A lower priced version of this book is available
Save £4.00 (50%) by choosing the Kindle Edition.
£3.99
Kindle price
£7.99
Paperback price

Save <span class="a-color-price">£4.00 (50%)</span> by choosing the Kindle Edition. Read now with the free Kindle app
Available on iOS, Android, Mac & PC.
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
For The Most Beautiful has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

For The Most Beautiful Paperback – 14 Jul 2016

4.3 out of 5 stars 57 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
£7.99
£5.37 £1.21
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • For The Most Beautiful
  • +
  • The Children of Jocasta
  • +
  • Circe
Total price: £28.34
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 496 pages
  • Publisher: Black Swan (30 Jun. 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1784160652
  • ISBN-13: 978-1784160654
  • Product Dimensions: 12.6 x 3.2 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 57 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 69,261 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"Once in a while something comes along that’s so utterly right, so necessary for now, that you wonder why nobody thought of it before. Emily Hauser’s stunning debut novel . . . brings ancient Troy wildly, raucously, passionately alive and tells at last the stories of those who really mattered." (MANDA SCOTT, bestselling author of Boudica and Into the Fire)

"A feast for the senses, richly described and effortlessly easy to read. It brings to life an ancient world long gone, and in so doing reminds us of the traumas and costs of war, which are sadly still so much a part of our world today." (MICHAEL SCOTT, presenter of Rome's Invisible City)

"A delight from start to finish. Hauser’s fresh perspective on one of the great archetypal epics, in focusing on the marginalised women’s stories, makes for fascinating reading . . . a clever premise and a thoroughly enjoyable." (ELIZABETH FREMANTLE, author of Sisters of Treason)

"In her sparkling debut novel classicist Emily Hauser offers a fresh take on the old but living legend spun so artfully in Homer's Iliad . . . tells a ripping good story." (PAUL CARTLEDGE, Professor of Ancient History at Cambridge)

"A brilliant re-imagining of the Iliad, faithful to the original yet completely accessible . . . the two young women at the centre of the drama are faithfully representative of their time and place yet feel compellingly contemporary . . . Emily Hauser has given us a lively new take on a classic." (TERRY HAWKINS, author of The Rage of Achilles)

"Fascinating . . . highly convincing . . . a familiar tale told in an unfamiliar way. Presenting the story from the point of view of the women, rather than the warriors, gives Hauser's novel real edge and originality." (Nick Rennison BBC HISTORY MAGAZINE)

"Intensely described . . . there is no doubting Hauser's passionate involvement with, and knowledge of, her subject." (Elizabeth Buchan DAILY MAIL)

"Breathing life into these bit-part characters . . . written with energy and passion." (Antonia Senior THE TIMES)

"A new, feminine perspective on the events of the Iliad . . . a colourful tale of gods and mortals." (SUNDAY TIMES)

"This elegant, warm novel moves between two great Trojan beauties . . .through their stories, we witness both sides of this titanic war while feminine beauty and masculine martial prowess compete for the attention of the reader and the gods." (SUNDAY EXPRESS)

Book Description

In this startlingly original and thrillingly imagined debut, a brilliant new voice reveals the untold story behind the Trojan war: the princess and the slave who undid Achilles and fought to save Troy . . .

Perfect for fans of Tracy Chevalier's The Girl with the Pearl Earring and Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist

See all Product description


Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

15 April 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
29 July 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
13 April 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
12 April 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
15 November 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
31 January 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
17 November 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
11 January 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: swan song

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?