Listen Now
Go Unlimited
Start your 30-day free trial
Amazon Music Unlimited subscribers can play 40 million songs, thousands of playlists and ad-free stations including new releases. Learn More
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).

Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £7.99

Modern Music-the First Year 1945

Price: £15.39 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
Modern Music The First Year - 1945
"Please retry"
Amazon Music Unlimited
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 30 Jul 2012
"Please retry"
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
AutoRip is available only for eligible CDs and vinyl sold by Amazon EU Sarl (but does not apply to gift orders or PrimeNow orders). See Terms and Conditions for full details, including costs which may apply for the MP3 version in case of order returns or cancellations.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S.à r.l.
22 new from £9.00
£15.39 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Amazon's Hadda Brooks Store

Product details

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Swingin The Boogie - Hadda Brooks
  2. Blusen The Boogie - Hadda Brooks
  3. Just A Little Blusie (Sic) - Hadda Brooks
  4. Blues In B Flat - Hadda Brooks Trio
  5. Deep Meditation - Howard Mcghee Orchestra
  6. Lonesome Gal - Pearl Traylor & Hadda Brooks Sextette
  7. Nightmare Boogie - Hadda Brooks Sextette
  8. Rocking The Boogie - Hadda Brooks Trio
  9. The Man I Love - Hadda Brooks Trio
  10. Daddy, Somebody s Got To Go - Pearl Traylor
  11. Riding The Boogie - Hadda Brooks
  12. Blue Mood - Hadda Brooks
  13. Lovin Lover - Jesse Perry With Happy Johnson Sextette
  14. Mercy Mercy - Jesse Perry With Happy Johnson Sextette
  15. You're The Great One - Jesse Perry With Happy Johnson Sextette
  16. Jesse Boogie - Jesse Perry With Happy Johnson Sextette
  17. I Used To Work In Chicago - Three Bits Of Rhythm
  18. That's The Boogie Aka Brooklyn Stomp! - Three Bits Of Rhythm / Happy Johnson Sextette
  19. Air Mail Special - Happy Johnson Sextette
  20. B Splat - Happy Johnson Sextette
  21. Play Boy Blues - Howard Mcghee Orchestra (Vocal: Pearl Traylor)
  22. 11:45 Swing- Howard Mcghee Orchestra
  23. Jelly, Jelly - Happy Johnson Sextette (Vocal: Jesse Perry)
  24. Rehearsing The Boogie - Hadda Brooks

Product description

Product Description

Almost 70 years have passed since Hollywood resident Jules Bihari decided to start his own record label with his brothers in order to capitalise on the growing demand from jukebox operators for the new style of black American music tagged Rhythm & Blues. From modest beginnings, and via a handful of strong-selling titles featuring the boogie stylings of Jules piano-playing girlfriend Hadda Brooks, the Modern Music Company quickly grew into one of the premier sources of R&B, blues and jazz and introduced the world to B.B. King, John Lee Hooker and Etta James during its 30-year lifetime. This new compilation takes us back to the company's first year of operations and includes the A and B side of every 78 released during Modern's first year in business. Some of these incredibly rare items have been reissued on Ace before but nearly half of them have never appeared legitimately on CD until now. As well as Miss Brooks, other notable names appearing are be-bop trumpet maestro Howard McGhee, the popular novelty act Three Bits Of Rhythm and multi-instrumentalist George Happy Johnson, as well as a host of up-and-coming rising starts of the California session scene. Lavishly illustrated with some of the rarest label shots that any collector could wish to see, this package shows that Modern was always destined to be a major player among R&B indies from day one.

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

Look for similar items by category