Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
33
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2016
Not all of these poems are in fact "comic". Some are dark, which I do like, but not perhaps for younger readers. I mean, for example, I would not like to explain to a girl of tender years, how the poor but honest girl became ruined. On the other hand my grandchildren found Sam Magee's cremation dark but hilarious. Overall, perhaps a mixed lot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
Too much 'musical' padding. Long drawn out and utterly boring intro by Griff Rhys Jones. Poor selection of verse read by a group of incompetent amateurs. Definitely not up to the standard I would expect from the BBC. A resounding 'thumbs down' for this one!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 1998
While there are occasional glimmers, the book was rather a disappointment. Old favourites like the 'November Pig' are there but many of the poems beg the question of why they are included at all, especially some of the song lyrics. A reasonable selection of off-beam verse, certainly, but not the gem I had hoped for.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2003
I sat in my local bookstore for a good half hour the other day just giggling at this book and recieving odd looks from other shoppers. This is great. OK, some of the entries are a little obscure, but I challenge anyone to read Roald Dahl's little red riding hood without smiling. Especially when it gets to "the small girl smiled, one eyelid flickered..." Pure Genius. This book is brilliant.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2011
This selection of Humorous Verse is excellent. Thoroughly enjoyable and is really funny. Some old and some new some heard before and some by well known poets. Pam Ayres and Joyce Grenfell brought back memories . Keep by and read to bring out a special smile on your face. Margie of Cheshire
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2010
Some very amusing poems which my 10 year old enjoyed. Many are very "old english" and a bit complicated in theme for a child but there are enough to keep them interested and amused. The boys thoroughly enjoyed the more suggestive ruder poems!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2009
There is a good selection of comic poetry on offer here and is a good addition to `The Nation's Favourite Poems'. Some of the best comic poets are in there including Spike Milligan, Lewis Carroll and even Pam Ayres (remember her excellent little limericks on BBC1?). You've also got the likes of comedienne Victoria Wood right through to John Donne, who is better known for his metaphysical poetry, as well as some lesser known poets and Anons. Good anthology and good value.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
A very good selection of very funny rhyme,
I bought it for my mother.
Now she laughs all the time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
This is really quite good & contains many well-known comic gems as well as some new side-splitters.
Our favourite of the 'new' selection has to be Talking Turkeys, by Benjamin Zephaniah - this makes us both smile every time we read it.
What was disappointing was that some - like The Pig - were incomplete. The other verses are just as funny.
We also felt that with such a wealth to choose from, one example from each poet might have been enough - John Hegley, for instance. Amusing enough, but not to compare with other moderns, like Basil Ransome-Davies.
Anyway, I'll buy another couple of copies as Christmas presents: one for mother-in-law, who will remember some of the olden but goldens, & one for 14-year-old Lucy who will appreciate quite a few of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2010
lots of peoms that can be read aloud at gatherings. Good for a fun evening. A feel good book of fun and giggles.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse