£34.90 + £1.26 UK delivery
Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Sold by Music-Finder
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this item. Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The National Trust Music Collection Box set

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £34.90
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Dispatched from and sold by Music-Finder.
12 used from £0.96
£34.90 Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Dispatched from and sold by Music-Finder.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Frequently Bought Together

  • The National Trust Music Collection
  • +
  • The National Trust - Tranquil Moods
  • +
  • Escape From La
Total price: £86.72
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (17 Sept. 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: Bmg
  • ASIN: B00005NOUV
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 223,401 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Morning From Peer Gynt - Greig
  2. The Banks Of Green Willow - Butterworth
  3. Myfanwy - Parry
  4. Reflets Dans L'eau (Reflections Of The Water) - Debussy
  5. On Hearing The First Cuckoo In Spring - Delius
  6. Serenade For Strings, Op.20 (larghetto) - Elgar
  7. Adagio From Spartacus (Aka The Onedin Line Theme) - Khachaturian
  8. Phantasy For The Viola And Orchestra (Excerpt) - Bax
  9. Cornish Dance No.3 - Arnold
  10. Dance Of The Spirits Of Water From The Perfect Fool - Holst
  11. The Lark Ascending - Vaughan Williams
  12. Sailing By - Binge

Disc: 2

  1. Pavane - Fauri
  2. Dolly Suite - Garden Of Dolly - Fauri
  3. A Midsummer Night's Dream (Nocturne) - Mendelssohn
  4. Waltz Of The Flowers From The Nutcracker - Tchaikovsky
  5. Bell Through The Leaves - Debussy
  6. Clair De Lune - Debussy
  7. The Flower Duet From Lakmi - Delibes
  8. Lady Radnor's Suite - Slow Minuet - Parry
  9. Concerto For Flute & Strings (Andante) - Arnold
  10. Scenes Of Childhood (Trdumerei ) - Schumann
  11. Chanson De Matin - Elgar
  12. Chanson De Nuit - Elgar
  13. The Walk To The Paradise Garden - Delius

Disc: 3

  1. Music For The Royal Fireworks (La Rijouissance) - Handel
  2. Concerto For 2 Mandolins (Andante) - Vivaldi
  3. Divertimento K.136 (Andante) - Mozart
  4. Pastoral Symphony From Messiah - Handel
  5. Clarinet Concerto (Adagio) - Mozart
  6. F - r Elise - Beethoven
  7. Sense And Sensibility (Throw The Coins) - Patrick Doyle
  8. Emma (The Wedding & End Tales - Rachel Portman
  9. Chartwell - Anthony Phillips
  10. Nuc Dimittis - Burgon
  11. Flute & Harp Concerto (Andantino) - Mozart
  12. Water Music - Alla Hornpipe - Handel
  13. Dance Of The Blessed Spirits From Orfeo - Gluck
  14. Nimrod From Enigma Variations - Elgar
  15. Fantasia On A Theme Of Thomas Tallis

Product Description


The pleasure of a good compilation is finding a mix of the expected and unexpected, the familiar and unfamiliar. The former offers the calm of reassurance, the latter the frisson of discovery. This anthology of pieces, compiled by the National Trust, works superbly well, and in addition to fulfilling its advertised aim of being an aid to relaxation, is a mine of gorgeous little-known musical gems. The Slow Minuet from Lady Radnor's Suite by Parry is simply exquisite (and beautifully played by the English String Orchestra under William Boughton), as is the Phantasy for Viola and Orchestra by Bax. There are some excellent performances of the more popular pieces too: Kathryn Stott gives an ethereal account of Debussy's Reflets dans l'eau and the Britten Sinfonia sounds marvellously lush in Vaughan Williams' Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis. The liner notes make rather spurious and heavy-handed links between each piece and various properties of the National Trust, but this is a small drawback to an otherwise fine compilation. --Warwick Thompson

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Verified Purchase
Find this music easy on the ear, if like me just enjoy a bit of classical music without being to much a expert then this is for you.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?