Buy used:
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Mozart Arias

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 23 Jul 2001
"Please retry"
£31.78 £2.69
Available from these sellers.
2 new from £31.78 8 used from £2.69

Amazon's Barbara Frittoli Store

Product details

  • Orchestra: Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • Conductor: Charles Mackerras
  • Composer: Mozart
  • Audio CD (23 July 2001)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Erato
  • ASIN: B000059QV1
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 201,466 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. "Cosi fan tutte : ""Temerari, sortite...Come soglio"
  2. "Cosi fan tutte : ""Ei parte... Per pieta"""
  3. "Le nozze di Figaro : ""Porgi, amor"""
  4. "Le nozze di Figaro : ""E Susanna non vien !... Dove sono"""
  5. "Idomeneo, rè di Creta : ""O smania ! oh furie !... D'Oreste, d'Aiace"""
  6. "Don Giovanni : ""In quali eccessi, o Numi... Mi tradi quell'alma ingrata"""
  7. "Don Giovanni : ""Crudele !... Non mi dir"""
  8. "Concert Aria KV 528 : ""Bella mia fiamma, addio !"""

Product description

This disc of arias from five of Mozart's operas showcases the soprano Barbara Frittoli. When Graham Vick's ill-fated Don Giovanni featured in the 2000 Glyndebourne season, one of the few things that weren't booed was Frittoli's Donna Anna: a model of decorum, elegance and vocal poise amid the onstage carnage that confirmed her status as one of the outstanding Mozart sopranos of the past decade. Elviras, Annas, Fiordiligis and Contessas have become her stock-in-trade; and here they all are, represented on this disc (alongside an Electra from Idomeneo, and the mini-drama of the concert aria "Bella mia fiamma, addio") in singing of extraordinary musicianship and stature. Stature is the word, because although Frittoli is young, the voice is grand with a deliberate, diva-like imperiousness that seems to prize cultivation over spontaneity. And the tempi here are equally deliberate under the strong, though sometimes over-solid, baton of Mackerras. But no matter. These are classic readings of the standard arias and a useful document of the achievement of a rising star. --Michael White

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on 4.3 out of 5 stars 7 reviews
One person found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsExalted Mozart album, to be heard with Vaness and Hager on similar arias.
on 7 August 2013 - Published on
4 people found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsdrama and beauty
on 10 October 2001 - Published on
4.0 out of 5 starsUn disco de escucha obligatoria: Brava Frittoli!
on 24 October 2003 - Published on
3 people found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsBarbara Frittoli: A Sign of the Times
on 22 March 2005 - Published on

Look for similar items by category

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?