Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2009
This book explains why a motorcycle does what it does, and the proper calculations and physics for what we feel when we ride.

It isn't a recreational read, and doesn't have big glossy pictures of MotoGP riders, but it is big on real facts. And if you understand 10% of this then you will be a better rider for it. For an example look at material on centre of gravity - I'm still getting my head around it, but the little I do understand so far explains why the stuff I learned motocrossing actually works.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2010
Written by the late great John Robinson when he was tech editor for "performance Bike" (a british bike mag) This as someone else wrote full of maths & physics by no means aleisurely readBUT once read it will stir you to look at your bike how you ride it and why it rides as it does.

This book coupled with Chassis design by Tony Foale will give you real insight into why MotoGP bikes are so complex an animal. Maybe if you have ashed and a welder drive you to design your own bike chassis. Having been there done that it is a very satisfying occupation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
This book isn't for the beginner. It's a very detailed mathematically driven book which in its brilliance is a font of information and certainly opened my eyes up to new trains of thought. Having said that I am a beginner in this field and I was able to keep up with the author and not get lost along the way. It's riddled with mathematical formulas which represent such things as, Speed, Gravity, height and weight. It's not a book to sit by the fire and read with a cup of tea. Ideally you should take notes and highlight areas of interest or importance. If you intend to delve into the world of Moto GP racing then this book is a must have. If you're looking at building bikes then I'd still buy it and pick up as much information as you can from it. Not all will be relevant to the job at hand, but you will be a better designer and builder for reading this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2010
The book is typical of the late John Robinson's work thorough and well reseached.
I had the great good fortune to meet the man when he was the tech editor for performance bike (a UK mag)and got him to sign my copies. I still use them all these years later as reference when the grey stuff does not quite make the leap.

Anyone who is serious about getting the best out of their bike should at least read this book , once read you will want a copy as the background to the more detailed research with other authors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2012
A superb in depth book that will answer all your questions about how a motorcycle chasis works.Describes the physics involved in making a motorcycle go, stop and go round corners.Pictures and technology in the book are a bit dated(late 80's early 90's) but the physics still apply.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2012
Better than what expecxted, book is OK and really interesting. To be suggested (both book and seller) to many others! A bible if you're looking to fine tune a race motorbike
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2014
Easy to read, some good info, but also a little basic, and to short chapters. On just 175 pages you cant go in details.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
came on time, looks like a good book so far as a cross reference for other books, but a lot smaller than the picture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2016
Great book. Perfect condition. Happy that I bought it and would recommend it and the seller again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Brlliant....Nice one Amazon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)