Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 30 June 2014
Hot horny sex. Strong characters, a story structure that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Breathtakingly artistic as a writer, you are guided through every scene - watching the action unfurl in front of you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
A bit mills and boom but with a lot more sex & more sex and then just a bit more. vampire and space ships a quick easy read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
A vampire book with a difference. Romantic and action packed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Do liker this author but didn't like this story not her best I'm afraid x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
I was disappointed at the lack of a decent story line. The sex was a bit gratuitous for my liking within a very thin storyline. Not the worst book I have read -n but not far behind!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Disclaimer: Misled is extremely mature and not suitable for under 18s.

Misled is definitely different. I mean it's about vampires in space. Not something you read every day anyway. I liked that it was a very quick and easy read too - something I've been needing lately.

The setting felt quite futuristic, slightly "Star Wars-like" in a way (I really don't know what else to compare it too...). The setting is definitely unusual for vampires too.

The characters, Sable and Derek, are definitely likeable, however, the book is so short that I didn't really feel like I got to know them at all. Probably didn't help that there was more sex than actual plot/character development. And the characters jump into bed far too early too (and never stop!). However, the story is told from the alternating perspectives of Sable and Derek so this did help the characterisation a bit.

As I've said, there's really not much to the plot, however, in some way the plot was actually quite quick in a way. I admit I was a bit confused at times because of the plot twists (when there was a plot), but everything ties up in the end. Though the ending wasn't the most climatic.

I did enjoy Misled, but I wish there was a bit more to the plot and characterisation. It's definitely a book for over 18s only and those who like very mature and explicit reads. I'm definitely good to look into reading more by Sylvia Day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
I grabbed Mislead from my local library. It is sci-fi erotica (erotic spcae-opera?) with the added bonus of vampires. Yep, vampires. I have to admit vampires in space was a new one for me. The only other examples I can think of are a couple B rated flicks from the 90s and the Sunset (Pact Arcanum) series, which is in a whole different genre.

Interesting choice of characters aside, this was essentially a hundred pages of two vampires having copious amounts of sex. It eventually felt a little bit like they had a list of sexual positions that had to be laboriously worked through and checked off before the thin plot could progress. The lack of substantial plot isn't really a complaint though. I can't claim to read erotica for the plot anyway. There was enough to give the story some structure and that's enough for me. But really the sex, sex, and more sex with not much in-between got a little repetitive. (I know, I know it's fair to ask what I'm doing reading erotica in the first place if I'm inclined to such opinions.)

I really liked Derek. He was so willing to put his emotions out there that it was endearing. I vacillated between really liking and hating Sable though. When she was her strong, self assured self I adored her. But then as soon as she found herself in Derek's embrace she morphed into this weepy, damaged thing. Oddly enough I really liked Derek's assistant for some reason. He was barely in the book, but I felt like his dialogue had a really strong voice for some reason. I found myself looking forward to his brief appearances.

Ms. Day's writing is clean and easy to read. There were also a few really funny passages, usually resulting from someone's frustration. I have to admit to not being comfortable her choice of language during the frequent sex scenes however. I generally find that from a readers perspective [the only one I know] there are two ways to write said scenes (ok there are probably more, but for the purposes of this example two will suffice). Descriptions can be kept light and either biologically accurate or somewhat obscured or they can be hard and emphatic. It's completely a matter of personal taste which one someone prefers, but I don't like when sex scenes are described using the harder, cruder language, even when the activities described are otherwise exactly the same. Not for any real prudish reason, I just find them jarring and it pulls me from the narrative. It feels so much more like cheap porn than classy erotic art then (even if the distinction is only in my mind). This is one such novel. Despite that, I read it in an afternoon and enjoyed it well enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
I loved it and have continued to stick with this Author. Book 2 is just as good and the you progress to The Renegade Series. I cannt put each book down started with the Bared to you trilogy( which I have the third book on order!) and then the Carnal Thirst series, Sylvia Day has a unique style and I would highly recommend to anyone.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
Erotic yet romantic. Titillating and arousing. Easy reading. No dull moment. I love Sylvia Day! She's my new favourite author!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 October 2014
3.5 stars

Sylvia Day is best known for her contemporary romance Crossfire series (which I love!) but she has also written a lot of other stories varying from historical romances to erotic science fiction like Misled and the Carnal Thirst series. I snagged this story from Amazon months ago when it was offered as a freebie but for some reason (probably my mountain of a to be read pile!) I'd hadn't got around to picking it up until recently.

Sable is an undercover agent posing as a bounty hunter while she is working a top secret case, she has been in the field for a long time and has to keep her true identity firmly under wraps so that nobody can discover what she is up to. Derek is also an Agent but he doesn't know that Sable is undercover. They have been attracted to each other for a long time but Sable can't risk starting anything with him in case her cover story is blown. Derek has spent two years trying to capture Sable's attention and he is fed up of waiting for her to notice him which makes him very determined to finally make her listen. He's owed some time off so he sets out to help her capture her latest bounty, and to prove to her what a fabulous couple they would make.

I'm going to be upfront and say that as an erotic romance the focus of this story is definitely sex rather than world building. I'm not saying that's a bad thing, after all it is incredibly hot sex and I definitely enjoyed reading it, but I want to put it out there because if you go into this expecting something else you could be disappointed. These characters spend a lot of their time going at it like bunnies - in bed, up against the wall or on pretty much any solid surface that is available to them - they have scorching chemistry and this story will definitely leave you in need of a cold shower or two. Although sex is the main ingredient there is more to the story and I did enjoy what we saw of the world and getting to know both of the characters.

Misled is a very quick, hot read and it's one I'd definitely recommend when you're in the mood for something spicy. I have to admit I would have loved it to have been longer so it could have had a little more depth but that isn't always what I'm looking for and I'll definitely be picking up the sequel (Kiss of the Night) at some point in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here