Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Music for Silent Films Import

Price: £2.27 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, 30 Oct 2000
£2.27 £2.19
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 3 months free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get three months free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases

Amazon's Alloy Orchestra Store

Product details

  • Audio CD (30 Oct. 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Accurate
  • ASIN: B0000059KS
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 629,442 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Metropolis
  2. Garden Of Earthly Delights
  3. The Clock
  4. Maria's Theme
  5. Escape From The Underground City
  6. Aelita
  7. Life On Mars
  8. The Blue Room
  9. Theme From Sylvester
  10. Cabaret Medley
  11. The Wind
  12. Burandi
  13. False Alarm
  14. Zone Of Silence
  15. Ophelia
  16. Deep Water
  17. Baptism Of Fire

Product description


With a passion for the zany but an ear for more conventional melody when needed, the Alloys offer the best of both musical worlds in this alternately appealing and grating collection of scores inspired by and made for equally peculiar silent movies. Included is the tasty but teasing one minute and 49 seconds of music to Victor Seastrom's The Wind, an exotic suite for the Soviet science-fiction comedy Aelita, Queen of Mars, and the savage percussion on First Night. But the most dramatic and listenable moments are for Fritz Lang's Metropolis. These five tracks fluctuate from eerie pulsations connoting the futuristic cityscape, hissing percussion to complement the clockwork of zombified workers, a romantic interlude of synthesized strings to commemorate the film's heroine, and a resounding finale aptly called "Escape from the Underground City." --Joseph Lanza

No customer reviews

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 2.6 out of 5 stars 3 reviews
Alan Sandler
1.0 out of 5 starsMisleading title
31 January 2013 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
John N
5.0 out of 5 starsThe best and most original silent film scores around!
28 September 2000 - Published on Amazon.com
11 people found this helpful.
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 starsThrilling music for films new and old
21 November 2002 - Published on Amazon.com
4 people found this helpful.

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?