Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

The Monster Club [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 December 2017
Hi thanks for the tape nice conditionandpostwas verygood Gerald to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2018
Fantastic - camp as Christmas!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2017
Another great cast in a good movie from horror/ thriller fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2018
silly cheesy fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2016
Especially the music in the vampire section!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2016
My favourite film ever! Saw this at the cinema.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 May 2017
This is a wonderful British horror-comedy film from the early 1980's, featuring marvellously camp performances by both Vincent Price and John Carradine. It's an anthology film, offering three chilling tales, all of which are intentionally silly.

The story starts with a hungry vampire (Price) approaching and biting an elderly man (Carradine) in a dark London street. The elderly man, bewildered by the experience, is thanked by the vampire - who much appreciated the snack! And, in return, the vampire invites the man for a drink at the Monster Club. This club is akin to the Mos Eisley Cantina (from "Star Wars") except it's not aliens but various weird monsters in attendance. Intrigued, the man inquires about these monsters. And that when Price's character introduces the tales ...

We get "The Shadmock" - about an odd looking man who lives in a secluded mansion, desperate to find love. He meets and falls in love with an attractive women, only to discover she was only ever interested in his money. And so the Shadmock whistles, with devastating consequences! Next, we get "The Vampires" - about a family of miserable vampires who are relentlessly hunted by those who seek to destroy the un-dead. Yet, when the lead hunter is himself bitten, he finds himself being stalked by his own team of hunters. Finally, there's "The Ghouls" - about a man who gets lost in the remote countryside while scouting for film locations. He comes upon a strange village, and discovers that it's under siege by ghouls!

All three tales are inter-spliced with scenes set at the Monster Club, which involve musical performances by horrific rock bands! Overall, it's a daft - yet brilliant - movie. The Blu-ray picture quality is excellent, and there are some good extras. If you're a fan of anthology horror films with a comedic twist, I highly recommend this movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2017
The best quality version of the best horror anthology of all time.
The stories that unfold here range from terrifying to outright hilarious as a well established horror writer is invited to an underground London night club frequented by every monster conceivable to get inspiration for his next book.
In between each story he is told we are treated to the entertainment in the club, great music from The Pretty Things, BA Robertson and even a stripper who peels off more than her clothes!
I have loved this fun movie ever since I was a wee boy and will probably watch till I'm a wee old man.
This Bluray presentation does it more than justice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2014
Firstly, the plus points of the Monster Club. The uk blu ray is a delightful bright picture, with more than ample mono sound. Vibrant generally, and suitably widescreen considering the less than pleasant previous dvd release. This title looms from the very ebb of the seventies, lurching into the eighties, which might well explain to all who weren't there, why there is so much on brightly lit display of the older and new styles, classic horror thespians & garish modern clobber, clashing together on every level.

Taking as the jumping off point the works of R. Chetwynd Hayes, the concept of the 3 story film in the modern milieu sounds a promising one. To some extent it certainly is, parading the grotesqueries before us at a fair lick of pace. The original author has written some fine eerie yet humourous flavoured macabre pieces that touch slightly on E.C. comics or brush up against Charles Birkin. But Chetwynd-Hayes is his own eccentric flavour, check out Cradle Demon, or The Partaker, or even My Mother Married a Vampire to get a taste of his style. In this Amicus-esque flick we get two old stalwart classic horror names providing the wrap-around story. The three stories are varying from tragic to pathos, to predictable twist ending, like the e.c. comics of yore and similar. Donald Pleasance does a fine quick turn as a very english head of a clerical death-squad in a tale that delights even now with a twist on the usual vampiric standards.

However, one flaw to this later attempt to relaunch the ageing anthology format, is the musical interludes. If only they interluded a bit more to the point of being edited to a skeletal silhouette, like the fun stripper sequence. The music is jarring, tacky and dare i say it, lacking in memorable visual or lyrical cues. It all seems to be mashed in from another movie, which regrettably Subotsky & Co. had a fondness for the musical 'cultural' happenings, as evidenced by their other output. Some folk might see it with nostalgic eyes firmly on the whole, as part of the reckless modernism. Some might just put it on the same cruddy level with the masked club members, who hail in the eighties with a rancid lack of taste...

Excellent moments, creepy concepts, eerie touches and flourishes. Doesn't sit on the same gravestone as earlier portmanteau films, but at the very least nostalgic assistance provided, it looks and sounds great to any wishing to paddle in the old brook before it dried up completely.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2017
...but great fun! As I get older, I prefer my horror to be more subtle and 'gentle, leaving my gore hound days behind me. "The Monster Club" is horror-light with some great comedy thrown in for good measure. A typical portmanteau - with a comic central tale - using the club as the wraparound, this film is great fun with a beautifully measured performance from Price. His final speech is chilling and oh-so true. An OK Blu ray presentation of a fun film, perfect for this time of year as we approach Hallowe'en.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)