• RRP: £8.99
  • You Save: £2.70 (30%)
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Ministry of Utmost Ha... has been added to your Basket
+ £0.00 delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Brit-Books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Simply Brit: We have dispatched from our UK warehouse books of good condition to over 1 million satisfied customers worldwide. We are committed to providing you with a reliable and efficient service at all times.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Ministry of Utmost Happiness: ‘The Literary Read of the Summer’ - Time Paperback – 7 Jun 2018

3.8 out of 5 stars 190 customer reviews

See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
£6.29
£3.30 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions


  • Buy this product and stream 90 days of Amazon Music Unlimited for free. E-mail after purchase. Conditions apply. Learn more

Frequently bought together

  • The Ministry of Utmost Happiness: ‘The Literary Read of the Summer’ - Time
  • +
  • The God of Small Things
Total price: £12.76
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton


Product details

  • Paperback: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin (7 Jun. 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0241980763
  • ISBN-13: 978-0241980767
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 2.8 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars 190 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 4,300 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

She is back with a heavyweight state-of-the-nation story that has been ten years in the making (Daily Mail)

Roy's second novel proves as remarkable as her first (Financial Times)

The Ministry of Utmost Happiness confirms Roy's status as a writer of delicate human dramas that also touch on some of the largest questions of the day. It is the novel as intimate epic. Expect to see it on every prize shortlist this year (The Times)

Heartfelt, poetic, intimate, laced with ironic humour...The intensity of Roy's writing - the sheer amount she cares about these people - compels you to concentrate...This is the novel one hoped Arundhati Roy would write about India (Daily Telegraph)

Teems with human drama, contains a vivid cast of characters and offers an evocative, searing portrait of modern India (Tatler)

A beautiful and grotesque portrait of modern India and the world beyond. Take your time over it, just as the author did (Good Housekeeping)

Fantastic. The novel is unflinchingly critical of power, and yet she empowers her underdog characters to persevere, leaving readers with a few droplets of much-needed hope. It's heartening when writers live up to the hyperbole that surrounds them (Hirsh Sawhney)

A kaleidoscopic story about the struggle for Kashmir's independence (Washington Post)

A sprawling, kaleidoscopic fable about love and resistance in modern India (The Guardian)

The follow-up we've been longing for - a poetic, densely populated contemporary novel in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy. From its beginning, one is swept up in the story... With her exquisite and dynamic storytelling, Roy balances scenes of suffering and corruption with humour and transcendence

(Vogue)

From the Inside Flap

'Wise, vivid, evocative. We've had to wait 20 years for Arundhati Roy's follow-up to The God of Small Things. It has been worth it' Sebastian Shakespeare, Tatler

'Gripping, shocking and moving' Asian Age (India)

'Captures India's chaotic beauty. A tumultuous tragicomic story' Boyd Tonkin, Newsweek

'Dazzling' Laura Ferrero, ABC (Spain)

'Dazzling' Independent

'Magisterial, vibrant. Roy's second novel works its empathetic magic upon a breathtakingly broad slate' O, The Oprah Magazine

'Compelling, musical and beautifully orchestrated' Michiko Kakutani, New York Times

'Magnificent' O Globo (Brazil)

'Superb' Sunday Telegraph

See all Product description

190 customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars

By customer groups & interests
Literary Fiction
3.6
Fiction Books
3.8

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

11 August 2017
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
26 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
6 March 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
18 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
6 October 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
28 October 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
1 June 2018
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
30 January 2019
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
14 September 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
18 February 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?