Miserere (Sequence | Lent... has been added to your Basket

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: Amazon
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Miserere (Sequence | Lent/ Joseph/ Annun) (Martin Baker, Westminster Cathedral Choir) (Hyperion: CDA67938)

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £15.46 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by Fulfillment Express and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
23 new from £9.57
£15.46 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock. Sold by Fulfillment Express and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Conductor: Martin Baker
  • Composer: George Malcolm. William Byrd, Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina, Giovanni Croce, David Bevan, Colin Mawby, et al.
  • Audio CD (2 Jan. 2013)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Hyperion
  • ASIN: B00A4TKL92
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 219,858 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Attende, Domine CHANT [3'24] - Peter Stevens/Westminster Cathedral Choir
  2. Miserere mei, Deus | GEORGE MALCOLM [8'43]
  3. Emendemus in melius | WILLIAM BYRD (1539/401623) [4'31]
  4. Missa Emendemus in melius | Kyrie | GIOVANNI PIERLUIGI DA PALESTRINA [2'39]
  5. Missa Emendemus in melius | Agnus Dei | GIOVANNI PIERLUIGI DA PALESTRINA [5'05]
  6. Scapulis suis | GEORGE MALCOLM (19171997) [4'11]
  7. Audi, benigne conditor | CHANT [2'39] - Peter Stevens/Westminster Cathedral Choir
  8. In spiritu humilitatis | GIOVANNI CROCE (15571609) [5'35]
  9. Evigila super nos | MAGNIFICAT ANTIPHON [0'46]
  10. Magnificat quarti toni | DAVID BEVAN (b1951) [4'45]
  11. Evigila super nos | ANTIPHON REPEAT [0'53]
  12. Iustus ut palma | COLIN MAWBY (b1936) [4'06] - Various Performers
  13. Mass IX Cum iubilo | Kyrie | CHANT [2'05] - Peter Stevens/Westminster Cathedral Choir
  14. Mass IX Cum iubilo | Gloria | CHANT [3'21] - Peter Stevens/Westminster Cathedral Choir
  15. Veritas mea GEORGE MALCOLM (19171997) [3'14]
  16. Credo IV CHANT [4'37] - Peter Stevens/Westminster Cathedral Choir
  17. Ave Maria ROBERT PARSONS (c15351572) [5'35]
  18. Mass IX Cum iubilo | Sanctus and Benedictus | CHANT [1'39] - Peter Stevens/Westminster Cathedral Choir
  19. Mass IX Cum iubilo | Agnus Dei | CHANT [1'31] - Peter Stevens/Westminster Cathedral Choir
  20. Ave virgo sanctissima FRANCISCO GUERRERO (15281599) [4'59]
  21. Te lucis ante terminum I THOMAS TALLIS (c15051585) [2'07]
  22. Salva nos, Domine NUNC DIMITTIS ANTIPHON [0'28]
  23. Nunc dimittis tertii toni GEORGE MALCOLM (19171997) [1'38]
  24. Salva nos, Domine ANTIPHON REPEAT [0'39]

Product Description

Product Description

This release from the admired Westminster Cathedral Choir demonstrates the splendours of the liturgy in the at-once solemn and joyful period of Lent. Masterworks from the Renaissancefamiliar from Westminster Cathedral Choir's previous award-winning recordingsalternate with works by former organists of the Cathedral (all themselves masters of liturgical composition) and are linked by the plainchant which is at the spiritual heart of the music. Hearing the music like this in contextand recorded in the unique acoustic of the Cathedralperfectly replicates the live experience for the listener.


This is a beautifully devised programme, sung with ineffable perceptiveness by the Westminster choristers and recorded with utterly natural atmosphere by the Hyperion team. --IRR, Feb'13

The choir is on excellent form and the recorded sound seems perfectly told capture a sense of place, of atmosphere. That's indefinable and therefore worth hearing. --Gramophone, March'13

This is a disc for those who love the acoustic, the atmosphere and the musical traditions of the Roman Catholic Cathedral in London. This a large choir, very good at big effects. Performance *** Recording **** --BBC Magazine, Apr'13

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Verified Purchase
An excellent compilation of liturgical sacred music performed by this outstandingly fine choir in very good recordings, and delivered in efficient manner.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9b0dc7bc) out of 5 stars 1 review
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9ace9b94) out of 5 stars Beautiful. Mystical 9 April 2013
By Barbara Smith - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Great for Lent, Advent, or any other time of fasting, this c.d. includes the history of each piece of music performed, as well as the Latin and English words for each sung piece. It's the first c.d. I've ever listened to that uses Lent for its theme. A hauntingly beautiful way to meditate on the meaning of Lent.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?