Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2003
I looked at a lot of grammar books - including books published in Spain - before buying this book. This is by a long way the most accessible I have seen (although I must admit I haven't I haven't compared it to the Butt/Benjamin New Reference Grammar).
The book has two parts - the first is a concise traditional-style reference grammar. This is well-organised and clear. It is intended to be a reference grammar but the authors go out of their way to explain grammatical concepts in accessible terms: for example the opening chapter is a glossary that explains things like what an adjective is, what an auxiliary verb is etc. the explanations are clear and accompanied by lots of examples. It certainly doesn't assume that you have a GCSE.
The second part (which takes up over half of the book) is organised around specific activities and tasks eg 'asking and giving opinions', 'expressing agreement and disagreement', expressing desires and preferences'. Again clear explanations and lots of examples.
It is a reference grammar. It is intended to be consulted as needed. If you want to learn Spanish grammar then there are other books such as the 'Uso de la gramatica espagnol' series or the 'Paso a paso' series - and their English-language equivalents. I'm very pleased with my purchase - I think it will prove to be a great investment and I expect to be using it for a long time to come.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2011
This is a first class reference of modern grammar and usage. The first part contains a detailed summary of the grammar with copious examples of usage. The second part provides an enormous number of examples of current usage with shades of meaning clarified by contrasting examples. There is detailed reference to points where Latin American usage differs from Peninsular Spanish and even where usage varies across different regions of Latin America or indeed different parts of Spain. The cross referencing is excellently conceived. Having lived in Spain for 26 years and as a novice teacher of the language to English people in our area, I have found this a wonderful work of reference which has tidied up a number of my own inaccuracies!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
I have the equivalent book in this series for German grammar, so thought this would be just as good.

The information is clear and useful, and just like the German book it is split into two parts, a quick overview of the grammar and then practical uses of it in part B. I mostly wanted this for part B, as I found the German equivalent was very helpful in providing useful examples of language for my assignments, I recall it had a brief section on giving presentations.

However, the Spanish version doesn't really match up to that. What is there is useful and clear, but there could be so much more.

The layout for the Kindle version is actually quite good and clear to read (I'm just reading it on my computer for now though) , but what it really needs is a contents page. As others have said, this does not exist. The German version has a full contents page with links to take you to the section - this Spanish grammar book does not even have a list specifying what page to look up. This is a less of an issue if you know what you are going to be looking up (it's pretty easy to just do a search on kindle books) but in a reference book such as this, designed to be flicked through back and forth, it really is not up to scratch. I just hope that if they ever provide an update we get it for free, as this completely ruins the digital version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2009
I found this book very helpful in that it gives plenty of examples of where and when different grammatical structures should be used. It is not a substitute for Oxford Spanish Grammar by John Butt as that book gives a more detailed description of Spanish Grammar. However, nobody ever learned Spanish from one book and this is a useful addition to your textbook library. It can appear cumbersome initially but once you get used to its layout it is helpful as well as being easier reading than John Butt's book. Serious learners however will require both publications.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2010
This is one of the best spanish grammars out there. Subjects are covered well without getting into all those hateful and useless details.

I would advice getting this together with a book such as Spanish among amigos and/or Spanish in your face, since this book doesn't cover Slang.

I wouldn't recommend this book to people who's native language is very close to Spanish, though (Italian, Portuguese) as you would probably find the book pretty boring. In this case, I think the books about idioms and slang would be the (only) one(s) needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
The book was in excellent condition when I received it. It came much quicker than I expected as did the other two identical books. The service was very professional and overall we are very pleased indeed. Thank you very much and regards, Patrick Fulham.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
I bought this book as a replacement for a lost copy. I have found it easy to use and the explanations are clear. It is more useful as a reference than as a work book. The delivery from the supplier was quick and as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
There is much useful information inside this book.

But you are at the mercy of the thoughtless, stupid, lack of any intelligent way to access it.

Many hours will be wasted looking through this book sequentially, by everyone who reads it, because you cannot use it as a learning tool in this format.

The Publishers have defrauded everyone who buys the Kindle version by failing to put in any useful method of navigating the material,

It should be withdrawn, until they can be bothered to be responsible publishers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2008
The first 150 pages are a Spanish grammar . The other 275 pages are instructions about when to use selected phrases .
Perhaps , a very modern approach : a grammar book which avoids a lot of tiresome old explanations .
Useless to me though .
For example to explore all of the possibilities for the word "que" , you'll need to consult : 11.1,26.1.1,27.1.5,27.2.130.3.2,33.5 .
There are about 20 references for the indexed word "subjuntive" .
In other words , the information is there , but it is scattered all over the place , leading to a confusion of cross referencing throughout the text . Even if the authors had had the sense just to stick to good old page numbers instead of these idiotic "31.3.2" references .....
A far better , more complete and easier to use grammar (which is much cheaper) is John Butt's Oxford Spanish Grammar .
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
very good grammar book but kindle version rendered useless as reference work by absence of contents pages so very poor value. Nick
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)