Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 25 August 2017
fantastic book from a fantastic writer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2011
A dated collection of scifi short stories which has been poorly scanned from paper, meaning many spelling mistakes. Still worth reading though. If you like Philip K Dick, I'd suggest Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2005
Some of Dick's novels are my favourite books, but short stories were where he truly excelled. The whole five-part series of his Collected Short Series is brilliant, and this fourth installment doesn't disappoint. You can really see a progression between the short stories and some of his later novels that drew inspiration from them.
The neat freak in me is slightly annoyed that the cover is completely different to the others in the series though, especially when it's only been done to tie in with the film.
A great book to dip into now and then when your brain is too tired to digest an entire novel!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2014
Another inspiring collection which is a fitting tribute to the breathtaking eclecticism that is the mind of PKD. The philosophical diversity of the material is impressive with themes covered ranging from: justice, thought control, xenophobia, celebrity culture, megalomania and the power of the media.

The culture of celebrity is tellingly explored in ‘The Mold of Yancy’ and ‘Novelty Act’. Dick hilariously indulges in some navel gazing in ‘Waterspider’ paying homage to some of the greats of the genre. Whilst in ‘Orpheus with Clay Feet’ he explores the difficulties of the science fiction writer to be taken seriously from the perspective of time travel.

Justice – its determination and administration- is thoughtfully explored in the eponymous ‘The Minority Report’ and the Unreconstructed M’.A recurrent theme is the misuse and abuse of the media to produce an anodyne civilian population or to misrepresent history e.g. ‘If There Were No Benny Cemoli’. Cold war McCarthyism is clearly present in ‘Explorers We’ and the ‘Days of Perky Pat’ which both examine the theme of us and them and what it means to belong.

Personal favourites are ‘Captive Market’ in which an enterprising time traveller is able to take lucrative advantage of a parallel universe and ‘Service Call’ in which a passive humanity voluntarily opts for the comfort of thought modification.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2016
4th volume of a 5 volume set of Dick's collected stories. This has 23 stories covering the years 1954 to 1963 when he began writing novels prolifically and his short story output lessened. The movie "Minority Report" is based on his short story in this book but all his stories are a tribute to his vivid imagination and well worth reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2016
This one-star review has NOTHING to do with the quality of the stories. I'm posting this merely to warn you that the contents of this book might nog be what you expect. I was hoping to purchase part 4 in the 5 part series of short story collections of Philip K Dick. Instead, it is a different collection by the same name. If you want aforementioned collection, you want this one: [...]

This collection is this one:[...]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2016
This is the wrong book. It's confusing enough that the original titles of the 5 books making up the complete short stories of Dick (in chronological order) have had their name changed - but to then bring out another book with the title 'Minority Report' that has a selection of stories taken randomly beggars belief.
Why do this?
Do not buy this book!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2017
I do not want to denigrate this work but I completely lost the thread and gave up. Maybe it's a marvellous read but alas not for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2011
As a fan of the work of Philip K Dick, I love this complete collection of his short stories (of which this is the fourth of 5 volumes).

This volume covers PKD's short stories from late 1954 through to 1963. As with any collection of this kind, where all an authors short stories are collected, the quality can vary. However, to my mind even when PKD is not at his best he is still well worth a read (and at his best he is among the very best).

As well as the stories you get some interesting introductory material and some helpful notes.

The stories contained in this volume are:

"Autofac"
"Service Call"
"Captive Market"
"The Mold of Yancy"
"The Minority Report" (which the movie Minority Report is based on)
"Recall Mechanism"
"The Unreconstructed M"
"Explorers We"
"War Game"
"If There Were No Benny Cemoli"
"Novelty Act"
"Waterspider"
"What the Dead Men Say"
"Orpheus with Clay Feet"
"The Days of Perky Pat"
"Stand-By"
"What'll We Do with Ragland Park?"
"Oh, to Be a Blobel!"

"A useful acquisition for any serious SF library or collection" -- Kirkus

"The collected stories of Philip K. Dick is awe inspiring". -- The Washington Post

"More than anyone else in the field, Mr. Dick really puts you inside people's minds". -- Wall Street Journal

The other four volumes in this collection are:

Beyond Lies The Wub: Volume One Of The Collected Short Stories
Second Variety: Volume Two Of The Collected Short Stories
The Father-Thing: Volume Three Of The Collected Short Stories
We Can Remember It For You Wholesale: Volume Five of The Collected Short Stories

If you are new to Philip K Dick's work I would also recommend the novels (which generally seem to be regarded as among his best):

Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep?: The novel which became 'Blade Runner' (S.F. Masterworks)
Ubik (S.F. Masterworks)
A Scanner Darkly (S.F. Masterworks)
The Man In The High Castle (S.F. Masterworks)
The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch (S.F. Masterworks)
Flow My Tears, The Policeman Said (S.F. Masterworks)

That said, as with the short stories, though some of PKD's works are better than others, to my mind they are all well worth reading.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2003
Let's get one thing straight first of all - the only reason that this book is awarded four and not five stars is because of the misleading nature of its cover design. If, like me, you are investing in this because you thoroughly enjoyed the film and want to check out the author, you will be in for a bit of a shock - Minority Report is actually a SHORT story and the movie bears little or no resemblance to it. Anyone expecting a novel-sized read mirroring the plot and suspense of the Tom Cruise blockbuster will initially be disappointed.
However the disappointment won't be for long. This book is in fact a collection of nine Philip K Dick short stories, every one of them supremely imaginative, thought provoking and utterly engrossing futuristic fantasies. As well as Minority Report - ironically, possibly the weakest of the nine - there is "The Electric Ant", about a man discovering he is in fact a robot; "Oh! To Be A Blobel", a heartbreaking tale of inter-alien relationships; and "War Game", chartering the children's toy market sometime in the distant future. Also included is "We Can Remember It For You Wholesale", "The Impostor" and "Second Variety" which were made into the films "Total Recall", "The Impostor" and "Screamers" respectively.
What made the late Philip K Dick such a genius is not just the unique, Earth-shattering situations in which he places his characters, but the characters themselves. Despite being aliens, or on other planets, or in the future, they encounter the same passions, problems and emotional traumas that we do here in the early 21st Century. A perfect introduction to the world of Dick, ignore the fact that this is not 'the book of the film' and prepare to be immersed in the best science fiction writing of all time.
11 Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse