Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
144
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2007
I'll begin with saying this has always been one of my personal favourites from the golden era of Bond movies - the 70s. This film is Roger Moore, the greatest Bond IMO, at his peak and he plays him with the same charm and wit we came to expect. However, this movie always seems to get a bad press, often named as the worst Bond ever, which I think is strange considering this is very similar in style to The Spy Who Loved Me, one of the most successful Bonds of all time. Both were directed by Lewis Gilbert, both feature the metal toothed henchman Jaws, both blend action with humour perfectly, and both have two very similar villains with a view to wiping out the human race, only difference being one has his lair in the sea and the other in space. Unfortunately this movie is panned for being a copy, but I don't believe this to be true as both films have their own unique qualities. I agree that Moonraker does appear to be far fetched in places, eg the laser battle, the gigantic space station that Drax had built, but, let's face it, far fetched is what you come to expect from most Bond films. There are some very good moments in the film. The film begins with Bond fighting for a parachute in mid air after being pushed out of a plane. There's a darker moment when Drax sends killer dogs to maul a girl to death after she gives infomation to Bond. Jaws is eventually hired to kill Bond, yet he doesn't outsmart him when he pursues Bond in a cable car, which makes way for the hilarious scene when Jaws falls in love! There's a great chase full of explosions when Bond is chased to Drax's base, a haven inhabited by beautiful women. It was a nice twist to see Jaws turn good and help Bond, and in his last scene, sharing a drink with his girlfriend, we hear him say his only ever words 'here's to us'. The effects stand up very well. Obviously everything in space was model shots, but IMO I think this looks more real than CGI which is so over used today. The score from John Barry is the best I have heard from a Bond movie. Very haunting and beautiful, and I love the familiar Bond tune played on the boat chase scene. This film doesn't take itself too seriously which is how I believe Bond films should be. Wish people would give this film a break, as it is in a different league to Die Another Day, the most stupidest and far fetched Bond ever! But if you like your Bonds more Daniel Craig like gritty thrillers, then avoid this at all costs! Hope this review has been helpful.
33 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I love this Roger Moore Bond movie, it's perfect pulp matinee entertainment: crass, dumb, and great fun.

The collars are enormous, the dialogue as lightweight and wooden as balsa, i.e. perfect, the locations are exotic, the girls gorgeous, the gadgets range from the coolly preposterous to the real gone gonzo (a turbo-powered hovercraft gondola, fleets of space-shuttles, and an invisible space-station!), the villain's blackguardly plot perfectly dastardly (a 'flying stud-farm' where the evil Drax plans to conceive his 'new master race', is how Bond describes it!), the evil henchmen/women have ridiculous butt-hugging yellow outfits, and there are some fabulous stunts and set pieces.

You get everything from a skydiving punch up for a parachute, to a sword fight in a glass-museum in Venice, and we traverse - and even leave - the globe, as Bond ventures into the jungles and mountains of Brazil, with a spot of tourist-brochure carnival fun in Rio, before heading into outer space! Jaws turns good and pulls a terrific little Heidi-like dollybird with fab hooters (who, it turns out, is called Dolly!). And Q delivers the classic 'oo-er missus' line: 'I think he's attempting re-entry'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
A space shuttle is stolen enroute to London and M sends 007 out to apologise to the shuttle creator, billionaire Hugo Drax.

While visiting Drax's estate several attempts are made on Bond's life, making Drax himself the number one suspect. Bond meets Dr. Holly Goodhead, a NASA scientist who is also a CIA agent investigating Drax.

Their investigations lead Bond to discover a plot to murder the world's population so that Drax can repopulate the planet in his image.

The mission takes Bond all over the world, California, Brazil, the Amazon Jungle and, finally, to Drax's huge space-city over the Earth. Drax,

meanwhile, has hired a old friend of Bond to take care of any problems.....

It's ironic that Jaws makes another appearance in this movie, because is the movie where Moore and the creators really jumped the shark with Bond. I'm not saying its a bad film, I really enjoy watching it, it's just unbelievable that this movie is from the same franchise as From Russia With Love, and even Skyfall.

Moore once again is great as the worlds most famous secret agent, and while this is the film where he really starts to show his age, he and the rest of the cast and crew are clearly having a ball.

It's clearly cashing in on Star Wars, but unlike other copycats, this has a really good story, amazing concept, and pretty wonderful narrative. It's just that when the film goes daft, it gives us double taking pigeons and that gondola.

Action scenes are as good as expected, but this time, whenever Jaws is on screen, he doesn't feel as threatening as he should, because we know he's there because he was just so popular.

Saying that though, the Mardi Gras scene with him walking slowly down the alleyway still gives me the creeps to this day.

The soundtrack is wonderful, the effects are still surprisingly good even to this day, and even know its one of the lesser appreciated Bond movies, it's still one of the most successful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2016
I think this 121 min REGION B/2 DVD must be the cheesiest 007 film Roger Moore has made. A space shuttle on loan to MI6 by Hugo Drax (Michael Lonsdale) is hijacked in mid air. Bond is sent to investigate Drax on the pretence of an official apology. Bond discovers that Drax hijacked the shuttle himself and stumbles upon a secret lab with fatal poisons. Drax plans to create a space colony to commit a global genocide to regenerate a perfect species. It was nice but sad to see the late Richard Kiel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
This is a good Bond film and I would argue the 4th best Roger Moore outing as Bond (For me behind 'The Spy Who Loved Me', 'Live and Let Die' and 'A View To a Kill'. It struck me that they want to show the epic scale of the Bond villain's (Drax's) operation which is effectively huge industry a European country estate in the middle of California, 6 interconnected underground silos each housing a space rocket and a huge space station invisible to radar. I think I have missed this kind of scale in more recent Bond films. In addition Jaws is back and it's good to see how Bond has to improvise to defeat this immensely strong and dangerous opponent. I thought the concept of giving up on Earth and starting a space colony of only the elite and interesting idea. This film has one of my favourite Bond quotes https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hrDcxIFCvNk.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
The five star rating is for the product, not necessarily for the film. The remastered DVD is first class. And the extras included in the Ultimate Collection (2 disks) are plentiful.

If you like the film or not is a matter of personal preference and probably even depends on your mood on the day. This is Bond at its campiest. It is actually great fun to watch, and Jaws' romance is almost touching and utterly un-Bondian. Moonraker is a product of its time. A Star Wars it is not, but hey, the next year gave us that campiest space opera of all time: Flash Gordon.

I loved this film when it first came out (at a time when the dark and intense Bond of Dalton and Craig was still in the distant future), then over the years more or less forgot about it. When I watched it again lately in the course of a Bond marathon I was aware of the very low regard for the film these days. Thus it came as a pleasant surprise that I found myself hugely entertained. Just as long as you don't expect anything other than silly laughs with high production values you may enjoy this one more than you'd like to admit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Moonraker is directed by Lewis Gilbert and adapted to screenplay by Christopher Wood from the novel written by Ian Fleming. It stars Roger Moore, Lois Chiles, Michael Lonsdale, Richard Kiel and Corinne Dufour. Music is scored by John Barry and cinematography by Jean Tournier.

Bond 11 and 007 is tasked with finding out what happened to the Moonraker space shuttle that mysteriously disappeared up in space. His investigation takes him to the billionaire builder of the craft, Hugo Drax, where Bond discovers a fiendish plot to start a new world of perfect human beings.

At the end of The Spy Who Loved Me we were told that James Bond would return in For Your Eyes Only, but the gargantuan success of Star Wars and a rekindling of all things sci-fi led Albert Broccoli to send 007 out into space! Armed with a $30 million budget and using only the core base plotting of Fleming's novel, the makers crafted what many feel is the runt of the James Bond litter. The money "is" up there on the screen, it's excess overdrive, outlandish from start to finish and actually is very very entertaining. The problem is that in James Bond terms it barely feels like a Bond movie, it actually could be any bloke propelling the story, this is a guy reliant on gadgets and not his brain or brawn, quipping away purely for the sake of a cheap laugh. Ultimately it's a cash in, both in terms of the sci-fi boom hitting the late 70s and of the James Bond name.

If judged away from the Bond universe on its own popcorn terms, film is a blast, literally. As a whole it's a bit choppy, but many of the parts desperately trying to make up a cohesive blockbuster are great entertainment. Mid air scrap for a parachute, a cable car sequence brilliantly realised, centrifuge chamber peril, boat chase, laser fight and much space age malarkey, the film is chocked full of crowd pleasing moments. In fact it's often mistaken as being a film set in space, when in fact the action doesn't move up there until the last half hour, the previous hour and a half is spread out over France, Italy, Brazil, USA, Gutemala and of course England. The score and the title song, however, are very much Bond. With Barry and Bassey back respectively, film is filled with appropriate atmospheric space strains and a hauntingly emotive theme song.

Charaterisations are a mixed bag. Lonsdale's Hugo Drax is one of the better Bond villains, dignified, well educated and wallowing in a life of luxury, he's perfectly understated in Lonsdale's hands and in fact steals every scene he shares with Moore's Bond. Holly Goodhead (Chiles) is a bold Bond girl with many skills, she's a scientist and an astronaut, attractive and decently played by Chiles, if a touch unmemorable in the Bond girl universe. Kiel is back as Jaws, with the makers choosing to make him some love sick puppy dog, where once was a unique villain, now is cypher for slapstick and a crappy flip-flop of plotting, while the "love interest" for Jaws, Dolly (Blanche Ravalec), is cringe worthy. Sadly this would be the last appearance of Bernard Lee as M, but he leaves a favourable mark, as does Desomond Llewelyn as Q, but once again Moneypenny (Lois Maxwell) is all too brief, the flirt and banter she used to share with Bond now seems long gone.

With a committed Bond fan base trudging through the turnstiles to see the latest instalment, the sci-fi fans intrigued by the themes of the story, and the general blockbuster loving crowd, Moonraker made a colossal $203 million at the worldwide box office. Making it the highest grossing Bond film so far, a record that would stick until Brosnan's debut in 1995. While critical notices were not as bad as some would have you believe, the critics clearly judging it on non Bond terms. Broccoli took notice of the fans, though, who were upset by the lack of respect to the serious side of Bond. He promised things would be different for Bond 12. 7/10
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2009
Well you either accept the film as a hugely enjoyable escapist romp or not. There's little point adding to what hasn't already been said about the movie over the past 30 years. But the fact it HAS been 30 years shows a remarkable eloquence and test of time. Ironically it's now kinda refreshing to see tongue in cheek hokum in these hard bitten cynical times. Anyway what blu-ray does here is first surprise you with the marvellous cinematography of the film. Something you wouldn't normally associate with a Bond film. Secondly, the genius of Ken Adams' set designs are shown off to even more supreme glory in High defination. He really was one of a kind! As was Derek Meddings of course with his master craftsman special effects... Often here, the model work can look even better than some of the rather flat CGI of today.
OK, yes, this was probably the pininacle of Roger Moore's humourously sly wink to the audience. After this, the laughs seemed to get a bit more painful and forcibly laid on with a trowl. Even the set pieces never seemed to segway or edit quite so well into each other as they were done with The Spy Who Loved Me or here! But alas, no more would the set designs of a Bond movie ever look so lavish, sumptuous or as visually stunning as they were presented here. On the blu-ray extras we even get home movie footage from Ken Adam when the production team was scouting various locations. So if like me you can take the film with a big pinch of salt and end up with a big smile upon your face, then believe me---- the blu-ray experience will only add a few more... Great fun.....
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
roger moore returns in his 4th 007 james bond film that sets it self in outerspace with the return of well over 7 feet tall richard jaws kiel in his 2nd and the only bad guy to return in back to back films, plus jaws is one of my fav bad turn good guys when he even falls in love for a girl as well in the end, i even got a signed photo and book of him couple years ago on a shopping channel selling james bond toy cars and film dvds and a book about his life on other films like pale rider that stars along side clint eastwood and other t.v shows his done and what amazing great actor he is, a real respected nice man only thing now is to meet roger moore or sean connery would be even more amazing!! but the film moonraker is one of the all time classics the follow up to the spy who loved me i give this film 4 stars out of 5 real great and funny over the top action movie where now days they give more darker storys to newer james bond films still good but you just cant beat the old classics like roger moore or sean connery or timmothy dalton playing 007, i remember my mum and dad telling me they use to go and watch bond films at the cinema in the 1960's/70's where in the mid 1980's i would remember going to see roger moores last james bond film in a view to a kill another great classic and also seeing timmothy dalton taking over in the next 007 film the living daylights way back in 1987 or shown again on front of your own t.v before dvds or videos were around, plus whats nice about this is you get loads of extras on the 2nd dvd behind the scenes of the making of moonraker and interviews with the cast and crew the picture and sound are up to date dts 5.1 surround sound and in perfect h.d picture, the rare newer[2008] gold/white boxcover is a update from the black and silver ulitmate edition two dvd boxcover from [2006].
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 July 2007
In 1977 The Spy Who Loved Me, reinvigorated the James Bond franchise after the disappointing box-office returns for The Man with the Golden Gun. The next Bond movie was originally to be For Your Eyes Only, and indeed on the end credits of Spy Who Loved Me, it was stated that this would be the next film. However no one had anticipated the huge success of the original Star Wars, released the same summer as Spy Who Loved Me. With space and science fiction making a big comeback, Eon productions decided to instead make another unfilmed Ian Fleming novel Moonraker the next Bond movie. This was only remaining Fleming book with a space theme. Moonraker began filming in 1978, and would be competiting with numerous other space related films about to hit the cinema such as the original Star Trek film and Close Encounters of the Third Kind. Although often regarded as one of Flemings best novels, the movie adaption of Moonraker would have little in common with the book. The name Drax is maintained for the main villain, but otherwise this movie is very futuristic in scope. Producer Albert R Broccoli once stated that Moonraker was based on science fact not fiction. But in fact is alongside Die Another Day, the most far fetched in the series. Space shuttles are faetured in the movie, although in reality the first launch was not until 1981. There is also a laser battle in the movie climax, which is set in outer space, with Drax's men fighting the US Military.
Whereas Spy Who Loved Me has a villain with an underwater base who wants to destroy the world and recreate in his own image, Moonraker's Drax plans to destroy the Earth as we know it from space. In essence then the plots of both films are very similar. Both also feature the henchman Jaws, and are both directed by Lewis Gilbert. John Barry returns after several years to give another music score. Roger Moore is by now, very comfortable in the role of Bond. Both girls are also memorable, although the death of one after she is mauled by dogs, is a dark sequence in an otherwise lighter Bond movie. Familar French actor Michael Lonsdale makes a great droll villain. This is one of the rare instances in which the movie scores over its predecessor, as he is much better than Stromberg.
The film can not be taken too seriously, and as with Casino Royale which followed Die Another Day, the producers elected to bring Bond right back to Earth for the next movie. The film is entertaining and this edition contains some great extras, including a commentary from Sir Roger Moore himself.

Although often regarded as one of Fleming's best Bond novels, the movie and book have little in common
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)