Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
79
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 February 2015
A bargain pack: bought it for the Vintage film to watch myself (you can watch it in original Black and white or colorised) and the 1994 remake to show at school. Both were very popular with their intended audience, and several staff members stopped by to to tell me it was their favourite Christmas film! It's an alternative the schmaltziness of most modern-day Christmas films: this Santa is a bit of a rebel, as well as being convinced that he IS actually Father Christmas! You can't go wrong with this pack at Christmas time: buy it, watch both, and decide which version you prefer! For me it's the original, 1947 version, because the period detail is delightful. I'll be getting this out again next Christmas, for sure.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 January 2012
A good package here: the great Edmund Gwenn version of Miracle on 34th Street, in its original B&W or colorised format (for it is very much his film), plus the remake with the equally charming and charismatic Richard Attenborough. I do have a general issue with remakes anyway, particularly when the original is so definitive, but there is no doubt that in trying to squeeze as much cutesy charm out of this merry Christmas tale, the filmmakers have lost much of the freshness and vitality. But at least when you have both versions in the pack, you can debate this with your family ad nauseum!! Definitely well worth investing ready for next Christmas :)).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
There will be those who will argue that point but it must rank along side the others. First the original pity they have colurised it but its nice to see how it would have looked, that said this is a jem the acting is first rate and the production values are bang on.When ever film companies do remakes seldom can they capture the magic and quality on the first film. Not with this version its story has been tweeked here and there to make it not an exact copy but a different angle on the same take.Richard Attenborough is on fine for as allways as Santa, And Elizabeth Perkins is allways a delight to watch.Favouite scene- where santa is signing to the deaf girl,still brings a tear to my eye.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Simply lovely! I haven't seen the 1947 version for a long time and it was lovely to see it again after being somewhat absent from the TV - possibly due to the 'glossy' 1994 version. A must buy for Christmas.

N.B. I received the 2012 version - the 1947 film is in B&W only.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
not watched! hope they work!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
Thank you very much for the dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A double delight! This is such a lovely idea - to have both the 1947 (black and white) version and the 1994 (colour) version of Miracle on 34th Street on one disc. It's great to compare the two and, for those that haven't seen the original, a double delight as the original is packed with vintage, period detail. Decide which you like best! For me, the original black and white version wins hands down! A classic Christmas film for all ages in a pretty special format. This will come out year after year and probably not just at Christmas! An excellent price on Amazon (just a few pounds).Well presented, well packaged with excellent Amazon delivery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
Iv been trying to get this double feature DVD for ages.
I love the old film and the new one just as much, its all so magical.
The price was fantastic value, everywhere else it had been nearly that much for just one of them. Im thrilled. Margaret Birmingham. Merry Christmas!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
Not that I want to take business away from Amazon but I bought this for £2.99 in HMV - and at the time of typing the offer is still on.

Some reviewers have been disappointed that they received both versions in colour - well here you get the 1947 original in b&w and the 1994 in colour. Picture quality on both films are excellent, the 1947 film comes with 5.1 audio, the 1994 film with 5.0 sound.

As for the films content, the 1947 original is far more charming especially with Natalie Wood giving an excellent performance for such a young child. Put Natalie Wood together with Maureen O'Hara and Edmund Gwenn, and you have three acting legends in this perennial seasonal favourite. For me, the 1994 version is carried by Richard Attenborough, the rest of the adult cast give an ok but rather bland performances in this average remake. Mara Wilson as the child is the second best thing in the film.

Under £3 for a great original film and an average remake is a good purchase in my opinion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
I love both versions of this film and this boxed set seemed ideal.

However, I like the fact that the original 1947 version is black & white - not so here! The 'original' film has been colourised - a fact not mentioned in the online description when I purchased the set.

I know this a very personal view and for some the colourised version is preferable - but just be aware that you will not be getting the original 'original'.
33 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse