Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 31 December 2017
Absolutely loved this book. Took back to the beginning of my journey and set me up with the proper tools again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2017
An excellent product at an excellent price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2017
One of the best intros to mindfulness meditation there is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 1998
It is understandable that new meditators are enthusiastic about this book. However, I have been practicing for 30 years steady, and I found many useful insights into solving the problems in one's practice. If I had this book two years ago, I would not have been compelled to change traditions.
This book explains meditation in a stunningly logical way, adding the benefits of the writer's experience in every place needed. I think this is the "best written" book on meditation technique that has ever been published, amazing in how well it addresses beginners and experienced meditators in the same breath.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2014
I recently wrote a review for The Power of Now. I would say these two books are the first step to a better life. It took me two reads to like this book, be very careful, as you read your ego will do the best it can to put you off. Simply stay aware of how you feel and make sure you use the highlighter. You will be coming back for reference again and again. If you don't like this book, then read again!
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2017
Mindfulness doesn't have to be a hippy exercise, it's useful for everyone. This book is a great introduction to mindfulness for people who might be put off by some of the more hardcore literature out there. Does what it says on the tin, tells you about what mindfulness is and why it's useful in simple terms. Would recommend this to anyone who needs a different outlook on life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2016
I just love this book!!! well written in good old plain English!!...easy to understand...well recommended,

Thank you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2013
This book exposed some of my most basic and stupid mistakes, like confusing stupification with depth, or treating concentration as an end in itself. Then it goes on to deal with questions concerning every level of mindfulness, with sentences that naturally covey mindfulness. It's quite a joy to read, even if the explanations can get complex. The time that Gunaratana saved me probably can't be counted.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2015
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. Henepola Gunaratana writes with such a fantastic understanding of the human mind, and the way we coast through our lives. It's true that some of the content is difficult to understand, but this is not due to Henepola's writing style, but more to do with the fact that these themes are difficult to convey with words, and are better experienced, as opposed to being told about them in anecdotes.

The world is a harsh and violent place, but thankfully this book outlines that you don't have to contribute to that pain. Causing more suffering in this world is always a choice, and once you see the cycle of suffering, you're naturally going to drop those habits.

If you want what the book offers, then it genuinely can change your life for the better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2017
If you want a straightforward introduction to mindfulness, look no further. Even for a long-standing practitioner, this is an enlightening and profound book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)