Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
38
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2002
Having read most of Nora roberts work and being bitterly disappointed with The Villa; I purchased this with some trepidation. I need not have worried.
The characters are absolutely superb- Declan and Angelina play off each other wonderfully and Angelina's Grandmother is a delight throughout.
The story weaves from past to present with a mixture of ghostly happenings, humour and steamy passion. the setting is both beautiful and atmospheric and, as usual, Ms Roberts draws you into both the characters and the mood.
A must for Nora Roberts fans and a great starter for those who have yet to try her. Once you have read one you will simply have to try some more.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
GREAT!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
I loved this story for the supernatural angle and, of course, it was written with Nora Roberts' style and careful research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2001
A really super read combining all the elements of a Nora Roberts book - murder,humour,intrigue and romance, with a few VERY unusual twists and turns along the way - at this point to say anything more would spoil things.The story is very much written from Declan's viewpoint, a style reflected in her excellent Chesapeake Bay series and which Ms.Roberts does so well. A welcome return to form after the truly disappointing ( I thought) "The Villa". A Keeper.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2009
I'm a fan of Nora Roberts and a fool for a good romance story which is why I thought I'd give this one a shot.

This was ultimately a romance story with a difference- centered around a derelict old house in New Orleans and Declan, a thirty-something rich boy (who has just turned his back on his law career) who finds himself compulsively drawn to purchase it. Once in the house... yep, you've guessed it: all manner of strange and spooky things start happening; freaky dreams, strange noises and all that jazz- but this is no poltergeist. Declan does his research into the house and finds out something disturbing that happened there almost a decade earlier...

This is indeed a ghost story and Roberts pulls it off rather aptly in my opinion. As for the romantic aspect, Declan is attracted to Angelina, a feisty, sexy bar owner and their chemistry filters successfully through the novel but she did irritate me a bit if I'm honest- though she wasn't as 'same same' as some of Robert's other female characters which I liked. Angelina's wonderful grandmother adds a nice homely feel to the book and the other secondary characters are developed well. If you like a ghost story with a heart and are a fan of Roberts, then this is the book for you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2002
i thought this was ace. A lovely story filled with lovable characters. Set in New Orleans this book mirrors the heat, the drama and the laid back views of the south. The settings are well created (as always) and makes brill reading material. Despite the slight horror aspects which aren't as they may first seem this is a great book to curl up with. A must.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2001
Another unputdownable read from Nora Roberts. You are with the characters from the turn of the first page - and the atmosphere throughout the book is superb.
A must for those who love Nora Roberts and an excellent choice for those who havn't tried her before.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 February 2004
Another great book by nora roberts.Set in new orleans it has every thing you could want from a nora roberts book .As well as being a great romance it is also a great ghost story.With a twist at the end that i was not expecting.Nora roberts is the best at books that keep you awake at night and leave you with a smile on your face once the book is finished.If you have never read a nora roberts book before read one she is great.Also try her in death crime books which are under the pen name J.D.ROBB.A good book to start with is REMEMBER WHEN which is both a nora roberts romance as well as a j.d.robb EVE DALLAS crime story(in death).
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2011
I 1st stumbled upon Nora Roberts when I picked up by chance (Honest Illusions) & I absolutely loved it & have re-read it on countless times over the years!!. I have like her ever since,although, am not a fan of all her writings. I ordered this book solely on the strength of a comment left on amazon by a customer that the heroine was not your recycled sterotypical blonde, white & blue eyed, since i was dying to read something contemporary that was different & reflective of the diverse society & world in which we live in! & I wasn't disappointed! The book has the feel good factor, vivid & interesting portrayal of characters that is characteristic of Nora Roberts books but for me what enchanced my thorough enjoyment of this book & increased my respect for this particular author was the fact that this author attempted to dare to feature a heroine that breaks the ignorant & narrow minded mold that many publishers & authors are afraid to change. There are another couple of her books which again feature ethnic characters. I hope she will continue to experiment more with different types of lead characters in her books to refelect the diverse types of people who read her books & make her successful!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2009
Enjoyable little ditty about a thirty something man named Declan who moves to new Orleans after buying a ramshackle mansion and his decision to renovate it. He meets up with the local beauty and he also meets up with the house ghost who disappeared a century before in tragic circumstances. Easy read, the only thing that annoyed me was the constant use of `cher' throughout which began to grate on my nerves
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£8.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here