Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2017
I love these very good romantic suspense books by Elle Kennedy. It has all the right elements that I look for in a book like this. The hot alpha men and the strong women they pair up with. I am now going to work my way thru the whole series. Have nearly all of them, excellent thanks .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
Fancy a little romantic suspense? Adore ex military types who are all protective? Then this new to me series will be a must read as Ms Kennedy starts with a bang and keeps the tension and pace right until the end . Add in top notch female ( yes female!) assassins and this author seems to have hit on a winning formula as who doesn't love seeing those big butch guys taken down a peg or two but the fairer sex?
Abby is our heroine and as the story starts she's in deep undercover on a mission but has plans of her own. Her boss has no idea just what's going on and pulls a few strings to get Morgan to send his team in and perform an extraction. Abby is dreadfully wounded and should be grateful but that's the last thing she feels! Abby kicks off and demands to go back because she's uncovered a plot to sell children as sex slaves and there's no way she will ever turn her back on that kind of depravity.
Kane is Morgans right hand man and even though Abby is badly beaten he still finds her very attractive. He senses the barriers she has in place and as he tries to get to know more about her Kane reluctantly agrees to help her save the girls. Abby is a stone cold killer and her past has made her stay detached from everyone but she really feels the need to rescue the kidnapped girls . Unfortunately with her injuries it looks as if she just might have to trust Kane and his badass boys to save the day. Plans are made but Abby is about to do something that could compromise the mission putting them all in even greater danger!
If you enjoy lots of action coupled with moments of relationship building then this book will no doubt tick a lot of boxes. I've previously enjoyed Black Ops type books and enjoy the kind of bond that these military types share with the mixture of teasing and yet at the same time a deep sense of loyalty. What was really interesting here is that we are treated to two sets of heroes to cheer for. On one hand the team that Morgan has built with it's tough males that you just know have faced heartache and then on the other side the female assassins who work for Noelle and it's very intruiging trying to discover just why they have been drawn to this particular type of work. In this story, although it's essentially all about the romance brewing between Abby and Kane we see an awful lot of Isabel and her undercover stunt with Trevor that really allows the plot to develop and I'm quite keen to learn more about them both. That being said the introduction of Noelle and the obvious animosity between her and Morgan clearly needs to be addressed as well and I suspect it's going to be a bumpy ride for all concerned. Sparks definitely fly there!
So in conclusion there's lots going on with action aplenty. A romance that sees the hero Kane giving Abby exactly what she needs even if she doesn't realise it! I loved that Kane didn't want to rush things but was prepared to just give Abby time but she's not perfect and makes mistakes. Yes she's kick ass and the sexual tension needed addressing but luckily it wasn't at the expense of a good story. This is my first book by this author but most definitely not my last!
I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
MIDNIGHT RESCUE is the first installment in Elle Kennedy’s adult, contemporary Killer Instincts military, romantic suspense series focusing on a group of highly trained men and women who go deep undercover to get the job done. This is assassin specialist Abby Sinclair and mercenary Kane Woodland’s storyline.

Told from several third person perspectives MIDNIGHT RESCUE focuses on the rescue of Abby Sinclair and a group of adolescent teen girls about to be auctioned off as sexual slaves. Abby is an alpha female; a warrior whose cold façade is as cold as her heart, and she isn’t afraid to use her body to get what she wants. Hoping to find the location of the young girls, Abby reveals her undercover operation to the Columbian in charge, and finds herself the victim of torture and abuse. Enter Kane Woodland, and his fellow team members who make it their business to rescue Abby, not only from her captors but from herself.

The storyline follows Abby’s rescue and recovery, the plans to extricate the young girls, and the building relationship between Abby and Kane Woodland. The only problem-Abby doesn’t do nice; doesn’t do relationships; and doesn’t do love. Everything about Abby is emotionally distant, and in this she is willing to sacrifice herself to save the others. Abby’s past is mired in physical and sexual abuse, and herein lies the crux of the heroine’s personality.

The secondary and supporting characters are engaging, colorful and control a good portion of the storyline. We are introduced to all of Kane’s fellow team members who, like Kane, are specially trained mercenaries skilled in combat and rescue but it is apparent that each alpha male has a dark and tormented past; Abby’s mentor and superior Noelle, as well as Isabel Roma who goes under cover with Kane’s broken and guilt ridden teammate Trevor Callaghan. Isabel and Trevor’s storyline will be told in book three-Midnight Games.

MIDNIGHT RESCUE is a well written, graphically violent storyline with rape, torture, child sex trade, suicide and murder. Elle Kennedy goes for the jugular with her no nonsense story where nothing is off limits including the emotional violation of the human psyche. I am not sure if the author is going for shock value or sensationalism but Kennedy’s characters have not had an easy life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
There are 3 killer instincts novels, "up to date" each can be read alone, but buy all three and from one book to the next it is a continuous story line, full of macho men and women, and it looks like there are more books to follow.
There are two teams of mercenaries, one team is male and the other team female, both genders can be deadly. The teams are introduced throughout the 3 books when they meet up on the various jobs they are sent to complete.
Book one Midnight Rescue, Kane is sent on a mission to rescue Abby, in this book we get to know Trevor and Isabel.
Book two Midnight Alias, Luke and Olivia meet when the male team is sent to find a missing F.B.I member and Trevor and Isabel get to work together again.
Book three Midnight Games, Isabel and Trevor are the main players but other members of both teams are introduced.
This all sounds confusing but the books are easy to read without getting everybody mixed up, the endings are not always picture book perfect but as you read all three books they "the couples" come together.
From the start of all these books they are all action packed, and the series name "Killer Instinct" fits perfect. The female mercenaries are not shrinking violets and would use sex to get what they want, thats why I have given the books 4 stars sometimes they can be to over the top, apart from that these are very good stories and I await the next book.
With the introduction of more names this could go on forever. Special forces/Seals if you enjoy this sort of book then this series is for you, deserving of all the good reviews.
Elle Kennedy I will be looking forward to the next episode, hope its D.
In order.
Rescue 1 / Alias 2 / Games 3.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
Midnight Rescue from Elle Kennedy is a fabulous read!! The first book in the Killer Instinct series, this is a fab start!!

I've read and love Elle's 'Out of Uniform' series. I read the blurb for Midnight Rescue and was intruiged by the plot!

Love the characters of Kane & Abby. The part of the story involving Isabel & Trevor has some interesting dynamics.... There are twist & turns in the book. Fast paced, exciting, packed with intrigue, action, passion and at times quite violent, Midnight Rescue is a real page turner that had me hooked from the opening line!!!

If you haven't tried any of Elle's books yet, give the Killer Instincts series a go. I'm looking forward to starting Midnight Alias - Luke and Olivia's story!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
I must admit I really enjoyed this story. I was hooked from the start and the story flowed easily. Loved the character's and will be definitely getting the next book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
This was a great book, full of excitment from page one. Easy to follow and a page turner as they say.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
Very good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here