Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2014
On the surface a re-examination of Wyndham's 'Trouble with lichen', but perhaps more accurately summarised as a fast paced narrative in the tradition of 60s pulp-fantasy with a deeper nod to Mike Moorcock (particularly via his first 'Corum' trilogy; "Corum is a Vadhagh, one of a race of long-lived beings with limited magical abilities dedicated to peaceful pursuits such as art and poetry. A group of "Mabden" (men) led by the savage Earl Glandyth-a-Krae raid the family castle.. ").

In Westland's "Millennium Girl .." series, his core structural device is to transpose a grand (Eternal-Champion-esque) theme away from the realm of high anarchic 60s fantasy and embed it into a more recognisable, near-future chessboard sci-fiction led universe. There are more guns and RPGs here and fewer swords and axes.

Westland's writing is swift paced, like Moorcock and E.R.Burroughs, pulling the reader across the surface of his world - wherein several interesting scientific and philosophical counterfactuals are explored (cf. regarding power, the global 'elite' [echoes of a massive Bilderberg Group], long-life, immortality, health etc) .. However, whilst the relatively light treatment of character and description will work perfectly well for many drawn into the Millennium Girl's world, others may baulk at the relative lightness of characterisation, and sparseness of [the descriptive] prose; I guess, if this may be a problem for you, be forewarned - this book may not work so well for you. For everyone else into high post apocalyptic, female super-hero adventure, the Millennium Girl promises to be a series well worth checking out.

NB. It seems to me that if the publisher/author knows a good illustrator, the material would make an awesome setting for a [series of] graphic novel(s) in the tradition of "The Sandman", "Watchmen" etc.. Film rights anyone?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
Westland brings a fresh approach to the post-apocalyptic genre. The fast pace of the narrative is engaging, but this is at the expense of character development and depth. I wanted to know what it felt like in the bunker. The smells, the pressure of being cooped up, the quietness, the fears of outside. The book reminded me of a doughnut. Its arrival brought me pleasure, its departure left me hungry for more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Impressive first novel set in the near future. I was hooked from the first chapter, keen to find out how Amelia's story would pan out. Can't wait for the second book in the Millennium Girl Series to be published!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
You can't imaging the last when you first read it. It's a really good science fiction and you won't be boring with it. Very looking forward to the next one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Great book - A 'got to read'!!
It's gripping, thought provoking, clever and thoroughly enjoyable.
Hoping the Book 2 comes alone very soon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
Gripping novella with original ideas and scientific credibility. If you like John Wyndham you'll like this. Looking forward to the next one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
The plot was uncomplicated but full of action.
Ongoing plot twists
Keen to read Book 2
Read and enjoy !
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
I love this book. It's very interesting idea!!!
I'm looking forward to reading next series :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
I loved it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
Wonderful read from the first page to the last: excellent character development and well-paced, engaging narrative ... a great first installment!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here