£7.99
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
This title will be released on September 21, 2017.
Pre-order now.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

My Mother's Shadow Paperback – 21 Sep 2017

4.3 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.99
£7.99
Promotion Message Pre-order Price Guarantee. 1 Promotion(s)


Man Booker International Prize Shortlist 2017
Take a look at our selection of Man Booker International Prize 2017 shortlisted books. Learn more
£7.99 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. This title will be released on September 21, 2017. Pre-order now. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Pre-order Price Guarantee: order now and if the Amazon.co.uk price decreases between the time you place your order and the release date, you'll be charged the lowest price. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Headline Review (21 Sept. 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1472241169
  • ISBN-13: 978-1472241160
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 737,385 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

An intriguing twisting story with a lush opening and beautifully descriptive writing throughout. I loved it (Dinah Jefferies, author of THE TEA PLANTER'S DAUGHTER)

A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose (Erin Kelly)

'Compelling, atmospheric and beautifully written...trembles with family secrets. I adored it' (Victoria Fox)

Book Description

A perfect summer. A young woman in love. And a shocking secret kept for decades... This is an unputdownable read for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore.

See all Product description

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
This item has not been released yet and is not eligible to be reviewed.
Reviews shown are from Amazon Vine™ members.

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
This is a novel of missed opportunities and secrets as well as hope for the future. The book is told from two different perspectives, through the pages of the diaries of Elizabeth Harington who is recently deceased at the beginning of the story and of one of her daughters, (Addie)

Addie feels she has never been able to live up to her mother's expectations and because of that while her mother was alive their relationship was often strained. It is only after the death of her mother and the fact the family have come together to mark the 1st anniversary of her death that a surprise visitor turns up. A Phoebe Roberts arrives on their doorstep claiming to be the long lost daughter of Elizabeth Harington, and not only that but Addie's twin sister.

Addie's other sister Venetia is less than welcoming to the prospect of a new sister. However, as things start to slide into place and information is uncovered Addie realises there was a lot about her mother that she didn't know. As she and Phoebe uncover their mother's past and form a bond as twin sisters do they learn how one of them was kept and one of them was given up for adoption. Set in 1999 as well as 1958 it gives insight to the changing attitudes towards single motherhood in the post war years and a modern age.

Addie is also an under appreciated pastry chef with yearnings to start her own café and trying to convince her best friend since childhood (Andrew) that she doesn't want to go into business with him is stickier than an iced bun. She has started to see him in a different light (which has been coming on gradually for a while) but doesn't 100% trust her feelings or that his might be warming towards her.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By JM TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 6 Mar. 2017
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
This is a lovely and quite sad story, which makes me so glad I didn't live in the 1950s, when attitudes were so different to today's and caused so much unnecessary heartbreak.
Addie's mother Elizabeth died in an accident a year ago, her family, particularly her husband, are still struggling with their loss. An unexpected visitor turns up, making the shocking claim that she is Addie's sister, a long lost daughter of Elizabeth. At first the Addie and her strident sister Venetia cannot believe it, but as Addie begins to investigate, she wonders if maybe Phoebe is telling the truth.
The strand set in the late 1950s sees young Elizabeth sent away from her London home where her mother is dying, she travels to a beautiful country house called Hartland to stay with the Shaw family, and a whole host of other young guests who have arrived for the summer. Here, an innocent young girl feels the first flush of love which sets in motion a string of events which will alter everyone's lives forever.
More of the book is set in the present day (well it's 1999), and I enjoyed following Addie and Phoebe's delving into the past to uncover Elizabeth's secrets and the truth.
This is an enjoyable read and I would look out for the author's next book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
The story is told in dual narrative through Elizabeth Holloway's diary with the present day from her daughter.Adele's perspective.This is the kind of book i enjoy.An emotional read about a youngster,Elizabeth,who goes to stay with her godparents daughter when her mother is dying.She naively falls for the son of the family she stays with and falls pregnant with far reaching consequences.Elizabeth dies as Adele founds out her past and pieces together the turbulent story of her mother's early life and the effect it had on her.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
This book took me ages to get into. I am not sure why but it just didn't seem to flow for me. At the start I got to the point if Addie mentioned she didn't get on with her sister one more time I would put the book down. It a so didn't seem to be a good fix in time certain things didn't seem to fit in the time frame. Also the weird relationship between Addie and her best Friend Andrew was a bit off. I think basically I didn't care about the characters which is a shame .
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
This book was well written but I personally found the story quite tedious. It dragged on and much of it was completely superfluous to the plot and felt like it was a contrived attempt at character development. In my opinion, the characters never seemed too authentic and neither did their relationships. I personally didn't like the story and felt it was very obvious.
Sorry but this book didn't work for me.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category