Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Monteverdi: Madrigals Of Love and Loss [Jonathan Cohen, James Gilchrist, Arcangelo] [Hyperion A68019]

4.7 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

Price: £10.92 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 3 Feb 2014
£9.14 £19.29
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Product details

  • Conductor: Jonathan Cohen
  • Composer: Claudio Monteverdi
  • Audio CD (3 Feb. 2014)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Hyperion
  • ASIN: B0028YVI5M
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 94,374 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Volgendo il ciel Movete al mio bel suon SV154 | Introduzione al ballo Volgendo il ciel per limmortal sentiero [5'42] - Thomas Walker/Arcangelo
  2. Volgendo il ciel Movete al mio bel suon SV154 | Ballo a 5 con doi violini Movete al mio bel suon le piante snelle [2'02]
  3. Ciaccona TARQUINIO MERULA [3'04]
  4. Ballo a 5, seconda parte, Ei larmi cinse, e su destrier alato [2'03]
  5. Combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda SV153 [20'03] - James Gilchrist/Arcangelo
  6. Or che l ciel e la terra e l vento tace SV147 [8'13]
  7. Ohimè, dovè il mio ben, dovè il mio core? SV140 [5'14] - Various Performers
  8. Zefiro torna e l bel tempo rimena SV108 [3'46]
  9. Ohimè il bel viso, ohimè il soave sguardo SV112 [4'22]
  10. Sestina Lagrime damante al sepolcro dellamata SV111 | Incenerite spoglie, avara tomba [2'25]
  11. Sestina Lagrime damante al sepolcro dellamata SV111 | Ditelo, o fiumi, e voi chudiste Glauco [1'49]
  12. Sestina Lagrime damante al sepolcro dellamata SV111 | Darà la notte il sol lume alla terra [2'19]
  13. Sestina Lagrime damante al sepolcro dellamata SV111 | Ma te raccoglie, o ninfa, in grembo l cielo [2'55]
  14. Sestina Lagrime damante al sepolcro dellamata SV111 | O chiome dor, neve gentil del seno [2'26]
  15. Sestina Lagrime damante al sepolcro dellamata SV111 | Dunque, amate reliquie, un mar di pianto [3'38]

Product description

Product Description

Gramophone Award-winning ensemble Arcangelo (in their first recording as a vocal and instrumental group) presents a selection from Monteverdi's last three books of madrigals. These ardent and passionate works are microcosms of Monteverdi's great operas, and among his most celebrated music. Most of the madrigals of Book 6 (1614) are songs of parting and loss. Book 7 (1619) is entitled Concerto, meaning that all the works it contains require instrumental accompaniment. And Book 8 (1638) introduces the genere concitatothe 'agitated' manner that Monteverdi devised to convey the emotions of war, whether physical or psychological.

Combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda sets an extended passage from Tasso's epic poem Gerusalemme liberate. Tasso's text, set in the time of the first crusade, tells of the combat between the Christian knight Tancredi and the Saracen maiden Clorinda. Most of the action of the Combattimento is conveyed by a narrator (Testothe text), sung here by celebrated tenor James Gilchrist.


The astonishing harmonic flexibility and melodic narrative of Monterverdi's writing translates here in urgent drama. You cant turn away from the musical convulsions of Clorinda's death nor doubt the simple agony of the lover in Sestina. --Gramophone, Mar'14

All in all this is a wonderful disc,presenting Monteverdi the dramatist and the creator of vivid aural pictures.Presented in such vivid recorded sound and by such acomplished muscians, intuitively directed by the excellent Jonathan Cohen, it provides an invaluable and hughely attractive addition to the composer's already genorous represenatation on disc. --IRR, Mar'14

4 customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

1 March 2014
Verified Purchase
16 September 2014
Verified Purchase
6 September 2014
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars 1 reviews
Stephen Midgley
4.0 out of 5 starsLove expressed, some notes lost
6 September 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
4 people found this helpful.