Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £1.99

Save £5.00 (72%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Miss Appleby's Academy by [Gill, Elizabeth]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Miss Appleby's Academy Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 589 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£1.99
Audio CD
"Please retry"
£21.69

Length: 400 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

40 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply


Product description

Review

An enthralling and satisfying novel that will leave you wanting more (Catherine King)

Elizabeth Gill writes with a masterful grasp of conflicts and passions hidden among men and women of the wild North Country (Leah Fleming)

Original and evocative - a born storyteller (Trisha Ashley)

Drama and intrigue worthy of Call the Midwife (Big Issue)

Book Description

The bestselling emotional saga set in County Durham. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1232 KB
  • Print Length: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Quercus (31 Jan. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B009P1WEL8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 589 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #26,407 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This was possibly one of the worst books I've read in a long time. The plot has a promising start, but quickly disappoints. Many of the characters are very two-dimensional much of what happens is extremely predictable. However, the real issue is that the quality of the writing is really quite appallingly bad. It is riddled with so many errors in grammar and punctuation that it was at times really very difficult to read. I was actually quite surprised that it had even been published in that state. If you ever thought that editing was unimportant, read this book and you'll discover that it's vital.
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I found Miss Appleby an intriguing character - strong and vulnerable in equal measure.

Misunderstandings by many of the characters, and the choices they made as a result, had sometimes devastating consequences. Elizabeth Gill's portrayal of the Durham area at the beginning of the twentieth century is striking, as is her portrayal of the people. Hard lives were lived by so many and they were often hard on themselves and each other. Did the bleakness of the landscape and challenging weather encourage such harshness?

Miss Appleby's Academy is a story which will stay with you for a while. I'm looking forward to reading more novels by Elizabeth Gill. The first one I read was Far from My Father's House, which I loved.

Jasmine Sparks
Author of the Dolly Series of books
Dolly: Dolly Series: Book 1
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I did enjoy the stir taking me forwards. I liked the way the history of County Durham was the basis of this. The place of the owners and the workers. The role of the Methodist Church in finding a humanty and value....
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A good read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
good
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I liked it. It was one of those books that I couldn't wait to get home and read when I had 10 minutes to myself.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I enjoyed reading this book, it is by an author that I have not read before, and have to say I found it to be an interesting and a good read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Lvly little story that I stayed awake to finish.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
click to open popover