Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
49
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Sheet music|Change
Price:£3.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 20 June 2014
For those unfamiliar with the format, ABRSM publish each year the previous years' exam papers. This set, as they all do, contains 4 past papers, the one set in the spring session, the summer session, the autumn session and an extra paper. I would recommend working through at least two different booklets for Grade 5 (ie 8 papers) if you want to be really familiar with the layout and get a good mark in the exam. These follow on nicely from the ABRSM Music Theory in Practice books but it's hard to get a really good mark from the books alone. Model answers are available separately should you need them.
I used to say to pupils it didn't matter what year past papers you got and to a certain extent it doesn't. However, I have noticed very subtle changes in the language and even questions over the 20 years I've been teaching this (I know, old!) so I now recommend pupils get the latest year they can - of which 2013 currently is.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
Excellent material to work on, after you have presumably finished working through the Music Theory in Practice books of the relevant level(also ABRSM). Every year has its own set of 4 papers published (this set is for 2013), so it is useful to work through timed papers from the last few years (I've used the 2009-2011-2012 papers and will be ordering this one too). I also use the Eric Taylor Music Theory textbooks, although note that neither are exactly child-friendly and even my first-year undergraduates felt a bit uneasy with the presentation; however the Music Theory in Practice workbooks continue to be the best option available, despite their own shortcomings. Note also that Music Theory Answers is always a separate publication- you can always check for clarification on the ABRSM website itself. Both the Papers and the Answers have very clear titles stating the content exactly, so cannot really be confused. As a teacher I don't use the model answers booklet, but perhaps somebody with less experience or a pupil would probably need to see them. Good luck in your exams!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
My daughter's piano teacher recommended getting past papers to practise. There are 4 in each booklet. There are no answers so you need someone experienced to be able to mark them (that's what the piano teacher did). Cheapest and most effective way to practise theory.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
It is Always very useful for candidates to try past papers in atime limit and see the laay out and mark allocation
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
good quality books to be use for exam use and practice, hopefully my son will pass his music exam in one go.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
This item is listed as Theory past papers and answers but does not contain answers. They have to be ordered separately; this should be made clearer.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
My music theory students love the past papers. We complete the theory in practice lessons first and then do the past papers. The past papers are excellent for highlighting student's problem areas which do not always show up in the general lessons. They are therefore, well prepared, relaxed, happy and confident going through to their exams.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
Good for exam prep. Contains 3 papers from that particular sitting. Doesn't come with any guide answers, otherwise it will be 5 stars! Need to go through with teacher or someone with sound musical theory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2017
Really useful for anyone approaching their grade 5 theory exam. As it's a previous test paper it gives a great example of the sorts of questions you can expect on the day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)