking down cop cars/racers. For example, the EMP charge, which you can fire at opponents red homing shell style to damage them and disrupt their vehicle, sending them crashing into barriers if you time it right. These aren't available in every event on offer, as there are a number of different play types and events to experience throughout the career mode, from straight races, time trials, pursuit(In which you take out racers one by one), test driving super cars... and all of this divided up by different vehicle classes. There is a lot to get your teeth into here, and while I don't doubt that some will bemoan the lack of ability to customise your cars beyond their paint job, I for one appreciate the ease and accessability of the game's structure, where there is very little time wasted on non-racing fiddling or tweaking of any sort and the game is set up so that any given event is a mere button press away, with a steady stream of incentives and rewards to keep you playing JUST ONE MORE RACE before bed time. The game plays just fantastically, with a tremendous sense of speed and easy to get to grips with handling with drifting that is actually easy to master and not a complete pain as it tends to be in far too many racers. I cannot stress enough just how easy a game this is to play, it basically just throws you right into the fun and doesn't require you to endure any steep learning curve to get good at it. This truly is the very peak of fun, accessible and expertly designed racing games.

Much has been made of the game's 'Autolog' feature, which gives you a continous feed of information from the game's other players on your friends list and the latest news from Criterion in addition to allowing you to post your best times and pictures to the "Wall" for your friends to peruse. This essentially creates a constant link between you and every other player on your friends list who is playing the game as you are playing any part of the game. For example, I was playing the career mode and completed a pursuit event with a pretty good time that I was a little proud of, then a couple of events later on the event selection screen I get a message informing me that one of my "friends" had just crushed that time I got and invited me to try and retake my position on my friends list chart by pressing R2 to immediately begin the event in question, and I spent the better part of an hour trying and failing to get back on top. It's this type of sheer compulsion to keep playing to do better than provides this game with near bottomless potential for coninued play, all thanks to some simple but extremely effective information tracking. It's the simplicity and ease of use that makes the autolog such an ingenious feature, and one I don't think I'd want to be without in any future racing game to be quite frank.

To top things off, the game is a technical marvel, with detailed, smooth running visuals with outright gorgeous looking car models. It's a fantastic looking game, with the only gripe I could offer being that the crashes perhaps don't look quite as good as they did in Burnout Paradise, but then crashing isn't really the point of the game I guess. Soundwork is decent, with a selection of music which I have to admit I've never heard of and that did nothing for me making up the soundtrack. Still, great sound effects if nothing else.

There's really no way I can put in any more plainly: If you like racing games, you need to get this game. It's fast, fun, gorgeous, accessible and has the potential to eat away hours of your time in the blink of an eye if you get some friends playing it. Sure it may lack anal customisation options and OTT "realism", but when it emphasises a fun experience over these things, why would you care? Buy it, now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
There are some truly bizarre negative reviews of NFS:HP on Amazon so far. Complaints about a lack of manual gear changing, a lack of steering wheel support, and dismissive remarks about the game being "too arcadey". An arcade racer too arcadey? Who would have thought it? Anyway, my gripes are about the actual content and not erroneous simulation aspects. Having seen a friend's copy of the game on PC, I was struck by how well defined the graphics were and how excellent it looked in full screen, therefore the rather washed out and letterboxed nature of the console versions came as a definite disappointment. My HDTV has a pretty big screen, but when large "cinematic widescreen" borders enter the equation, the viewable area of screen is greatly reduced. Then there is the graphical fidelity, which is a very noticeable step down from the PC iteration. Gameplay-wise, it's a very mixed bag. The races and police pursuits are fun, but these are almost outweighed at times by solo time attacks and police car races against the clock. If I wanted to drive around without on-road competition I wouldn't have bought a game called 'Hot Pursuit'. Then there are problems such as a lack of responsiveness at high speeds, making some crashes with AI traffic almost unavoidable, and there's also questionable collision detection. I compared Burnout Paradise: Ultimate Box back to back with Hot Pursuit, and there is little competition - the former is the better game in every department. NFS:HP is a really rather ordinary arcade racer, which is hugely overrated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)