£9.50 + £1.26 UK delivery
In stock. Sold by reissuesdirect

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Sold by: NorthernSoulDirect
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

In the Naked City

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £9.50
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 26 May 2008
"Please retry"
£9.50 £9.40
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by reissuesdirect.
7 new from £9.50 1 used from £9.40
£9.50 In stock. Dispatched from and sold by reissuesdirect.

Product details

  • Audio CD (26 May 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Kent
  • ASIN: B0017R5U0K
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 331,824 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Big New York - Chuck Jackson
  2. On Broadway - The Cookies
  3. I Love New York - Marva Josie
  4. In My Apartment - Dee Clark
  5. Concrete Jungle - Arthur Alexander
  6. Second Window, Second Floor - Clyde McPhatter
  7. No Pity (In The Naked City) - Jackie Wilson
  8. I Don't Want to Hear It Anymore - Jerry Butler
  9. A Quiet Place - Garnet Mimms And The Enchanters
  10. Three Rooms - Audrey Freeman
  11. In My Tenement - Jackie Shane
  12. Uptown - Little Eva
  13. I Found A Daisy (In The City) - Barry Darvell
  14. Nights In New York City - Jan Bradley
  15. Song Of The Street - Donald Height
  16. Strange Neighbourhood - The Imaginations
  17. Up In The Streets Of Harlem - The Drifters
  18. Those City Lights - Basil Bartlett
  19. That Old Neighbourhood - Eric Williams
  20. Street Talk - The Tymes
  21. No Butterflies - Walter Jackson
  22. City Of Fools - Colette Kelly
  23. Up On the Roof - Ralfi Pagan
  24. Spanish Harlem - Aretha Franklin

Product description

Product Description

* It used to be said that there are eight million stories in the Naked City. Here are twenty four such stories, depicting the happiness and hardships, the highs and lows of 1960s city life.

* All human life is here - from the anticipation of arrival in a Metropolis; the hardships of employment and unemployment; the finding and losing of love; and the escapes from reality that can be found `Up On The Roof'. Although many of these songs are set in and around New York, their message is pan-American and could just as easily apply to Chicago, Detroit or any other city where not all the inhabitants found that summertime meant that the living (or the loving) was easy.

* A host of soul music's most revered artists are assembled to tell this story, from Arthur Alexander to Aretha Franklin. Almost all of those who tell it sing from personal experience of having lived it.

* Those who feel a purchase coming on will be pleased to know that more than half of the inclusions are making their CD debut.

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 1 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 5 June 2008
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 reviews
2 people found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsMiles Archer
on 30 October 2008 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
4 people found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsWonderful Music
on 18 August 2008 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?