Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
Miss Prince
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.23


on 27 August 2016
Although recommended for children aged around 11, this book is not just for older children: adults and intelligent younger children will enjoy it too; I know because I am a 54 year old teacher who totally fell in love with the characters in this story and shared it with a group of 7 year olds! We were so impressed that we invited the author, Alicia L Wright, into school and spent a delightful morning asking questions, being inspired and enjoying readings from this intelligent, up and coming young woman.
Being set partly in the real world, Miss Prince is almost totally believable, melding fantasy and realism. The characters are skilfully developed so that the reader really cares. The author's in-depth knowledge of fairy tale history and culture is intricately and cleverly woven into the plot, which incidentally is a real page turner. And what a joy to discover that there are more books to follow in the series, because once you enter this world ( or should I hint "world's" ?!) you really won't want to leave! I can't wait to read the next two books. Please check out these books, don't reserve them solely for children and I promise you a pleasant surprise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2018
Miss Prince is a charming coming of age tale for YA readers which is both funny and heart-warming. The story follows the adventures of Lucinda as she tries to earn enough money to meet up with her friends at a convention in America. Little does she know, as she responds to a job advert, that the job in question will pull her into a world of myth and danger and see her fighting dragons, saving princesses and over throwing evil tyrants.

The story fizzles with pop references and tongue and cheek humour which sends up the fairy tale world turning convention on its head. It’s a memorable story of pacifist vampires, moody unicorns and rebellious mermaids. And beneath this there is deeper message, one of equality and progression which asks us to consider what defines the roles we play in life and take responsibility for our actions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2016
Lucinda needs money for a plane ticket to America. To this end, she must find a job. The only opening available is alarmingly nonspecific, and turns out alarmingly exciting! Lucinda shows up for work and discovers that she is to be a professional prince, required to fix broken stories, preserve the narrative momentum, and ensure happily-ever-afters for everyone. There are friends and enemies both to be made, but it can be difficult to fix a story if no one knows how it's supposed to go.

The Good:

Alicia Wright is a master of satire. Very much like Eggs, Butter, Sugar, and Disaster, this volume reads like a Young Adult mashup of PG Wodeouse, Terry Pratchett, and JK Rowling. It's a self-conscious sort of humor, genre-savvy, not at all geared toward the lowest common denominator. It's clever humor, reliant on the reader's cultural awareness, a vast pile of tropes both revered and ridiculed. The characters are believable; even the villain has his own endearing quirks. Rosie is my favorite, though: a no-nonsense witch who keeps her vampire boyfriend on her magic mirror's speed-dial.

I also love Wright's explanation of where vampires come from. It's a well-considered and highly detailed internal mythology that makes perfect sense in context. Dig it.

The Bad:

Hmm. If I had to pick something, I'd say that Lucinda doesn't seem to have much of a real life beyond her parents and the friends she's saving to visit. I imagine there should be some kind of change in the way she relates to school and daily chores and all the humdrum tedium of Earth life. Real life, though, seems to vanish when she discovers that stories are real. Considering that the book is about the things going on in the Otherworlds, details about the things going on back on Earth aren't really necessary, but it was a layer that might have been added and felt a bit missing.

In Conclusion:

Brilliant as always for Wright.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2015
... but it turns out that Alicia L. Wright may have it down better.

In the worlds of Gaia and Anima story karma reigns supreme and is being a nuisance to Rent-A-Legend, a renegade group of freedom fighters who, apart from being set up to take down the vampire overlord Alucard von Stollenheim, are contracted to fix others' stories and whatnot. The aggrieved elf Sara and not-so-normal schoolgirl Lucinda are soon joined by runaway fairy princess Erlina, young GP witch Rosie, and friendly mod-con vampire Johann. In between helping each-other, Lucinda finds her geeky talents used in the very real world where she cosplays for a living and even fights a few dainty dragons. You will have to read on to see if Rent-A-Legend wins the glory of their happy ever after.

As a fan of Alicia's webcomic, Vampires Don't Belong In Fairytales, to read a book based on that world and its characters is something of a treat. The humour is fantastically dry and doesn't compromise on maturity what it takes from the occasional sarcastic undertone. In the same vein, the commentary, when dealing with the subject matter, is funny and many of my chuckles were from the occasional quip at folklore and similar.
The magic of the book may be less about the setting and more about the rapport between characters such as Lucinda and Sara. In the webcomic this is on a strip to strip basis but in the book the snark has to be read to be believed. However, there are unusually heartwarming moments, bits when you can't help but root for the heroes and others where you're left to question just exactly what defines "villain".

So, then, enter a world full of magical characters and you may find yourself trapped in your own story!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2015
An entertaining concept, executed well.

The story itself was very fun, with a dreaming, geeky protagonist not too far removed from that of Jim Henson's Labyrinth. She finds herself in a multiverse which takes obvious glee at poking fun at and dismantling fairytale archetypes, along with suffering the fallout of the evolution of real-world storytelling and winking at modern life en route. Many of the jokes and references were amusing (bonus points for the Ollivander's reference when trying out a sword), and several of them made me laugh out loud - a rare feat for a book. Impressively, it managed to do this while both developing and remaining faithful to its own mythology of the forces of magic and storytelling, which could easily have been forgotten about in favour of a cheap gag, which is all too often the case with humour-focussed stories.

I felt that some of the plot elements were very obvious, however, which detracted from my enjoyment of the story somewhat - it felt a little like the characters were being unrealistically stupid or forgetful simply to serve the plot at times.

Overall though, an enjoyable, entertaining read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2014
Having also read the author's first book 'Eggs Butter Sugar and Disaster', I found Miss Prince to be a delightful continuation along similar themes while also being more technically improved. We meet the main character, just trying to save up money to see her friends, who unwittingly becomes embroiled in a magical "Otherworld" where fairytales mix together and ends up in a rebellion against a tyrant vampire king. Throughout we meet a variety of unique characters all believably written with great personality, and the author's sense of humour draws the reader into the story.

Perfectly suited for older children and young teens, or even their parents! I think that this book would appeal to people of any age who still wish that they too might one day meet a fairy or a unicorn. I personally am greatly looking forward to a sequel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2014
Ok, I really wanted to like this book, but it never quite gelled for me the way that Eggs, Butter, Sugar and Disaster did. I'm not sure exactly why, but I think it's because I've also been following Alicia's web comic series, and kept wondering where the other characters were.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2018
Absolutely superb book. Brilliant alternative idea and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2015
Absolutely loved this book. It was really enjoyable to read, so addictive I finished it in one day, it was actually so much fun it distracted me from a toothache. I recommend it to anyone that likes folklore and fantasy books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2014
The authors second work does something that not may other books have done, it made me laugh out loud, I loved the story of a female prince battling vampires, destiny and tradition all while trying to save up to buy flight tickets.

It's very fast paced, without being rushed, my only complaint is there are references to some more obscure legends that you need to look up, but that's more to do with me than the author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse