Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
36
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2008
This is the fourth in Nalini Singh's series of books about the world of the Psy, Changelings and Humans. The first two books "Slave to Sensation" and "Visions of Heat" featured Psy women who escaped from the world of Mr Spock-like emotionless after finding their mates amongst the Changelings big cats. The third book, "Caressed by Ice", took Werewolf Brenna as the heroine and Psy assassin Judd as the hero. This fourth book is the first that introduces a human as one of the main subjects - Talin McKay. Tally is a social worker whose troubled childhood still haunts her - as did her only real friend in her youth, Clay. Clay is a Leopard Changeling and when he killed Tally's abusive foster father and went to prison for the crime Tally disappeared from his life, requesting that he be told she had died in a car accident.

However when some of the children Tally oversees go missing and then are found dead she realises that she needs assistance to get to the bottom of the disappearances and her former friend Clay, now an important person in the DarkRiver Pack, can help. The Clay she knew as a young boy has changed into a wild and dangerous man of whom she is initially afraid. When Clay brings Tally back to his pack and she starts to interact with the others they work together to find out what's happened to the young people and it's a race against time to rescue young Jon before he is killed. But can Clay and Tally get past the issues of mistrust and abandonment of the previous twenty years in order to find their friendship again - and perhaps more?

The characters in the previous books all appear in this one, along with a couple of new characters who will probably feature in future books. Once again Nalini Singh has written a tightly-plotted and enjoyable book with her alternative world with the Psy/Changeling/Human triumvirate taking on a new twist. As with the previous three books much of the romance between hero and heroine is based on physical touch, 'skin privileges', and although Tally isn't Psy she is a damaged young woman because of her past. I wonder what the author would do if one of her characters didn't mind touch as that's such a part of her writing style! She wrote the character of Clay very well as a part-animal, part human and a frightening but also loyal and reliable man. Tally wasn't always as easy to get a handle on and the underlying thread of her illness was dealt with in a rather easy way. Still, like the other books in the series, this was a worthwhile read and I look forward to the next book.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2008
"Slave to Sensation", book one, set the romance world on fire with a unique, new element in a genre rife with emotions - a race with the potential for cool, icy, emotionless precision, the Psy. Their counterparts are the animalistic and earthier Changelings, packs and herds of men and women that take on the forms of wolves, leopards, deer and much more than we could imagine. Now Singh brings mere humans into the fold. Are they just the worker bees of her futuristic society, or do they hold the key to so much more?

Clay Bennet is barely holding on. He's dangerously close to going rogue, even within the confines a loving and healthy pack - the San Francisco DarkRiver leopards. Too tangled in a tragic past, it eats at him still. The slaying of a depraved monster may have seen the streets rid of one more evil, but it cost Clay his freedom and the person he cared more about than anything. When he finds out she's dead, well, Clay no longer had a reason to be good himself.

Talin McKade vowed to stay away from the man who used to be her best friend. An act of violence, born of violence, triggered her flight and fear didn't allow her close...till violence once again brought her full circle to the one person she always wanted to count on. It's her job to see that children like she had been have a chance at a better life. And when her kids start dying, she takes a wild card from the past, hoping Clay will help her solve the mystery. Little did she know, once marked by a leopard, there's no going back.

What was interesting about Clay and Talin's relationship is how seamlessly it's integrated into the storyline in this installment. Actually, Singh does this extremely well in each book, the marriage of the love story with the overall plot, but the way it was done in "Mine to Possess" was just flawless! The events unfolding weren't just happening to and around the main characters, they were happening because of them and vice versa. Take one of them away from the other and suddenly neither will make sense. Everything happening in these books is happening for a reason and there's not an ounce of fat in the mix. "Mine to Possess" is perhaps the most integral book of the series to date. Not only does it reach all the way back to "Slave to Sensation" (book one) and reinforce what we found out there, but it seems to be a major turning point in the Changling struggles against the more insidious Psy Council. So, it is heavy on info, but you'll find no dumping of it here. I believe we're getting what we do because it's vital, necessary and the right time in the series. Beware, there is some rather shocking violence in this one as we continue to discover just how ruthless and cold the Psy are (though it's not portrayed as graphically as, say, a horror piece), but Clay and Talin's relationship, to me, never got dragged under because of it, but actually shone brighter because the dilemmas actually made them come together, closer than they'd ever been before. It helped them, sometimes forced them, to come to terms and I just don't think that anything happening less plot-wise would have enabled that transformation in their conflict better, but hindered it instead or made it seem unbelievable. I loved the way they came together and how they came to terms with their interwoven past. Hands down, this is my favorite book of the series to date, as well as my favorite couple. The next book is titled "Hostage to Pleasure" about DarkRiver sentinal Dorian.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2008
Have you heard about Nalini Singh's Psy-Changeling series? They are the kind of books those fond of well-written paranormal romances with a dash of suspense and plenty of interesting characters are highly likely to love.

If you are already a fan of this series and somehow haven't managed to read "Mine to possess" yet, run to your nearest bookstore and buy it. The fourth book in the Psy-Changeling series is just as good as the previous ones, and in this case that is a lot to say.

On the other hand, if you are one of those who haven't heard about this series, and are reading this review just by chance, don't feel too badly. Truth to be told, the Psy-Changeling saga is relatively new: the first book, "Slave to sensation", was published in 2006. That story begins to acquaint the reader with a different world where three species live side by side, if not always in harmony. The Psy are a race with psychic powers and devoid of feelings; the changelings, shifters that embrace those feelings; and finally, the humans, less powerful and not always taken into account in the arithmetic of power. But what happens when a Psy killer on the loose that preys on changelings breaks the fragile equilibrium achieved by the two main races? That premise is the starting point to the story of Lucas, a powerful changeling, and Sacha, a cardinal Psy, two persons that should be enemies, but that soon realize that they can be much more.

"Slave to sensation" is also the beginning of an universe that Nalini Singh weaves even more consistently with each book, a strange world that makes sense and that ends up engaging the reader, and making him want to know what happens next. The second book in the series is "Visions of heat", Faith and Vaughn's story (Psy-changeling), and a wonderful book that takes us deeper into this new world Singh discovered and shares with us. "Caressed by ice", Judd and Brenna's story (Psy-changeling), comes next, adding nuances that make you enjoy it and reread the previous books in the series, looking for clues regarding what you missed before.

Then it is the turn of this book, "Mine to possess", Clay and Tally's story (changeling-human), a story that is complicated and strong, difficult but right. I could tell you more about the plot, but it is better if you discover it for yourself. Please remember that even though these books can be read and enjoyed as stand-alones, you will like them even more if you read the series in order, something that will allow you to appreciate the truly unique universe the author is in the process of creating. Of course, highly recommended :)

Belen Alcat
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2008
As children Clay and Talin find one another in a time when they hunger for some warmth and compassion in their lives. Both have family that traumatizes them on an emotional level and forges a bond between them that can never truly be broken. But the fierce protectiveness of Clay roars in fury when he senses the pain of his Tally inflicted on her by her adoptive father and when the fury at last subsides he is soaked in blood looking at the face of Tally whom is in shock of what Clay did.

Now, about 20 years later, Talin needs Clay again in the search of kids who've gone missing, not just any kids, her kids. She is now a Shine Guardian who protects and guides kids from the street in to a normal life and when a few under her care end up dead pain lacerates through her and she will not rest until their murders are solved. With another teenager whom is still missing Talin hopes to prevent his death and she will need Clay as a DarkRiver Sentinel to aid her in her quest.

As they both meet for the first time old pain, old feelings and old memories drift to the surface and the bond forged between their hearts so long ago slowly flickers to life. Still Clay can't ignore the cat inside him nor can Talin ignore the violence she witnessed so long ago or the lifespan she has left. Together they start a journey to seek the truth and rescue a teenager whose life still holds so much promise. And when Clay introduces Talin to the DarkRiver pack in order to protect her they hold a chance in their hands to become true mates.

But when one knows so much of darkness can one dare to touch the light?

I'm awestruck by the raw intensity of this novel and I almost feel the urge to flash a warning signal that before starting in a Psy-Changeling novel of Nalini Singh you better have food, drinks and a comfortable place to snuggle yourself in because you aren't going anywhere before reading Mine to possess from first till last chapter. For me Nalini Singh takes the shapeshifter theme to a whole new level and draws me effortlessly into another world of the Psy-Changeling. Though I haven't read the previous novels I know where I'm heading off to!

Clay and Talin are childhood friends and that time is beautifully captured by the author in memories of feelings, events and actions they have as adults. The unraveling of all those feelings and of their actions they've taking after a certain moment in their life sometimes had the impact of a sledge hammer, that is how intense I felt them, felt with them as both children and adults. Trying to find their way back to that unique, trusting and loving bond that can make you survive almost anything. Clay and Talin are a dynamic love couple whom sizzle with a passionate nature and came alive through the impeccable writing skill Nalini Singh possesses.

The DarkRiver pack leaped of the pages with its colorful characters and I just fell in love with the animalistic characterization of the Changelings. Clay is part human, part leopard changeling, the coexistence and sometimes struggle between those two sides in him is so life like told it gave his emotions all the more impact and authenticity making him all the more real to me. With this I could also empathize with, and understand Talin with her emotions and reactions to certain events even better. I felt that all the elements in this story flawlessly fits together in to a riveting romance story and for me, with that, it unexpectedly turned out to be such a gripping reading experience that it leaves me satisfied and closing the book with a fulfilled sigh.

I think that you will even appreciate Mine to possess more, if this is possible, when you've read the previous three novels in this Psy/Changeling series, reoccurring characters do show up and the plot does show signs that it finds its origin in another novel, I experienced this almost solely with the Psy world and its plans with the Implant Protocol. I also was on the edge of my seat plot wise, slowly Nalini Singh revealed it all and had some cutting edge moments making my heart skip a beat in relief. The Psy with their world and plans makes me root for every victory on them, because what would the world be without emotions, without passion or love, without all the good and bad things to feel, to learn from it and grow. The author created a very believable race with the Psy as she adds layers to their plans and ended this novel with a certain revelation I appreciated and was intrigued by its possibilities.

What a wild ride Mine to possess turned out to be and I reveled in it until I closed the book with contentment and knowing I have another series to add to my bookshelves as Nalini Singh became an instant favorite author of mine.

Reviewed by Leontine
Courtesy of Realms on our Bookshelves
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
I adore Nalini Singh she is my favourite author by far. Everybody who loves romance, action and fantasy must read her books. Addicted. I own all her books and she never dissapoints!

AMAZING!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2008
I cant add more than the other reviews, other than to say this is a brilliant addition to the series. The emotion between Talin ( Tally) and Clay is intense and passionate. The story line is perfect. All the previous characters from the other stories in this series play a key part and are as enjoyable as ever.Often a smile at the quick one word by - plays. I loved it!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2008
As well as Clay and Talin's story (which I think it's perfectly possible to enjoy as a standalone) Mine to Possess also continues the major arc being played out over the course of the series. It's one of those series where you'll get more out of it, if you've read the preceding books.

Clay Bennett is the half human/half Changeling sentinel of the DarkRiver leopard clan. Growing up he had to repress his animal nature, but one day it erupted in an act of violence which ended with him in jail and his best friend Talin deciding it would be better off if he thought she were dead. The years go by and now Talin is in trouble, and needs Clays help. But he's still walking the fine edge of violence, so as well as making a future together, they also have to resolve the troubles of their past.

The thing that's different between this book than the others in the series is that Talin and Clay already have a relationship. What they are doing here is forgiving the mistakes of the past and learning to move on. But because of this, the relationship at the beginning is somewhat combative. Clay pushes and Talin stands her ground, and they have a lot that they need to resolve.

"What happened to you, Tally?"
..."I broke."
Clay is a very solitary and brooding character and he knows it's possible he could turn rogue if he gives in to the violence inside of him. Faith (from Visions of Heat) is particularly protective of him, and is more than a little questioning of Talin's motives. Talin in turn can't help but feel jealous of Faith and the perceived place she has in Clay's life.

To begin with there are quite a few misunderstandings between our hero and heroine, and usually I'd be tempted to say they just need to talk. But in this case they both have so much baggage from the past and a major crisis to deal with in the present that it takes a lot for them to make it over that first barrier. But it makes it all the more worth it when they do. :)

The major arc of the story continues. The Psy are forging ahead with their plan to create a hive mind and are coming scarily close to achieving their goal. Luckily the unknown saboteur The Ghost is continuing to be a thorn in their side. One of the best things about this series is the fact that Nalini Singh makes it clear that neither the Changeling, Psy nor human way is perfect. Each species has its flaws and talents, which makes Sascha's conclusions at the end of the story very interesting. We also find out about more Changeling species, and some very intriguing hints are dropped about the snakes.

There are multiple points of view, but they are skilfully woven into the fabric of the story, so they neither feel intrusive or surplus to the plot. Everything here serves to push the story forward, and we have plenty of time with Talin and Clay to appreciate how their relationship develops.Highly recommend series. Hostage to Pleasure is out in September.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Tally and Clay grew up together and were the best of friends from the moment they met until the day Clay killed her abusive step-father after discovering what he was doing to Tally. Clay was sent to juvie and Tally was so traumatised by the event that she begged her social worker to tell Clay she had died so he wouldn't come looking for her when he was released. Now Tally's job involves helping at risk children and when those in her care start to disappear in mysterious circumstances she can only think of one person to turn to for help. Clay is shocked when Tally returns from the dead and he is hurt by the way the person he has always loved the most is now so scared of him but now that Tally is back in his life he will do anything to keep her there. There is no way he's going to let her slip through his fingers for a second time and will do whatever it takes to prove he would never hurt her. As they investigate the disappearances it quickly becomes clear that there is more going on than meets the eye but can they figure out who is behind the murders and find a way to rescue the last boy who was taken before he is killed too?

I have become a huge fan of the Psy-Changeling series since I started reading it and I love the way the world is getting more detailed and complex with every instalment. Each book answers some of my questions but leaves me with new ones and I can't get enough of the characters or the world. It's great that we get to see how previous couples are getting along and also that we are slowly being introduced to more and more members of the DarkRiver and SnowDancer packs. Nalini Singh has a way of making you feel invested in the lives of all her characters, even the ones you don't know very well, which is one of the things that makes these books quite so addictive.

I have to admit that I found Tally a little irritating at times, the way she was so terrified of Clay and kept flinching whenever he even looked at her made me really angry when all he has ever done is love and protect her. Then as you start to find out more about her background and the things she went through as a child her actions become more understandable, I still didn't like the way she treated him but I could at least see why she behaved the way she did. She was terrified of putting her trust in him and ending up getting hurt again and for someone who has known pain and hatred since she was 3 years old that was bound to have an effect on her. When she starts to open up to Clay more I began to like her and I have to say I enjoyed the banter between them and the way she wasn't too scared to tease him even in front of other members of the pack.

Clay was an easy guy to love, he is a respected member of the DarkRiver pack and has the trust and love of everyone around him. They are all protective of him and worry that Tally isn't good for him but once they see how much he cares for her and that she feels the same way about him they are quick to welcome her into their family. Clay is the kind of guy who will do anything to protect those he loves, he is loyal, loving and kind but he can also be arrogant and domineering. His animal side is always quite close to the surface which can make him come across as quite scary at times (you definitely wouldn't want to be on his bad side!) but around Tally he is actually a big softy. The things he says to her just melted my heart and left me with a smile on my face.

Mine to Possess is another fantastic instalment to the Psy-Changeling series, I seriously don't think Nalini Singh could write a book that I didn't love! This is a series that needs to be read in order because the world building is too complex to skip around without missing half of the ongoing plot but it is well worth investing the time needed to read these books. I can't get enough of them and I'm looking forward to reading the next instalment asap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
After the first and second book I was really disappointed with this book the female character talin I could not get in to her I think it was because she soft and wimpy and did seam to over self pity I like strong character or they get stronger and braver as the story go's along I also expected a lot more from the male character clay the story I found was okay I understand ppl have different taste and likes so I hope others may enjoy but sadly I didn't
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
I adore Nalini's Changeling series..I would pay any price just to read her books and Mine to Possess is no exception. HEARTBREAKING ...but I also cried with joy. If I could give more than 5 stars then I would; no annoying stereotypical characters and an amazing plot. Hallelujah.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse