Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
62
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2015
Bought these radios to communicate with student and other groups working unsupervised on the Pembrokeshire coast. I have previously found it helpful to have radios of this type when working in quarries.

Very pleased with quality and satisfied with early tests so I'll be keeping them. One was accidentally dropped c.1m onto a hard surface and still works fine.

In tests, with clear line of sight, these radios can be used to communicate up to at least 8km even when the 'base' radio is inside a building.

As could be expected, they will not provide a means of communication if two radios are on either side of a ridge of high ground or a coastal headland, or if one radio is in a deep valley. In these conditions they sometimes don't allow communication even at 500m range.

As a backup, mobile phones are used to provide another means of communicating but these also don't work in some areas. Generally, I find the radios more convenient than using a phone.

In testing, the radios were good on open coastline, even when slightly higher ground was between the sets (worked to at least 6km).

Call tone is a useful function, and group call might also be needed. The storage case for the 4 radios is good but it would be helpful if protective pouches were also provided for radios when distributed individually for use outdoors. Lanyards are provided but I've had to buy pouches separately from a different source.

Weatherproofing not yet tested.

In summary, as I was already aware of the limitations of this type of radio, I am very happy with the purchase.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
These radios come as seen in a smart plastic high impact case, battery life is very good, quality build, just be careful when fitting the batteries, the seal on the door is very thin and delicate, also ensure it is seated correctly before you close the back up.

Range is very good including through buildings, not gone to the maximum range yet not had any need to.

I would recommend this product for compound security, construction sites and for families out and about
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
I needed a set of radios for a camping trip with my family and the T80 Extreme Quad was perfect! The carry case made it ideal for transport and meant that i knew exactly where each radio was when it came to handing them out to each family member. The fact that it comes with all the accessories you could need (lanyard and ear piece) when out and about is also very handy, much easier than having to find the right product and order it seperately. I would highly recommend this product for anyone thinking of holidaying in the great outdoors!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Only used it 3 times but perfect every time.

First time for no more than 1km but with lots of trees in the way and it was fine with a fair bit of static.

Second time out was to keep in touch with 3 groups of scouts climbing a mountain, worked perfectly up to 3km with no line of sight in hilly ground.

Third time was a baby monitor only around 50 feet and a few walls but perfect again. Will be buying more.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
An excellent high-quality PMR. I bought it for the kids and also to use on outdoor events. It's robust. It comes with some good accessories and good desktop chargers. And it looks flexible enough to add extras. Worth the extra money.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
Ideal for outdoor events. Four well made radios, complete with chargers and carrying case. Headsets provided haven't been very useful as few people, so far, have been able to get a comfortable fit. Bought separate headsets that fit better.
Versatile radios with group functions that are useful when used by people with limited radio experience. Little chance of competition for channels in rural areas - 121 channel codes there if needed, though (despite what some people think, these don't give any more channels - but they stop you getting everyone else's traffic so you're not getting interrupted unnecessarily).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
PMR Wilkie talkies have come on a bit in the last 5 years or so.
Bought 8 of these to replace our old ones which have just died.
Loads of features which will take some understanding.
One key feature I like is caller id for each unit.
I can now see who is calling without having to ask who it is because they haven't got a clue about radio procedures
Range says 10km on the box. I only need about 1 - 2km & they do that easily.
Will try them further a field when I get a chance
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
Excellent quality,easy to use,found these to be valuable safety aid.
Very good use for disabled people too,as contact is easy and has a good range too.
Also a spare one for us and one to give out to family for constant contact.
Highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
Bought these radios for my photography/video team to wear at Weddings. Work well over long distances, through concrete and stone walls and you can also hear well when whispering into the microphone during the wedding ceremonies. Battery life good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2016
Well Impressed

I'm a student and wanted some two way radios for side projects.
They arrived today and luckily enough I had a good few tests in store for them.
I do have some binatone terrain 750 radios which if you are looking for a toy are brilliant. they do match up with the frequency of these (both PMR 446 radios with the same sub channels)

My friend brought a car and we had to give it a tow so we used them for that and they were floor-less
I was managing to get a realistic range of 1km through salford at ground level and still be able to talk to the other side easily. I haven't tested much further but i don't think it would go more than 1.5km in a city.

I live high up in a building and can reach people from miles away with this radio from my room which makes me think that the realistic line of site would be about 5 or 6 km with perfectly audible conversation.

The group call function is very handy for pestering individual friends to go to the pub without calling them or disturbing the whole group. (and it is so much cooler to use radios than phones)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 20 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here